We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Best Hotel in El Salvador” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa ILB il Bongustaio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casa ILB il Bongustaio
Ranked #14 of 52 Hotels in San Salvador
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Hotel in El Salvador”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

I has to make a sudden reservation and I'm glad they recommended Il Bongustaio. A boutique hotel with the best acomodations in El Salvador at a very affordable price. The bar and restaurant are also incredible. I had an amazing experience with my wife and the owner, Roberto, definitely makes you feel like home. I am definitely staying there next time I visit El Salvador.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cacalodiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    4
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
8
22
6
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

I stayed at the Bongustaio during a conference that took place in San Salvador in June. It is an elegant boutique hotel with only a few rooms that offers a cozy, home-like atmosphere. The service was fantastic, the rooms huge, tastefully chic and comfortable. I must say the beds were probably among the most comfortable I have had the chance to sleep in. Cristina, who managed the hotel when I was there was extremely helpful and friendly. Altogether, I would recommend Il Bongustaio to anyone seeking a hotel in San Salvador. Oh, and lest I forget, the food in the Italian restaurant of the same name is delicious.

Andres Salazar-

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andres S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

It was really pleasant and relaxing experience to stay at this hotel. After noisy and crowdy Intercontinental it was like oasis. I wouldn't even call it hotel in its standard meaning, it is a big villa, built in 70s, but it has been fully renovated receintly and equiped with stylish design furniture, etc. Hotel has only five rooms (all suites), which are stylish and very, very spaciuos. Territory of this boutique hotel is big, hotel has own garden, courtyard, spacious lounge zone. Hotel located in very quit and safe zone of the city- Zona Rosa. If you have to go to hotel by taxi, please have accurate adress, because hotel is new, and not all drivers know it. Hotel accomodates stylish italian cuisine restaurant, which I think is one of the best in the city, you can see it by people, who visit it:) It is really high level. And of course, not to forget to say special thanks to hotel owner, who was very friendly and helpful. So, this hotel itself is a reason to visit San Salvador city. I travel a lot, and only few hotels made me think like that:)

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anastasya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

Casa ILB is a great boutique hotel -- I have already been twice. It's located in a beautiful house that with nice gardens. On the other side of the house, and not intruding with it, is Il Bongustaio which is the best restaurant in San Salvador, serving Italian food. The owners Roberto and Cristina are extremely nice and treat you as family. The rooms are brand new, very spacious and with all the latest technology. I highly recommend the place.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jose R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cristinapenalva, Propietario at Casa ILB il Bongustaio, responded to this review, 22 August 2011
Thank you so much Jose! It is a pleasure to have you at Casa ILB!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2011

Calling Casa ILB a boutique hotel is being disrespectful to Roberto, it's lively and courteous owner.

When you stay there you're a guest in the home of a gracious host. This is exactly what the experience is like.

If all you're looking for are shoe shines, souvenir shops and a bell boy, you don't deserve this place.

It has 6 beautifully decorated rooms in an even more impressively decorated house. The restaurant, Bongustaio, provides one of the top 5 dinning experiences in the country...and when you meet Christina, the hotel's administrator with the delightful Spanish accent, you'll want to invite her to stay as your guest when she travels to wherever you're from. They're that friendly.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Josega2723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cristinapenalva, Propietario at Casa ILB il Bongustaio, responded to this review, 6 July 2011
Thank you so much for your comments! We are very happy that you enjoyed yor stay! We will be looking forward to you staying with us again soon! Regards from Cristina y Roberto.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Salvador hotels
0.5 mi away
Barcelo San Salvador
Barcelo San Salvador
#2 of 52 in San Salvador
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Las Magnolias
Hotel Las Magnolias
#12 of 52 in San Salvador
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sal & Luz Hotel Boutique
Sal & Luz Hotel Boutique
#15 of 52 in San Salvador
5.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel San Salvador
Crowne Plaza Hotel San Salvador
#3 of 52 in San Salvador
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Presidente San Salvador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa ILB il Bongustaio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa ILB il Bongustaio

Property: Casa ILB il Bongustaio
Address: Boulevar Del Hipodromo #605, Colonia San Benito, San Salvador, El Salvador
Region: El Salvador > San Salvador Department > San Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 52 Hotels in San Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa ILB il Bongustaio 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa ILB il Bongustaio, located in the most vivid area of San Salvador, has a very modern and minimalistic, yet cozy, look. We offer our visitors a personalized and unique service, that makes them live an exclusive experience full of exquisite food, and comfortable suites. Relax is our favorite word, and we want you to enjoy it, by staying in our place, your place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Casa ILB il Bongustaio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing