We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideally placed in the centre of Kiev”
Review of Kozatskiy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kozatskiy Hotel
Ranked #97 of 112 Hotels in Kiev
Reviewed 18 August 2013

I stayed in the Kozatskiy from the 7th to 12th June this year, having booked via the internet (a painless process). As this was my first visit to Kiev, I had little idea of what to expect from the hotel. I chose it for its location - "Independence Street" is very conveniently located in the centre of the city, with the main street (Kreshchatik) less than five minutes' walk away. Interestingly, Kreshchatik Street is closed to traffic at the weekend and becomes one vast pedestrian precinct. At other times the locals seem to use it as something akin to a racetrack!

I stayed with a friend in Kiev and the total cost for the two rooms (we had what are described as single standards) was 468 GBP bed and breakfast. The rooms were fairly basic, but comfortable and clean, and contrary to one other reviewer's experience I had no problems with the wi-fi. There was a good selection of fare on offer for breakfast, and although I doubt it would win any culinary awards, I found it tasty and more than adequate. The staff were friendly and helpful and English was no problem. I must single out the hotel's handyman/janitor, who repaired my friend's pushchair after it collapsed on the main street one evening whilst laden with shopping and its 11-month-old occupant (a few locals came to my aid as well at the scene of the disaster).

Having not experienced its more expensive rooms, I am not going to comment on the hotel's overall standards of luxury, but the single standards are more than adequate for a visit to the city (mine even had a small balcony).

If your expectations are not over the top and you are visiting Kiev on a fairly tight budget, you could do a lot worse than this hotel. Ideally placed in the centre of Kiev, the Kozatskiy makes a decent base from which to explore the city.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sinclair F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2013

Badly in need of updating.Staff friendly and helpful. Conveniently situated in the centre of Kiev. Could be a potential gold mine but would need a lot of money spending on it.Typical of old Soviet style hotels.Room and ensuite adequate but not luxurious. Breakfast very local..once was enough. If you want to be based in the city centre then acceptable but dont expect much. Tip well and the staff will respond.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

I'd stay there again no issues - but its very basic & grubby.
Its old & dated inside the entrance & all rooms/corridoors/elevators etc. The carpet is average - old & a bit smelly/smoky (like most ex-soviet places).
The staff are superb - helpful, no issues at all with english.
The breakfast is local food - NOT the usual western stuff, but no issues & it was great food anyway!

The bed was made from an old Soviet tank & they just threw a sheet over it (didnt bother me). The concerning thing was there were huge amounts of large black hairs under the bet cover & on the outside of the covers. It wasnt my hair - so it appears someone was sleeping with a gorilla in there, ewww.

A few basic improvements & attention to detail & it'd be a MUCH better place to stay.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
Thank Nate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

That hotel is located in the centre of Kiev, and all the famous monuments are not far. The service always want to take care of you, which tells us, that they are good. The rooms are so-so. The view on the central street is good for foreign tourists, because many buildings are placed near that hotel. The breakfast is included, but if you have some relatives in Kiev, it is not a problem, because Kiev has many nice restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank intro27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013 via mobile

That hotel have a good location and not so bad breakfasts, but the main problem is not properly working WI-FI. If you came here for work or for the rest you should know it! Have a nice time and enjoy your time

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twinbr0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Wanted to escape the hotel as soon as I entered the room. It's not just the problem of hotel style, which is 100% soviet, it is a bad smell in the room, very unpleasant bed covers, unattractive curtains, gloomy corridors. The hotel seems not to have been renovated during last decades. Very frustrating experience. Check the janitors room for ironing your clothes to get some additional flair of Soviet Union. It is definitely the worst and the gloomiest place I've stayed in.

Location - very central location great in all respects. Just next to the subway station.
Personnell - very accomodating.
Breakfast - good selection of Ukranian dishes, no fruit.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beatriise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

I was there three/four times in my business trips. Its old soviet hotel in the centre of Kiev. This hotel has a very good location near with shopping mall and undergraund. From time to time someone called to every room and asked about ukrainian girls. Its very strange situation. But if you need place for one night - its you choice.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AzaRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kiev hotels
Sunflower B&B Hotel
#31 of 112 in Kiev
102 reviews
Dnipro Hotel
#61 of 112 in Kiev
465 reviews
Premier Hotel Lybid
#42 of 112 in Kiev
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Number 21 by DBI
#34 of 112 in Kiev
98 reviews
Lypky
Kiev Hotel
Kiev Hotel
#70 of 112 in Kiev
60 reviews
Senator Maidan
#3 of 112 in Kiev
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kozatskiy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kozatskiy Hotel

Address: Mihaylivska St., 1/3, Kiev 01001, Ukraine
Region: Ukraine > Kiev
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 112 Hotels in Kiev
Price Range: £30 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kozatskiy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kozatskiy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kozatsky Hotel Kiev

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing