We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not so bad at all ....”
Review of Tourist Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tourist Hotel
Ranked #51 of 111 Hotels in Kiev
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“not so bad at all ....”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

hotel 'Tourist' in Kiev gets a lot of bad reviews. I wander why? OK, it's a huge and quite impersonal 'big thing' .. but my room on the 24th floor was totally in order. Good bed, quite spacious, small bathroom with always hot water, very clean, magnificent view over the city. The breakfast was really superb! A great choice of different dishes, hot, cold and sweet. An excellent start of the day. The best thing about this hotel is the staff and especially the receptionists. They are beautiful, helpfull, speak excellent english and ... well .. they are just perfect! The hotel is situated right next to a subway entrance .. and that's a good thing because it's on the ''wrong'' side of the river. The location of the hotel is not good if you wanna 'play the tourist' and go out at night. Do not even think of walking to the hotel from the centre of the town .. you are totally dependent on the use of the metro or taxis. I would recommend this hotel to tourists who wanna have a decent accomodation and only wish to visit tourist and historical locations and not enjoy the nightlife or go to an opera or circusperformance in the city. Last year I was in Madrid in what's considered as a better hotel ... that's a laugh ... The attitude of the spanish staff was a nightmare in comparison with the people in Kiev. Overall I can say that my stay in Kiev was great. The city is beautiful, the people are without any doubt the most beautiful and elegant of all europeans, everybody is nice .. although it's difficult to communicate as few people speak english and ukranian is (for me at least) a completely unknown language ... Kiev has the potential to become a hotspot for everybody who loves beauty, hystory, culture, shopping (some street are just as full with dazzling exclusive stores as the highstreets in London or Rome or even Paris), enchanting parks ... everything a city needs to attract tourists .. and flying with UA (Ukranian Airlines) was also a fantastic experience. So, final conclusion: the hotel is by any means fine for those who wanna enjoy basic but good service and Kiev is trully worth (at least one) visit. I can honnestly say that I ♥ Kiev

Room Tip: ask for a room with airco!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank londonlover68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    41
    49
    23
    18
See reviews for
22
23
29
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kiev
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2013

The hotel is centrally located and easy to reach. The staffs are nice and the breakfast was wonderful. However, the room was very hot (no air condition) and a bit noisy (hotel near the metro station) even if our room was located at at the 24th floor.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Mengistu Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koh Ta Kiev, Cambodia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

I have stayed at the Tourist Hotel many times for over 8 years, The only good thing about it is the location and the the women at the front desk are very polite. Other then that, the place is a toilet!!! No renovation done in decades. Across the street is a small hotel called Barboris which is smaller, half the price and free WiFi.

Room Tip: Barboris Hotel across from Tourist.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kiev hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albania
Level Contributor
298 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

The big tourist hotel build Soviet times is located on the other bank of the wide (in this place) Dnepr river. Subway station is right there and it is only 2 stops to the city center. Hotel is cheap, but definitely not cheaper than their service. Despite the efforts to make the rooms etc. clean and working, the whole property looks depressing. Some rooms are OK, many with air conditioner, but you may be asked to pay for the better room. There is a gym there.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank silencd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Legnago, Italy
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

No description can fit this place. Regretfully very poor and old fittings although clean. Price is definitely too much for such a hotel. PLEASE NOTE THAT: after boking with booking.com a price level I was told that if I wanted to have a room with airconditioning I should have paid more and so I accepted to pay more (just in case) but this was not mentioned in booking.com..... the hotel costs eur130 per night and in any other place it would be worth eur50. Real soviet Era place, for nostalgics: it must have been a "luxurious" place when people used to queue for sugar, flour and salt. (note: lowest wage in Kiev is eur200 per month)

Room Tip: I was 23rd floor, great view. bed clean, and room cleanliness very good, spotless. but fittings are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 06032013ff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor-bychkov, Director of Sales at Tourist Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2012
Dear Paola,
We are very sorry you were badly informed about our economy room amenities on booking.com. Airconitionning is absent in room description on booking.com but it's not highlighted, you are right. There's no such an option on booking.com to highlight shortcomings, though we at Hotel Tourist call these rooms "economy" to tell our guests about their mediocre quality.
Finally you had to take a 2 roomed junior suite for 130 euros for standard rooms with AC were all occupied. And we understand your unsatisfaction of being obliged to pay 2 times more for a night then originally previewed.
Please read carefully room descriptions. There's no AC in economy rooms in Hotel Tourist in Kiev.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012 via mobile

Nice hotel. All clean. Near metro station. But terrible breakfast, I recommend eating at the cafe on the corner. Named city cafe. Nice staff in the hotel)) beautiful views of the river from the room (21 floor)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

I booked this hotel through Expedia and it was a standard double room. We could not sleep as it did not have aircon and no ventilation at all. Tried to sleep with open window and noise was terrible from nearby Metro train and roads.Bathroom was too small and shape of the bath was unusual/uncomfortable.We had to upgrade to a room with aircon.Building is an old Soviet style.My advice is never to book a standard room in this hotel.Rooms smell to tobacco.Rooms are clean and daily house keeping is available.You will end up watching a 14" TV with only Russian and Ukranian channels. Why can not they put at least BBC news 24? I was OK as I speak Russian.We were the only foreigners apart from Russians during our 5 day stay.Staff are OK.They do their job and that is all.I think it is better to stay in another hotel for that money.

Room Tip: Never book a standard room in this hotel.Ask for a room with aircon and away from road side if possi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CholoUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kiev hotels
5.3 mi away
Mir
Mir
#55 of 111 in Kiev
82 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vizit Hotel Complex
Vizit Hotel Complex
#61 of 111 in Kiev
3 reviews
0.0 mi away
Adria Hotel
Adria Hotel
#81 of 111 in Kiev
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Hotel Nivki
Hotel Nivki
#56 of 111 in Kiev
82 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bratislava Hotel
Bratislava Hotel
#25 of 111 in Kiev
218 reviews
6.8 mi away
Royal Congress Hotel
Royal Congress Hotel
#99 of 111 in Kiev
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tourist Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tourist Hotel

Property: Tourist Hotel
Address: Okipnoi Raisy vul. 2, Kiev 02002, Ukraine
Region: Ukraine > Kiev
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 111 Hotels in Kiev
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tourist Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 370
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tourist Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tourist Hotel Kiev

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing