We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This time, some weaker points”
Review of Khreschatyk Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Khreschatyk Hotel
Ranked #17 of 111 Hotels in Kiev
Certificate of Excellence
Israel
Level Contributor
218 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“This time, some weaker points”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel two times before in the past 10 months. On the previous trips, I was given the Prestige Rooms which I deemed a positive experience. This time around, I booked a suite which turned out to be much older and worn out than those Prestige rooms. It appeared that they have two wings in that hotel, of which one is refurbished and the other one is not. I had a hard time locating sockets as none were available near the table. The floor is covered with worn out and stained carpeting that had seen better days. Interestingly, my colleague was luckier having received a suite in the refurbished wing which came out much fresher and better designed. The service, as usual, was perfect.

Room Tip: Please ask for a room in the newer wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ariel857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    179
    47
    22
    10
See reviews for
18
91
54
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The big argument in favour of this hotel is its city-center location. Step out of the door, turn right, and within seconds you're on Maidan square, with its tents, posters and memorials to those killed in the uprising earlier this year. The metro stop is also right there, and a decent enough chain café right across the street from the hotel, whose own breakfast is nothing to write home about.

Staff are unerringly friendly and knowledgeable, from booking taxis to recommending places for dinner.

Sadly, there are also quite a few ways in which the hotel is lacking, most of which could easily be fixed. The decor of the rooms is quite bleak (heavy grey curtains, black furniture), and the windows in our room were dirty in a way that takes a few weeks to build up.

There's a tea maker but no tea bags, no bottled water provided in the rooms (usually the norm in hotels of this price range and in a city where you're advised against drinking tap water). No slippers and bathrobes (only an issue since their website claimed there would be, so I didn't pack any) and housekeeping is also on the cursory side.

Bottom line: The location still makes this a good pick, just don't expect the same level of comfort you normally would from a hotel that boasts this many stars.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pottgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans
Level Contributor
162 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

With the barricades and tents still over the Maidan and on Kreschatyk you're certainly where the action is if you stay here. My room was a reasonable size, modern, and reasonably well-equipped. Very good shower in the spacious bathroom, and a decent bed. The only complaint about the room is that there's no chair at the desk, just a stool that is way too low to work at the desk. Even with a pillow on top it was far from ideal.
Breakfast was unexceptional but perfectly adequate, and reception staff were helpful.
One thing to watch is that the rooms at the back of the hotel are either up or down a half flight if stairs from the lift level, so if stairs are a problem make sure you ask for a room at the front.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank St_Albans_City
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburg, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel was the best choice for location and price. My room was large, modern, clean and comfortable. The only problem was the lack of air conditioning. The weather was cool during my stay, so it was not an issue. However, I can see how it might be a problem in summer. Located in the very center of Kiev, just a few steps away from Independence Square. The internet was fast and a good wifi signal in the room. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Everyone spoke good English. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Captchris59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

As I said in the title - there isn't much else to say - the room was great, large, perfectly furnished. Internet worked great. Parking was questionable but the car was not towed during the week so that is a bonus. The view was INCREDIBLE. I was lucky and was put into a place overlooking the Opera House ... what a view to wake to every morning!

The people were also very nice. I stayed an extra night and they even sent somebody to collect - very nice!!

Room Tip: Ask for a nice room - they were very accommodating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank GregSCSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
491 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This is a good choice for a hotel in Kiev. The price is reasonable and the standard is good. My premium Single room on 7 floor is small but well-decorated, and has a small balcony to watch the world go by. Has big TV, in-room minibar, safe, kettle (but no supply of tea bag or coffee pack). Free internet is fast. Reception staff are all first class and speak English well, and are eager to help. They can book taxi transfer reasonably (EU20, unlike many hotels that adds a big commission). It is the location that counts most too, right in Maidan Square and the main boulevard of Kiev, and as such it is better located than any of the 5-star hotels. I shall return.

Room Tip: Ask for room on Main Street side as there is always something going on from the small balcony: it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank awhw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

My experience at this hotel was quite good considering the circumstances. I arrived from Kherson to the central bus station and no cab driver would take me there because of the demonstrations. That was probably why they offered such a good rate. Regardless, it was an excellent stay for the location and price. The staff were friendly enough, comfortable lounge seats/sofas spread throughout the lobby and the 2nd floor where my room was located. There was a nice lobby bar open 24hrs I believe, as well as 24hr room service and a Casino located on the premises as well. My room had a flat screen/panel tv which I never used, nice toiletries in bathroom with a great powerful shower head with consistent hot water. I had a queen or king bed, nice comfortable , soft fluffy pillows, nice sheets, everything needed for a great night's sleep. In the morning, I enjoyed the delicious buffet breakfast consisting of fruits, eggs, cheeses, cold cuts, bread, jams, butter, oatmeal, assortment of hot Ukrainian and American dishes, fruit juices, coffee/tea.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dalemulford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kiev hotels
Lypky
Hotel Ukraine
Hotel Ukraine
#22 of 111 in Kiev
3.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ibis Kiev City Center
#13 of 111 in Kiev
4.0 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
Premier Hotel Rus
#15 of 111 in Kiev
4.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Hyatt Regency Kiev
#4 of 111 in Kiev
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khreschatyk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khreschatyk Hotel

Property: Khreschatyk Hotel
Address: Khreschatik St., 14, Kiev 01001, Ukraine
Region: Ukraine > Kiev
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Kiev
#13 Romantic Hotel in Kiev
#15 Luxury Hotel in Kiev
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Khreschatyk Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The modern hotel in Kiev center with fully renovated rooms is indeed among the finest Kiev hotels that you can find in the capital. Khreschatyk is the main street of Kiev, so living here you will constantly be in the center of all events. The hotel is only a minute away from Maidan – the main Square of the country. The prime location of our Kiev hotel gives you a wonderful chance to discover major attractions of Kiev, diverse eating scene as well as vibrant night life. There is a lot to see and to do in Kiev. Whether you are a business traveler or a tourist you will find our Hotel in Kiev a perfect pick for accommodation. We have all amenities and facilities to make your stay here especially comfortable and carefree. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Khreschatyk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Eastern Khreschatik Kiev

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing