We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing bad”
Review of Salute Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Salute Hotel
Ranked #37 of 111 Hotels in Kiev
Roma
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nothing bad”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I went to Kiev for a business trip, and for a not so high budget, this was the most central solution. Let's face the fact that the hotel is quite old and needs a renovation, mainly a style renovation. After the initial shock I've to say that the rooms are quite clean, the bathroom is modern, the tv works perfectly and the heating system does its job. The breakfast are quite abundant and the quality is acceptable. The room service works, I also ordered a taxi one day before leaving the hotel, taxi ordered for 03:30 of the night, and they did it and the taxi was ontime. So the main 2 problems of this hotel are: 1) the style. 2) the staff attitude: it needs to be more friendly and polite. Definitely. At the checkout at night I wanted to pay the bill in euro, but they tricked me and told me that I had to change my euro to hryvnas. Even though I speak perfectly russian, I wasn't able to convince them to take my euro, so I had to change my money to the other hotel's counter, thus paying them the commission on the change... Anyway the hotel is an average-good money value. If I had a small budget to come back to Kiev I'd PROBABLY stay in this hotel once more.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DrThomasRoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    45
    23
    7
    2
See reviews for
12
18
15
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

This hotel, also called the granade due to it granade like shape, is located not far away from the Ukrainian parliament. The city center is in 20 min walking distance from the city center.
The whole ambient including the rooms recall the vintage soviet chic of many years ago. I guess since then it had never been redone. To make it short, the bathroom is horrible. ... our room was clean and was even equipped with an efficiently working modern airco. All in all acceptable.
There is a mini bar which apart from the usual drink stuff even holds condoms in the standard assortment. The TV set looks like it has been inherited from the old soviet times.
There are two elevator lines to serve the upper floor levels. In line with the rest of the hotel also the elevators have definitely seen Breschnew's period.
The breakfast is buffet served in a vintage restaurant hall and outright horrendous and awful. The only highlight is the Lavazza coffee. Unfortunately the service level of the staff is 0. I guess nothing has ever changed since the communist times. ... Forget it!
On the contrary there is a nice and modern cafe attached to the hotel serving delicacies and freshly made oj. This is a valid alternative to the awful hotel breakfast.
Next to the breakfast room is a night club strip bar. Later in the night you can run into the ladies when they have a rest in front of the main entrance ...

We would not come here again, however apart from the ambience, the breakfast and the bathroom, we had a good time.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hook00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Very good, big, clean rooms. Very helpful staff at reception and concierge desk who speak English very well.Very good, big, clean rooms. Very helpful staff at reception and concierge desk who speak English very well.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gunos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

This hotel is in the style of Soviet futurism in the eighties. It is colloquially known as The Grenade. While the architecture may (or in our case: may not) appeal to you, the reason not to stay here is the noise from the traffic and people outside. The hotel is located on a main access road, which remains busy into the early hours of the night. Noise insulation is absolutely not adequate.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Schreuder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

First of all I should notice great location, reasonable price (for Kiev) and friendly stuff. I have got room for ~70 EUR (breakfast not included) on first floor. It has no nice view wasn't equipped so good like rooms on official photos but clean.
Returned to the hotel about midnight and noticed that "Night bar" on the second floor is still open. Decided to have my last 50g. of local Horilka... And was surprised - nice Ukrainian girls wearing only strings and some T-shirts... strip club open, entrance 100UAH (~10 EUR).
I haven't checked what is behind club door, but have had nice talk with one of the girls. Great evening :)
Next morning breakfast was served in the same room in front of club door... they charge for breakfast additional 120UAH... little bit more than for strip...

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Deividukas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Split-Dalmatia County, Croatia
Level 6 Contributor
564 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

This hotel is very unusual
Unsual because of the design, very soviet style and also because the rooms doesn't match the lobby
Last time i stayed there i get a room on the 7 floor with view on the dniepr and it was great
Breakfast is not their best point but they always try to help you
If you want to change your mind you can go to the club in the hotel
The area is not the best for shopping but there is a nice park in front of the hotel and if you want to face the ukrainian life and exchange words it's the place

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Greg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 345 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

I visited this advertised as a 4-star-hotel in the summer of 2011, because of its very central and convenient location and the reasonably priced for Kiev rooms. Salute is not very big hotel (with around 90 rooms) and for sure not new - it was built in 1984 and its strange architecture style is reflecting the ugly Soviet futurism from that time, so I haven't expected to be pleasantly surprised by my stay there. By entering the lobby and approaching the reception I decided that I have returned back in time and started thinking that choosing of Salute wasn't quite a good idea. Fortunately, my standard room turned to be not very big (around 20 sq.m), but renovated and looking fresh and clean. The room is air-conditioned, has a mini-bar and a satellite TV (don't expect LCD or LED TV though). The room bathroom was really small and could have been better (I have heard that the bathroom of the superior room is same in size but much better), the balcony is not big either but giving quite a nice view over Dnieper river and its left bank, but for the price of 850 UAH (a little bit more than 100 USD) it was a good deal! I should also mention that the staff at the reception and the cleaning lady have been very kind and always willing to help. What I didn't like is that you have to pay additionally for breakfast and the fact that a construction was going on nearby the hotel and there was a a lot of noise during the day... I would recommend Salute hotel though, because of its room comfort, reasonable prices and central location - very close to a lot of must-see things such as the Ukrainian Parliament, the Mariinskiy Palace and park, the famous Kyivo-Pecherska Lavra and only 5 min away by feet from the Arsenalnaia metro station!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wolfchild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kiev hotels
0.1 mi away
Sherborne ApartHotel
Sherborne ApartHotel
#28 of 111 in Kiev
189 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Hotel Rus
Premier Hotel Rus
#16 of 111 in Kiev
767 reviews
2.3 mi away
ibis Kiev City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Bakkara Art-Hotel
Bakkara Art-Hotel
#25 of 111 in Kiev
305 reviews
1.5 mi away
Theatre Boutique Apart-Hotel
1.2 mi away
Dnipro Hotel
Dnipro Hotel
#54 of 111 in Kiev
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salute Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salute Hotel

Property: Salute Hotel
Address: Mazepy Ivana vul. 11-b, Kiev 01010, Ukraine
Region: Ukraine > Kiev
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 111 Hotels in Kiev
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Salute Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Salute Hotel is located on a high, green hill of a right bank of the Dnieper River, in Pechersk district - the administrative and cultural centre of Kyiv. It takes only 10-minute walk from the buildings of the Parliament of Ukraine, Residence of the President and famous Kyivo-Pecherska Lavra - the unique historical and architectural churches' complex of times of ancient Kiev, protected by UNESCO. The Salute Hotel offers 88 comfortable guestrooms of different categories with wonderful views on Kyivo-Pecherska Lavra and the Dnieper River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Salute Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing