We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent view!”

Las Brumas Grill Cafe
Ranked #19 of 291 Restaurants in San Salvador
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$21
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent view!”
Reviewed 2 April 2013

This place is really nice. I enjoyed the food although the selection was somewhat limited. Nonetheless, my girlfriend loved it. I was there during Easter week and I received great service. I got there around 8:30p so maybe the crowds were gone. I highly recommend this place even though it's a bit on the expensive side for El Salvador. But the gardens, view and atmosphere makes this worth it.

TIP: If you go at night, make sure you take a sweater with you. It can get very chilly.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marlon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    61
    21
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A thrill at the grill”
Reviewed 8 March 2013

We went to Las Brumas with another couple after an excursion to the volcano el boqueron nearby. The Cafe was incredibly packed. We managed to get a table in a smaller section around the side. It was very expensive but the cakes and coffee were nice. It was also hard getting the bill at the end. All in all, this is the place to come if you want to see some great scenery and have a coffee/cake.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Perthchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Gardens and Views!”
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Las Brumas is on the side of the San Salvador volcano and thus commands a fantastic view of the valley below. The gardens around the restaurant and the flowers inside are outstanding! Since it's above the city, the climate is a little cooler than below, which probably helps with growing the beautiful plants and flowers. A group of about 20 of us ate an early dinner there about 2 weeks ago. Everyone had pupusas, the national food of El Salvador. While the pupusas were good, I have had better for less money at some of the roadside pupuserias in the country. Rather than the traditional big jar of curtido on the table, we got a small bowl of it along with a small pitcher of red sauce. The service was a little slow and our waiter seemed to have trouble keeping our order straight. There were many of us, however, and he understood no English. Maybe our Spanish was not good enough for him to understand. If you want to get away from the heat and noise of the city, this is a great place. If you're just looking for great Salvadoran food and atmosphere, this is not the place to find it. Bring a jacket if it's cloudy or evening.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eldereaglewatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denton, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Amazing Views”
Reviewed 27 January 2013

This is a great place to get a good meal with an amazing view of San Salvador. When you want to impress visitors to San Salvador with beautiful views and good food then take then here. I have been both for breakfast and lunch and both are good. Get there early if you can to secure a great seat but even the seats away from the scenic overlook are great. The temperature on the volcano is cooler than in the city so if going at night you may want a long sleeve shirt/jacket.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelingSpinsterTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downey, California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice view and atmosphere”
Reviewed 20 January 2013

This is a very nice place in the heights of San Salvador. If someone wants just to get away from traffic and the noise of the city, I definitely recommend this place. It is not about the food because they might have still to work a little on that, however it is still a choice to go with some company, have a nice talk, some fresh air, a terrific view of the city mostly at night.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Blanky N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Las Brumas Grill Cafe also viewed

San Salvador, San Salvador Department
San Salvador, San Salvador Department
 
San Salvador, San Salvador Department
San Salvador, San Salvador Department
 
San Salvador, San Salvador Department
Santa Tecla, La Libertad Department
 

Been to Las Brumas Grill Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing