We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convienent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Villa Florencia Centro
Ranked #18 of 54 San Salvador B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 February 2013 via mobile

This hotel is very convenient to the bus station. Only a 2min walk away.

The rooms are clean and our A/C worked very well. TVs with some English stations too.

There are a few food places available if you turn left out of the hotel and then left again. They are comedor places or street food and some with tables a seats inside. We had a full meal at one for $2.35.

The hotel has a really nice lobby and open area with a good size dining table.

We stayed here 2 nights and spent a bit of time in the open area organising the next part if our trip. The Internet is very good.

The negative is there is no breakfast and no hot water so you have to have a cold shower. Free coffee though. Our bathroom has a bath but its not much use without hot water.

This is perfect if staying a short time and arriving on bus and moving on by bus or to the airport. $5 colectivos to airport 2 blocks away. Good value rooms too.

There was an English speaking staff member on reception who was very helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2013

We arrived late in San Salvador and this was close and since i never found the hotel I reserved, we went there. Very clean small rooms. Cost us 35$ for 2 beds and a/c. Private bathroom and plant friendly inside court. They have interior parking if you have a car! No food there. They sell cookies and have sodas and that is all. No restaurants around so we ate granola bars that night! It was only for one night and it did the job great! Would probably not stay there a week but I gladly recommend! Staff is friendly though they did not speak english at all!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzin1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

The rooms are small, but the rooms and bathrooms are clean and modern. I'll take small and clean over big and dirty. We arrived late at the bus terminal - and this is only 2 blocks away, so very convenient if you arrive late, or want to leave early in the morning. There aren't many food options (ie, only one next door). I'd recommend this place for the area!

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Fiona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

I was pleasantly suprised by the quality of the room. At $25 I was a bit apprehensive about what the qaulity would be.

I also had other suprises.

I was under the impression brakfast was included. It was not. I was expection hot water in the shower. There was none.
Was the staff helpful? Define helpful.
Would I stay there again? Yes, but I might see if any of the other options had hot water and/or breakfast.

Room Tip: I paid for the A/C oppossed just having a fan. I'm not sure how well the A/C worked. I also paid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pepe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2011

I stayed at this hotel for one night for $15 my last night in El Salvador. It is a half block from were the collective taxis arrive and leave for the airport. I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the hotel. The rooms are small and only cold water but with cable tv, wifi, fan and private bath. The neighborhood also was good at least up until early evening with plenty of places to eat and good bus connections. For me this an excellent choice for a first or last night in San Salvador.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fehlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

This is the homely stepchild of the fancier Villa Florencia in the Zona Rosa. I chose it because of its convenience to transportation: it’s two blocks from the Puerto Bus Terminal, for international buses; and one block from the $5 shuttle to the airport. This is the “Universidad Tecnológica” area west of the center.

After paying as little as $5 for a decent room with hot shower in Guatemala, it was a shock to pay $25 here. However, the rooms are nicer than basic; clean, nicely painted, with comfortable beds and too-soft pillows, with A/C (rooms with fan are $20). The surprise came when I turned the hot-water faucet in the shower and nothing came out. No, the clerk explained, there’s no hot water. Also, no desk or chair; some shelving, a rod with hangers. There is WiFi.

I stayed in a room in the rear of the property, away from street noise but in a garage-like space filled with construction materials (secure parking for those driving). Rooms closer to the street would be noisy at night. The restaurant mentioned in Lonely Planet is either being remodeled or has closed.

Overall, not a bad choice for a night or two when onward travel is a priority.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Raymundo02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Villa Florencia combines the wonderful old details of the past with the amenities of the present. The inviting lobby is decorated with plants and objects from the past that add a homey feeling. The staff members are very helpful, friendly, competent. They made arrangements for my 4 AM taxi to the airport and put my mind at ease. The rooms were spotless. A single with a fan is $13; a single with a/c is $20. King Quality international bus station is one block away. A breakfast place next door offers typical Salvadoreno food for $2. Spending your money here or next door at the attractive Hotel Pasadena is a vote for the working class businesses of El Centro rather than for the American chains in richer suburbs.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jamiejet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Salvador hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Armonia Hostal
Hotel Armonia Hostal
#18 of 55 in San Salvador
34 reviews
2.2 mi away
Morrison Hotel de la Escalon
Morrison Hotel de la Escalon
#8 of 55 in San Salvador
166 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Happy House
Hotel Happy House
#37 of 55 in San Salvador
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Tazumal House
Hotel Tazumal House
#5 of 54 in San Salvador
78 reviews
0 mi away
Hostal Cumbres del Volcan
Hostal Cumbres del Volcan
#6 of 54 in San Salvador
54 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hostal Dona Marta
Hostal Dona Marta
#7 of 54 in San Salvador
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Florencia Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Florencia Centro

Address: 3a Calle Poniente 1023 | Centro Historico, San Salvador, El Salvador
Region: El Salvador > San Salvador Department > San Salvador
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in San Salvador
Price Range: £14 - £43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Florencia Centro 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Villa Florencia Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing