We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, extremely comfortable.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunflower B&B Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunflower B&B Hotel
Ranked #34 of 111 Hotels in Kiev
Alajuela, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
146 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great location, extremely comfortable.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

This is a jewel of a little hotel located on a quiet side street in the center of Kiev's old city. Our room, #1, was spacious with a good sized bathroom. Reasonably comfortable bed. Staff is very helpful. It is pretty well signed, so we didn't have a problem locating it with our taxi driver. A nice, simple continental breakfast is served in your room. Spotlessly clean. It is a very good alternative to larger hotels. It is personal and warm. Only one less than positive thing for us was that our room was cold.

Room Tip: For a quiet room and a walk up only a couple of flights of stairs, room #1 was comfortable and spaci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank costaricajoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    31
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
35
21
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

For its location, service, price, and personability, the Sunflower B&B was just the spot to enjoy the best of what Kiev has to offer. It's a modest (but awesome!) bed-and-breakfast operation on the second floor of an unassuming apartment building—accessed through a small alleyway. (Some have written that it's hard to find, but it is not at all. There's a lit sign clearly visible from the street.) Here are some of the many reasons it's so great.

LOCATION: Directly off the centrally located Maydan Nezalezhnosti (a historic central square of the city), Sunflower put us immediately at the heart of it all. It's easily within walking distance of St. Sophia's Cathedral; the shopping, restaurants, and nightlife of Khreshchatyk Street; the historic Anredreyivsky Uzviz; and the Lavara.—And if you don't care to walk, there's a subway station right on the square. All other factors aside, the location does not get any better than this!

SERVICE: But perhaps better than the location is the service! We were greeted upon our arrival with tea and cookies. Because there were so few rooms, we really did get a great deal of personal attention. Though the place was booked, we never saw any of the other guests. The breakfast (coffee, juice, cereal, yogurt, warm pastries, etc.) arrived promptly (at a time we chose) on a wheeled cart every morning, and was a terrific way to start a day of getting to know a new city. The front office, which is staffed 24 hours, was always willing to help with directions, recommendations, and communications in Ukrainian. (Not all of the office attendants spoke fluent English, but that didn't stop them from trying to help us every way they could.) The last was especially important in arranging for a taxi to the airport in the middle of the night during a snowstorm.

PRICE: As far as mid-range accommodations go in Kiev, it's my understanding that a lot of the big Soviet-era hotels are generally expensive, outdated, and impersonal. Sunflower is the opposite on every front. We stayed in an immaculately clean, charmingly appointed (sunflower-themed, of course) room with a queen-size bed and en-suite bathroom for about US$100 a night (booked through booking.com). This INCLUDED breakfast, two bottles of water every day, cable TV (including English-language news channels), and free wifi. In the middle of a big, bustling European city, Sunflower's a bright little oasis, and an affordable one at that.

PERSONABILITY: As I said, because of its size, each guest gets a lot of personal attention. For example, we were to fly out of Kiev in the middle of the night during an enormous snowstorm. In our rush to get out the door in the face of the increasingly treacherous roadways, I left a gold ring of tremendous sentimental value in the room. Hours later I realized it was missing. Sunflower not only let me know via e-mail that they'd found the ring, but worked tirelessly with me, Ukrainian customs, and an international shipping company to send the ring home to me in the U.S. That, I think, speaks volumes about how Sunflower treats its guests, exemplary by any standards.

So much of what was wonderful about our trip to Ukraine was because of our awesome stay at Sunflower B&B. Without hesitation, I say it's the only place to stay in Kiev.

Room Tip: Even the economy-level room we stayed in had a beautiful hardwood floor, fresh paint, and an updated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian_Qawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013 via mobile

This BandB is excellently located near the main square. Is clean, comfortable and provides a high level of service at good value prices. You receive a friendly welcome and everything is done to make you feel at home. One room has self-catering facilities too.

Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank StephenWhittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

Business has been bringing me to the city regularly for several years and I always try to stay at the Sunflower. The staff is so warm and welcoming it's like coming home. No matter what time you arrive they are ready to great you with tea and cookies. The decor is tasteful and the rooms very comfertable, quiet and spotlessly clean. You can't beat the location - though you are steps away from the Maidan and very busy streets it's amazingly quiet. Moreover - it's consistently good - you know exactly what you are paying for. The beds are big and each room has a bathtub (a luxury coming in off the road).
For first-time travellers - arrival may be a little tricky as the entrance is tucked away in a courtyard and the narrow staircase to the 2nd floor may prove an obstacle for some. This is a B+B NOT a hotel so there are some amenities missing - ie there is no kettle, but there is always staff on hand ready to provide it, and clearly no firness centre, etc. They installed WiFi a while ago, which was a welcome addition for those on business. It's small and in the nice months it fills up quickly so book early.

Room Tip: Every room I've stayed in has been perfect. It fills up in nice months so book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank troubletourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicenza, Italy
Level Contributor
130 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

When we arrived, it seemed a bit seedy, but once we got in, the staff was lovely. I asked for hot water for tea and got a whole tray with cookies, hot water, cups, etc, and it was replenished for the entire time we were there (same for wine glasses). The young girl there was amazing and spent a lot of time marking places on a map for us to find our way around. The room was comfortable with tons of storage (I think I counted 39 drawers).

On the other hand, the older lady that was with us the last couple of days was not nearly as friendly as the young one. She seemed to be a bit annoyed with us.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OverseasIowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2013

As I have written in one of my other reviews finding a pleasant hotel around Khreshchiatik is not an easy task. They are either tired, seedy or horrifically expensive. So it was wonderful when this one was booked for me by my hosts.

The decor of rooms is lovely, almost Mediterranean - a wonderful thing if you have to visit Kyiv in the middle of winter. My room also had a balcony which is probably quite a pleasant thing in the summer (make sure you take room 3 or 2 as they have a nicer space outside. It is supposed to be B&B, but you have access to most basic services available in hotels: laundry service, multi channel TV, good quality wifi, etc. You are very close to Maidan and all it's underground shopping and overground restaurants.

There is very good heating in the winter and also air conditioning available for the Summer.

The downsides? To enter you need to cross a dodgy courtyard - might not be best for a single woman if returning late at night. Also - indeed it is good to have someone to take that suitcase for you upstairs (there is a way for cars to park just in front of the main door). There is no communal area - neither a dining room or a bar (the hotel is almost like a flat). Breakfasts are brought to your room at the time agreed with the person who is on duty. They may get a bit repetitive if you are staying there for a longer period of time.

One concern which the owners might want to address - the part for the guests is separated by a staircase from the porters room. One night I discovered that the door from the staircase to the guest part was locked with the person on duty being on the other side of the corridor. It might not be very safe in case of an emergency.

The rooms are indeed quite large and thankfully with a bath and a hot rail. Towels were changed daily. There was much space in the wardrobes to put your things away. Especially many drawers (unlike in the hotel where I am staying at the moment :( ). Just make sure you check them all not to leave anything behind when you check out!

Room Tip: Choose rooms 3 or 2 for a bit nicer view and more light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ArtsAndWines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in early November and had a very enjoyable stay. The hotel is not easy to find as the entrance is from a yard through a gateway off a side street, then there's a flight of stairs to climb but our room was spacious with a huge, comfortable bed and the bathroom was spotlessly clean and well-appointed. There are just 5 rooms and an office so no general reception area, restaurant etc but the service was very good - Anna, in particular, was lovely. We were asked each evening what we wanted for breakfast and that was brought to the room at the requested time on a trolley. The location is really excellent, just a few minutes from Kreschatyk, Independence Square, St Michael's Monastery among others. The room was very warm but the air-conditioning worked well. We would certainly go back here.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GillyMac99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kiev hotels
Bontiak Hotel
#30 of 111 in Kiev
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Kozatskiy Hotel
#90 of 111 in Kiev
3.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Khreschatyk Hotel
#18 of 111 in Kiev
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lypky
Hotel Ukraine
Hotel Ukraine
#26 of 111 in Kiev
3.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Dnipro Hotel
#49 of 111 in Kiev
3.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Gintama Hotel
#56 of 111 in Kiev
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunflower B&B Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunflower B&B Hotel

Property: Sunflower B&B Hotel
Address: Kostelnaya 9 - 41, Kiev 01001, Ukraine
Region: Ukraine > Kiev
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Kiev
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunflower B&B Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunflower B&B Hotel is a charming boutique hotel located in the heart of historic Kiev. Although we are only a block away from the busy main city square, Maidan Nezalezhnosti, our location is in a quiet courtyard on a small street lined with splendid architectural treasures of the 18th and 19th centuries. This beautiful street ends with an elegant Oleksandrivska Roman-Catholic Church (Kostel), which gave the street its name "Kostelnaya".Our hotel serves business and family guests and we understand that a safe, quiet and comfortable environment is essential for a pleasant stay. At Sunflower you can count on: hospitable and cozy atmosphere services and amenities according to top international standards friendly and highly-experienced English-speaking staff stylish and sunny interior large and comfortable air-conditioned rooms, each with well-equipped and bright bathroom modern system of telecommunications and free Internet access 24-hour Front Desk and security wide range of guest services, including business, art&culture sightseeing tours, travel arrangements and tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Sunflower B&B Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunflower Bed And Breakfast Hotel
Sunflower Hotel Kiev

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing