We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, clean hotel, safe area”
Review of Maria Jose Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Maria Jose Suites
Ranked #12 of 54 Hotels in San Salvador
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, GA
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Excellent service, clean hotel, safe area”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

This hotel is located in a very safe area of San Salvador and is less than a 10 minute walk to the CIFCO convention center. Most of the cab drivers did not know where the hotel was, so we just told them it was the one behind Denny's restaurant and they knew how to get there. Denny's is just down the hill. You can also walk to the Sheraton and Hilton in about 5 minutes.

We stayed here in November 2013 for a trade show. The hotel was completely full, but in our 5 days there, we only saw another guest one time. It was a very quiet hotel.

The rooms are very basic, but clean. In our bedroom, we had a single bed and a double bed. In the outer room, there was a couch which opened into a bed, a dining table with 4 chairs, and two additional casual chairs. Kitchen included refrigerator, stove, coffee maker, and toaster oven.

Each night, you make your breakfast selections and they bring it to your room at the scheduled time.

Only two minor complaints were that the air conditioner is mounted at the ceiling and blows onto the single bed and the beds are fairly firm.

I would definitely stay here again. The staff at the hotel are extremely nice. Of special note, Carlos, who works the night shift, was a delight - very helpful, polite, professional, and friendly.

They have soda and bottled water available for purchase, but no beer.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plcitv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    34
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
15
14
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This is simply the best small hotel in San Salvador.

The hotel is in one of the safest areas of San Salvador with a lot of options for food and entertainment nearby.

The "apartments" (suites) are quiet, spacious, clean and well appointed.
As its name suggest, think of the rooms as one bed room apartments with full size stove, fridge etc.

The covered and gate-secured parking is a huge plus.

All these amenities at what probably is the best value of hotels in this category in the whole city!!!

They have a couple of options for the included breakfast, but I stuck with the "Tipico" (I'm a Salvadorean living in Los Angeles) which was simply delicious,

Vanesa, Esperanza, Carlos and Pedro Javier (staff) are extremely helpful and attentive.

Vanesa even saved my life (and wallet) when she helped me out to sort out an "I left the car keys inside the car and my plane leaves in 90 minutes" problem for which I will be forever grateful to her!

All in all, this is easily the best place I have stayed in San Salvador. I highly recommend it and will definitely be coming back in the (hopefully not too far) future; either by myself or with my whole family (wife and three daughters).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xavier R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery Village, Maryland, United States
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This hotel is in a great location, the service is great, the apartment was kept clean everyday. The breakfast is out of this world yumi and everyone there is very friendly and attentive. The only important detail missing is, that the rooms did not have a microwave, and with a small kid, you always need that.
Me, my husband and my two kids stayed at Mari Joses' and we are planning to be back this September ;)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Clean, safe, simple and friendly place in a quiet street. We stayed there for a week and liked it very much.
The breakfast is a nice touch, served in your room at the preferred time.
We went grocery shopping at the supermarket and cooked "at home".
We would go back there without any hesitations.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stechaphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dauin, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

I had the pleasure to stay here for three months. I was working at sites across El Salvador, and Apart-Hotel Maria Jose became my base of operations and oasis from the chaos of San Salvador. This hotel is a superb value. It is ideal for business travelers and those attending family events in the area.

Location- Colonia San Benito is quiet, safe neighborhood with plenty of shopping, bars, and restaurants nearby. I was quite comfortable to walk around alone at night. The streets are wide and clean with beautiful landscaping. This area is one of the best in the entire country.

Rooms- The rooms are functional but not luxurious. However, one has all the basics to live comfortably. There is AC and cable TV in the bedrooms. The WiFi was reliable and reasonably fast with good coverage throughout the building.

Facility- The building is very secure and has three stories, an elevator, a small but lovely pool, secure access, covered secure parking, and 24 monitoring.

Dining- There is no restaurant, but a free breakfast is included. One may choose from among several option and specify delivery time. Breakfast is served in the room or poolside. The breakfast was always good, always on time, and always correct per the order. The staff even would notice if a guest routinely did not eat any item on the plate and thoughtfully substitute it for something else.

Service- A staff member is on duty 24/7. Access to the building and parking area is controlled by the on-duty staff member. The rooms are cleaned daily, and the cleaning quality is superb. Cleaning even includes bussing the breakfast and washing any pots, pans, and dishes left in the sinks. Filtered water is delivered daily. If you have any concerns or maintenance issues, it will be quickly resolved. The front desk can help arrange taxis, tours, or any special requests you may have. For example, I enquired about travel options to La Ceiba. They provided me with a chart listing various air and land options with schedules, prices, contacts, and suggestions. Now that is truly exceptional service above and beyond any reasonable expectation!

Staff- The staff is the best part of this hotel. You will always be greeted and given a warm smile. Every single staff member was so friendly and kind: front desk, maintenance, and housekeeping. I felt almost like a member of the family. Often I just spent several minutes just chatting with staff. PJ, the manager, is especially amiable. He is sincerely concerned about the comfort of his guests, and it shows in how well everything operates. PJ is also fluent in English.

Enjoy your stay here. I definitely did. If I have another project in El Salvador, I would not even consider staying elsewhere. Best of all, the price is very low!

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side have better view. Third floor better view than second.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiveXplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

I want say that I'm very picky. i usually stay at the Marriot wherever I go.
A friend recommended this small hotel and I don't regret, stayed with my family during my trip to El Salvador.
I don't have any complains. Friendly staff, clean rooms with small living room, breakfast and free parking. Home away from home.
I strongly recommended.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Patty Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2013

I just came back from El Salvador and stayed at Maria Jose. Excellent location in the Zona Rosa area. The staff is great and the rooms are very good. They all come equipped with a full kitchen. You can buy stuff at the local supermarket and cook if you like. Honestly though, food is so cheap in El Salvador that you are better off going out. Enjoy pupusas or some seafood around the corner at La Ola.

Room Tip: It would be nice if they had a fitness center but for the price and location, you really can't g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marlon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Salvador hotels
0.1 mi away
Barcelo San Salvador
Barcelo San Salvador
#2 of 54 in San Salvador
667 reviews
0.1 mi away
HOTEL LAS MAGNOLIAS - San Salvador
0.7 mi away
Morrison Hotel de la Escalon
Morrison Hotel de la Escalon
#8 of 54 in San Salvador
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Presidente San Salvador
1.0 mi away
Villa del Angel Hotel
Villa del Angel Hotel
#6 of 54 in San Salvador
253 reviews
2.0 mi away
Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maria Jose Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maria Jose Suites

Property: Maria Jose Suites
Address: Col. San Benito | Av. La Capilla 223, San Salvador, El Salvador
Region: El Salvador > San Salvador Department > San Salvador
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 54 Hotels in San Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Maria Jose Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Maria Jose Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing