We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint , Beautiful and Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Morrison Hotel de la Escalon
Ranked #8 of 54 Hotels in San Salvador
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quaint , Beautiful and Friendly”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Cannot imagine why anyone would want to search further than the Morrison Hotel. My husband and I recently spent 10 days at this wonderful hotel while helping our son relocate to San Salvador. We speak no Spanish but because of Gretchen, the hotel's manager, who speaks fluent English and Spanish, we were able to navigate through the city. Our son needed identification documents (which can be a difficult process in El Salvador) and Gretchen not only sent us to the right places, but copied and emailed a multitude of documents for our son to facilitate working thru this process. Gretchen's suggestion of taxi service turned out to be our salvation, as our driver Manuel (bi-lingual) was with us for almost the full ten days and assisted us in every way possible. Gretchen's restaurant suggestions were also great-one we frequented four times since it was only a few blocks from the hotel. Hotel Morrison was our first introduction to the sweetness and helpfulness of the people of El Salvador. The hotel staff (every one of them) went out of their way to assist us and to make us feel at home, and the hotel became our home away from home. The hotel is a former home, complete with beautiful furnishings. A highlight of our stay was the morning breakfast- we dined outdoors at their patio/pool area. The food was great-the menu with its photos (for those of us who do not speak Spanish!) was large and the start of every day was so positive and friendly. We also had food delivered two nights , as we were too tired to go out. Once again, the hotel staff helped us with the necessaries and cleanup. The "can do" attitude was so refreshing! If safety is a concern, you need not worry. The hotel is secured 24 hours a day and located in a safe and comfortable neighborhood. When I come back to San Salvador to visit my son, I may stay with him (and if so I will miss EVERYONE at the hotel), but I recommend Hotel Morrison without qualification.. This is a WONDERFUL place!

Janelle Pasch
Madison, WI, USA

Room Tip: Each room(about 16) is different-a great variety to chose from
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rpasch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    44
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
34
26
22
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed there 14 days and we felt like at home! The service was excellent, very pesoonal, everyone was so attentive to our needs, breakfast in the patio every morning was lovely and peaceful, the place it's very very clean, the location was perfect for us, going on day trips everyday.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salgal67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I stayed here with a friend last week for 5 nights while I was in El Salvador visiting my sponsor child. Being young 23 year old girls we were a bit worried about the country, the people and the stay. We worried for nothing! It's a great location and is very safe to walk and explore and the staff are always there to guide you. They are extremely friendly and caring and were willing to help with everything and anything at any time. Doris was such a sweetheart and took care of us like a mother, although she didn't speak or understand any English, through smiles, hugs, 'charades' and google translate we always managed to communicate well. Gretchen, who we saw every morning was also fantastic! She speaks both English and Spanish, and although she's not at the hotel all the time she always made herself available to us had we come across any problems - which we didn't. I would definitely recommend the tours that are listed on the hotel website headed by Gretchen (who is so cool to hang out with) the tours are well worth the money and not to mention El Salvador is truly a beautiful place to see.
The photos don't do this hotel justice, it's a small hotel but is lovely and has a homely feel to it. We sat at the sofa/lobby area a few nights watching movies as we ate our late night take away (which is delivered to the hotel very easily). The garden/pool area is heavenly and is a beautiful setting to eat those yummy pancakes that are served at breakfast. The wifi connection is strong and available all around the hotel, so you never have to wait tediously for that email to load.
There is so much I can say about this hotel and every praise would probably still fall short! I loved this hotel but more so I loved the friendly, homely service it provided. I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rita_Rx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nassau, Bahamas
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I've posted elsewhere that TripAdvisor ratings are not a straightforward "tick the box" exercise. The Morrison is rated at the top of San Salvador hotels, but not for the same reasons one might expect to find an Intercontinental or a Crowne Plaza high on the list.

That complicated equation balancing cost, charm, cleanliness, convenience, and character just plain works out to put the Morrison pretty high on the list.

We stayed in the "junior suite" for 5 nights with a view out over the hills in the distance. The beds were very comfortable, the room was clean, the bathroom was a nice touch. Some would prefer the furniture/style to be modernised perhaps. We wouldn't have changed much of anything. I would be amiss not to mention that the wall airconditioning unit (needed this month) was noisy but not impossible at night.

The Morrison is on a quiet side street ... but it's not a very pretty street. Do not be totally put off, however, it is within an easy walk of Fuentes de Beethoven circle on Paseo Escalon, a Super Selectos supermarket and the Galeria Mall which is worth seeing in and of itself as it is built over and around a beautiful old stately mansion that once served as an Embassy. While I might not walk it all in deep darkness, during the day we felt perfectly safe and no-one seemed to pay much attention to us.

The back patio / terrace is totally charming and a great place for the morning breakfast, which is included and in and of itself, excellent and boasts a wide selection. We had a Salvadoran breakfast one day, tamales de elote (corn) and chicken another, and the pancakes were excellent and the supplement of fruit ("strawberry" papaya included) at $1.00 was well worth it.

Good advice from the owners, who speak perfect English and straddle cultures, is always available.

So ... it's not the Crowne Plaza, many of the rooms don't have "views", but the cozy public areas, the location and the overall value would bring us back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: The Junior Suite is worth the extra if you're not on your own. The view is welcome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nyloc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennett Square, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

This family owned and operated small hotel was a great choice for exploring San Salvador and surroundings. A prepared to order breakfast on their terrace looking across the city was a great place to start the day. The staff was friendly and welcoming, even with those with whom we did not share a language. The daughter-in-law and manager, Gretchen, was a most valuable asset to our trip--helping us to plan what we did on our own in the city and taking us on a several hour tour of the volcano that overlooks the city and then on to Joya de Ceran and Lago Coatepeque. We felt like we were guests in a home--and, indeed, the hotel building was originally the home of the owner. The staff was very helpful in getting taxis and providing directions.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErnieK937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed for two nights after spending a week on the beach... it was a great location, very safe to walk and explore. The staff were extremely friendly and willing to provide any information needed to enjoy our stay in San Salvador.
We were trying to find somewhere to watch the olympic hockey game and Gretchen was on the phone calling all the sports bars and found one that would play the game for us. She even organized with the staff to call her in order to organize a taxi home when the game was done. Absolutely fantastic customer service!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carmalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

My young son and I travelled to El Salvador in January 2014 from Canada. We stopped in at the Morrison on the way in and on the way out of the country. We asked that they arrange a car to pick us up at the airport and there he was holding our name even tho our flight was delayed at least an hour from Toronto. The drive was an easy one and we got checked in. Most of the staff's English is sketchy, but our "charades" and their patience did the trick for a few days. I can't say enough about the hotel itself: the photo's don't do it justice: it's petite but lovely, understated in decor but very comfortable and so authentic. It felt like a combination of old Europe and the wild west. Breakfast is divine and generous, coffee keeps coming for tired Moms like me and all with smiles. :)
I can't speak a word of Spanish so our hostess assisted me with so much of my travel plans beyond her calling I wasn't sure a thank you was enough, but it was. My son bounced around the place like it was his playground and splashed in the pool. It's actually bigger than it looks and a great place to spend an afternoon to relax.
We also enjoyed the free Wifi, walking distance to everything and feeling safe everywhere we went!!
We went travelling for a few days, hit the GORGEOUS beaches, saw some of the best sunsets I've seen in the world, then headed back to tell our friends goodbye. On our way out, our doors were held open again, our taxi arrived again on time and we said good bye.
I loved the Morrison and I'd recommend anyone to stay here and meet Gretchen and her staff. Thanks to all of you and please remember that you all have a friend in Canada!! Love A + K

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KJBD05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Salvador hotels
0.6 mi away
Barcelo San Salvador
Barcelo San Salvador
#2 of 54 in San Salvador
654 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Las Magnolias
Hotel Las Magnolias
#10 of 54 in San Salvador
69 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa del Angel Hotel
Villa del Angel Hotel
#6 of 54 in San Salvador
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Posada Del Angel
Hotel La Posada Del Angel
#9 of 54 in San Salvador
119 reviews
2.2 mi away
Courtyard San Salvador
Courtyard San Salvador
#3 of 54 in San Salvador
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morrison Hotel de la Escalon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morrison Hotel de la Escalon

Property: Morrison Hotel de la Escalon
Address: Calle Nueva 1 # 3889 | Colonia Escalon, San Salvador 1101, El Salvador
Phone Number:
Region: El Salvador > San Salvador Department > San Salvador
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 54 Hotels in San Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Morrison Hotel de la Escalon 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in San Salvador's Zona Rosa district, this hotel features an outdoor swimming pool, free Wi-Fi and free onsite parking. It offers air-conditioned accommodation with free breakfast, and an airport shuttle service is available.All rooms at Morrison Hotel de la Escalon feature a simple, contemporary decor with tiled floors. Each includes cable TV and a telephone with free local calls. The private bathroom has a selection of toiletries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Morrison Hotel de la Escalon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing