We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Port in the Storm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Barcelo San Salvador
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in San Salvador
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Port in the Storm”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This hotel is about 1/2 hour by taxi or shuttle to the airport. A very comfortable and welcoming staff, great bar and restaurant, safe, luxurious, clean, good beds and linen. You put yourself in good hands at this hotel. It was very good value.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank 91mikef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Princess S, Manager at Barcelo San Salvador, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Greetings from Hilton Princess San Salvador,
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for choosing our Hotel for your recent stay in San Salvador and for taking your valuable time to share your comments with us and other travelers and recommending our service. We are really glad to hear that our staff was able to satisfy your needs and exceeded your expectations.

We appreciate your preference and we look forward to welcoming you back in a near future.

Warm Regards

The Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    211
    52
    15
    12
See reviews for
100
85
45
367
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

I spent 2 days due to a business trip and the short time there:
Room
great view, clean, quiet, but a/c did not work 2nd day and the technician was unable to fix it.
My clothes were ironed - very good service-
Breakfast was excellent and as well as the business lounge.
The Hotel is very centric and if were for the a/c I would give this hotel an A+.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank paeslima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Princess S, Manager at Barcelo San Salvador, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for choosing our Hotel for your recent stay in San Salvador and for taking your valuable time to share your comments with us and other travelers and recommending our service. We are really glad to hear that we exceeded your expectations with our service. We’re sorry to hear the problem you had with the A/C, we will consider your comments.

We appreciate your preference and we look forward to welcoming you back in a near future.

Best regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I stayed at this hotel for a few days and had a great stay. They have the best gym in town and the people are very friendly and they give you an excellent service. Breakfast was wonderful and the seafood buffet was excellent. My only complaint was about the condition of the towels. They could use newer ones. Overall, I would stay again at The Hilton Princess if I visit El Salvador. It is the best hotel there.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Capri227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Princess S, Manager at Barcelo San Salvador, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Greetings from Hilton Princess San Salvador,
Thank you very much for choosing our Hotel for your recent stay in San Salvador and for taking your valuable time to share your comments with us and other travelers. We are really glad to hear that our staff was able to satisfy your needs and exceeded your expectations.

We appreciate your preference and we look forward to welcoming you back in a near future.

Best regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

The hotel staff were really amazing. The reception area is bright and cheerful and the front desk staff offers bilingual service in Spanish and English which was helpful. Luis, the concierge, was simply fabulous. He made me feel right at home and helped me arrange a city tour guide for the following day. He was really wonderful.

The hotel rooms are nice, spacious and clean - beds are also comfortable. There is some building construction underway so elevators were slow but the service elevators were also offered up for use. The main challenge I had was that in order to get to the pool area, you had to basically walk through the restaurant. The pool itself is actually just outside the wall of windows of the restaurant which makes it really exposed and non-private. This felt a little uncomfortable in such a conservative country. There was also quite limited pool seating. That said, it was nice to have a clean towel waiting on the chairs outside near the pool itself.

In terms of location, the hotel itself seems to be located in more of a residential type of area but is relatively close walking distance to a supermarket where you can buy bottled water, fruit, snacks, etc. All prices are in US dollars which makes it easy for Americans to visit El Salvador. In terms of restaurants, there did not appear to be much close by - more just American fast food which was not of interest to me at all. There are safe ATMs in the hotel next to the reception area.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuburbtoSuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Princess S, Manager at Barcelo San Salvador, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Greetings from Hilton Princess San Salvador,

Thank you very much for choosing our Hotel for your recent stay in San Salvador and for taking your valuable time to share your comments with us and other travelers. We are really glad to hear that our staff was able to satisfy your needs and exceeded your expectations.

We appreciate your preference and we look forward to welcoming you back in a near future.

Best regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Hilton Princess staff was very helpful and friendly. Breakfast buffet was included and fantastic. Order the papusas.

I stayed for a conference, which was held at another hotel, so I did not spend much time on site. The room was quiet and the beds very comfortable.

Only downer: they ran out of bottled water by the end of my stay.

Room Tip: You can pay extra to guarantee a view of the volcano. Try to get a room that does not face McDonalds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KT001KT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Our concierge Luis Garcia was exceptional with his service helping us plan tours, restaurants and thing to do in San Salvador. His friendliness and expert knowledge impressed us very much and made us feel very much at home at the Hilton. Also of special note were the staff at the Executive Lounge who during our nine day stay made feel very welcome and looked after all our needs. With all the friendliness and helpful service, we felt very special and comfortable staying at the Hilton Princess.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank brucehunterm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas, United States
1 review
Reviewed 28 February 2014

I have worked as a Food & Beverage Director in the States for over 20 years, and the service that I received at the Hilton San Salvador was by far better than I have seen anywhere in the States. Thank you for an enjoyably stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Scott F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Princess S, Manager at Barcelo San Salvador, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Greetings from Hilton Princess San Salvador,
Thank you very much for choosing our Hotel for your recent stay in San Salvador and for taking your valuable time to share your comments with us and other travelers. We are really glad to hear that our staff was able to satisfy your needs and exceeded your expectations.
We appreciate your preference and we look forward to welcoming you back in a near future.
Best regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Salvador hotels
1.9 mi away
Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Presidente San Salvador
1.6 mi away
Courtyard San Salvador
Courtyard San Salvador
#3 of 54 in San Salvador
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel San Salvador
Crowne Plaza Hotel San Salvador
#4 of 54 in San Salvador
460 reviews
0.1 mi away
HOTEL LAS MAGNOLIAS - San Salvador
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn San Salvador
Holiday Inn San Salvador
#7 of 54 in San Salvador
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo San Salvador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo San Salvador

Property: Barcelo San Salvador
Address: Ave las Magnolias y Blvd del Hipodromo, San Salvador, El Salvador (Formerly Hilton Princess San Salvador)
Phone Number:
Region: El Salvador > San Salvador Department > San Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Salvador
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Salvador
#2 Spa Hotel in San Salvador
#4 Business Hotel in San Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo San Salvador 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a High-rise Hotel situated in the heart of business district with spectacular views to the volcano and the city. Surrounded by the best restaurants in a secure and calm area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Barcelo, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Barcelo San Salvador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Princess San Salvador Hotel San Salvador
Hilton Hotel San Salvador
Hilton San Salvador
San Salvador Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing