We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like staying in a luxurious country pub”
Review of Gintama Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gintama Hotel
Ranked #59 of 111 Hotels in Kiev
worcestershire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Like staying in a luxurious country pub”
Reviewed 2 June 2010

Small friendly hotel set in quiet side street yet only 5 minutes walk from Independance Square and the old town. Silent at night.
Staff very helpful and most spoke English.
Nice little bar with smoking room! Also outside terrace for eating and drinking.
Comfortable rooms and very nice breakfast which is served until 11.00am.
Visited Chernoble one of the days we were there. Recommend that day out, with Solo East.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catlover013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    17
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
5
13
10
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aalborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2009

A good hotel. Rooms are of a very good quality, nice and clean.

Bathroom are a good size, and also very nice and clean.

The hotel is located close to the city center, and sightseeing sights.
Be aware though, that the hotel is located on a steep hill, if you are not walking well.
The staff is friendly.

Breakfast is a small buffet, could be better.
All in all a quite good hotel, nothing eastern european about this.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank winsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, England
Level Contributor
384 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2008

As most Kyiv hotels are huge concrete blocks it was nice to stay somewhere with a little character and more personal size. The hotel is fairly expensive but Kyiv hotels cost more than most European Cities so its best to just compare it to other Kyiv hotel prices rather than other cities.
The hotel is clean and tidy. The staff were friendly and they spoke English.
We had read that we would have to pay when we checked in but this did not happen. However when we were asked to pay the Expedia quoted figure became 60 dollars more due to the change in exchange rate, which we werent expecting.
Breakfast was a good selection and available until 11am. The bar and restaurant area was very small but as the hotel only has 24 rooms it was never overcrowded. The location was excellent, not far from Independant Square and several other attractions.
If i visit the city again i would choose this hotel to stay in again

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2007

The Gintama Hotel in Kiev is the great advantage of being one of the few nice places to stay in the city. Unfortunately it's way overpriced for what you get. Strengths . . . rooms are clean, well-equipped and up-to-date. Solid 4-star European quality. But things go down hill from there. Weaknesses . . . after communicating my desire to pay with MasterCard via email and telephone, I arrived at the Gintama to discover that they preferred I pay with cash (pointing me to the large ATM machine a few feet away from the front desk). When I mentioned my strong desire to pay with credit card (as agreed via email), they backed down . . . for the first night. The second night (they moved me to a different room unexpectedly), they gave me a line about their credit card terminal being down, which though possible is unlikely.

Next weakness . . . breakfast is terrible! The cheese is dried on the edges, the coffee tastes like mud, etc. I passed the second morning.

Bottom line . . . avoid the Gintama. Other places are just as nice and more reasonably priced.

  • Liked — Well appointed rooms
  • Disliked — Bait and switch on room and payment
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank leefromchatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2007

We stayed at the Gintama while visiting friends in Kiev. The location was perfect for us - - near St. Michael's Cathedral. We stayed in a junior suite that had a very ample sized bedroom with a comfortable queen sized bed , a wardrobe (ask for extra hangers) and not bad pillows, a small sized living area with a small couch - desk and chair and a miniscule bathroom - small shower only - small sink and toilet -everything in the room and the hotel was very well taken care of - we paid $200.00 USD a night (pay cash get a discount!) This hotel is on the bottom floor of an apartment building. The rooms are below ground level - but have windows that let in light and a view- the staff is charming and very helpful - and the breakfast (which is included) was more than ample and delicious - plus they will deliver it to your room for no extra charge - - we enjoyed our stay at the Gintama.

  • Liked — Location, friendliness of staff
  • Disliked — size of bathroom
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank travelerLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kiev hotels
Bontiak Hotel
#29 of 111 in Kiev
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Impressa
#41 of 111 in Kiev
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Sunflower B&B Hotel
#35 of 111 in Kiev
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Khreschatyk Hotel
#17 of 111 in Kiev
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Lypky
Natsionalny Hotel
Natsionalny Hotel
#33 of 111 in Kiev
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gintama Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gintama Hotel

Property: Gintama Hotel
Address: Tr'okhsviatytels'ka 9, Kiev, Ukraine
Region: Ukraine > Kiev
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Kiev
#32 Luxury Hotel in Kiev
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Gintama Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gintama Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gintama Hotel Kiev

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing