We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Barcelo San Salvador
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in San Salvador
Certificate of Excellence
Little Rock, Arkansas, United States
1 review
“Exceptional Service”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

I have worked as a Food & Beverage Director in the States for over 20 years, and the service that I received at the Hilton San Salvador was by far better than I have seen anywhere in the States. Thank you for an enjoyably stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Scott F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Princess S, Manager at Barcelo San Salvador, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Greetings from Hilton Princess San Salvador,
Thank you very much for choosing our Hotel for your recent stay in San Salvador and for taking your valuable time to share your comments with us and other travelers. We are really glad to hear that our staff was able to satisfy your needs and exceeded your expectations.
We appreciate your preference and we look forward to welcoming you back in a near future.
Best regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    347
    200
    49
    14
    12
See reviews for
88
77
42
348
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwell,MA
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Whenever I am in San Salvador I stay at the Princess. The hotel is centrally located and provides a welcome oasis. The rooms are spacious. The Dining room is very nice. They have a large breakfast buffet which helps me get my day off on the right foot.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Norwell_MARiderEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Princess S, Manager at Barcelo San Salvador, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you very much for choosing our Hotel for your recent stay in San Salvador and for taking your valuable time to share your comments with us and other travelers and recommending our service. We are really glad to hear that we exceed your expections with our service.

We appreciate your preference and we look forward to welcoming you back in a near future.

Best regards

The Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, United States
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2014

As a frequent traveler, it is easy to notice the subtle and not-so-subtle quality differences between hotels. This hotel truly is noteworthy for the extremely professional and courteous staff - from front desk and concierge, to wait staff and conference support. The hotel was comfortable and functional, with the right amenities. Nothing extraordinary. The staff, however, helped give the business stay a "resort" feel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garden City, United States
1 review
Reviewed 16 February 2014

This is the place to stay in San Salvador. I came here from the United States with my wife, who was born in San Salvador, to tour El Salvador and take day trips to Guatemala and Honduras. This hotel was Outstanding in all respects and a dramatic contrast to our absolutely dreadful experience with the Royal Decameron in Salsinitas ( Avoid that hotel!) . The helpful friendly staff accomodated all requests. The room was clean and quiet, the lobby is modern and upscale, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank William O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

Have visited this hotel a couple of times and have never been disappointed. Yes the hotel rooms are a bit dated and the elevators have been an issue but they are working on resolving that problem.
The staff are extremely helpful and accommodating and very polite.
The hotel also provides complimentary shuttle service to shopping centers nearby on a set timetable.
Would definitely return.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Odalys R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Princess S, Manager at Barcelo San Salvador, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Odalys
Greetings from Hilton Princess San Salvador,

Thank you very much for choosing our Hotel for your recent stay in San Salvador and for taking your valuable time to share your comments with us and other travelers. We are really glad to hear that our service satisfy your needs and exceeded your expectations. We are innovating for serve you better.
We appreciate your preference and we look forward to welcoming you back in a near future.

Best regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We stayed here for one night as a relative held her wedding reception here. We selected an executive room - no shower cap for my wife, the room "keys" did not work neither in the elevator nor in the room, the executive breakfast was awful and very sparse and service ceased at 10 am - I could go on! Breakfast for non executive guests continued until much later and was much better than the executive offering.

Room Tip: Don't pay the extra for an executive room - it really isn't worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GordoSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
578 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 313 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

I stayed here on two occasions a week apart. This is a very comfortable hotel, with a nice bar/coffee lobby, lots of meeting rooms, outside pool, top floor spa, sauna, jacuzzi, and exercise room. Though the room may not be classified as the most luxurious or elegant, it was certainly spacious and adequate. The breakfast buffet was extensive and quite good, with lots of choices. I ate one dinner in the dining room and was pleased that they had a special 3-course meal with a glass of Argentine wine going for $25. A second glass of wine cost $11.95, however! Service was excellent. And the $40 massage for 50 minutes was wonderful, followed by the Jacuzzi.

My only complaint--and it was a big one--was that the card keys did not work, almost never. During my first two nights, I had to constantly ask someone to come help me with a special key. One time I counted 50 tries before I gave up. One of the engineers came up and told me they reprogrammed the lock key system on my door, but it didn't help. Since the key had to be used in the one elevator that was working, this was unacceptable, and I told the staff so. When I came back, they had gotten new keys, and mine worked! They had also changed one of the elevators so a key was not needed. Had it not been for this highly frustrating problem, I would have been totally happy. But no Hilton should allow its key system to get into this kind of state and put its guests through such inconvenience.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cfuller603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Salvador hotels
1.9 mi away
Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall
1.6 mi away
Courtyard San Salvador
Courtyard San Salvador
#4 of 54 in San Salvador
314 reviews
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel San Salvador
Crowne Plaza Hotel San Salvador
#3 of 54 in San Salvador
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Presidente San Salvador
0.1 mi away
Hotel Las Magnolias
Hotel Las Magnolias
#12 of 54 in San Salvador
67 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn San Salvador
Holiday Inn San Salvador
#7 of 54 in San Salvador
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo San Salvador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo San Salvador

Property: Barcelo San Salvador
Address: Ave las Magnolias y Blvd del Hipodromo, San Salvador, El Salvador (Formerly Hilton Princess San Salvador)
Phone Number:
Region: El Salvador > San Salvador Department > San Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Salvador
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Salvador
#2 Spa Hotel in San Salvador
#4 Business Hotel in San Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo San Salvador 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a High-rise Hotel situated in the heart of business district with spectacular views to the volcano and the city. Surrounded by the best restaurants in a secure and calm area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Barcelo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Barcelo San Salvador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Princess San Salvador Hotel San Salvador
Hilton Hotel San Salvador
Hilton San Salvador
San Salvador Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing