We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel San Salvador
Ranked #3 of 55 Hotels in San Salvador
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I stayed in the older of their two buildings. It was fine and much less expensive than the newer building. The breakfast bar was very nice with a combination of traditional American breakfast food and Salvadoran food.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Experienc... C, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Salvador, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear Bill S

Thank you for reviewing us!
We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed our rooms, atmosphere and service. It was wonderful to have you as our guest. Thank you for preferring us; we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Roberto Medina
Guest Experience Champion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (490)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

190 - 196 of 492 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2013

Pleasant large patio with a large volcano in the backdrop made this a relaxing location for a conference. Excellent buffet breakfast and dinners. Fast internet. The rooms are not spiffy and new, but perfectly comfortable and functional. The only downsides, which were totally bearable, was that the shower temperature oscillated between extremes and the bed was just about as hard as a rock.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Experienc... C, Guest Experience Champion at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Salvador, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Dear Sophie T:

Thank you for reviewing us! We appreciate your comments and are glad to learn you enjoyed our patio area, the volcano view our breakfast, dinner and service.
In order to provide you a better service we are in the process of remodeling our room facilities We hope to see you soon on your next trip to San Salvador.

Sincerely,

Astrid Arce de Saz
Guest Experience Champion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The staff in this hotel are very friendly. Everyone speaks to you and lots of smiles. Unfortunately, there are a multitude of birds around the hotel. Park under a tree and then get your car washed! And they are noisy at night. The room was generally clean, but the bathroom fixtures are not in good repair. Turn on the shower and you find the spray going all over the place! You can get your hair washed, even if you don't want it washed. Overall, a good location, beautiful view and good food.

Room Tip: Don't take the rooms next to the elevators. You can hear them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Experienc... C, Guest Experience Champion at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Salvador, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Dear Mr. Ken D:

Thank you for sharing your review. We love to learn about your experience with us and appreciate your comments. We are in the process remodeling our room facilities in order to provide you a better service.
It has been a pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope to see you in your next trip to El Salvador.

Best Regards,

Astrid Arce de Saz.
Guest Experience Champion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Since I had work meetings close by, the Crowne Plaza met all my traveler needs.
Good rooms, breakfast was good and internet was also included. Basically all that you'd expect from a business executive hotel. I have no complaints.

Room Tip: For a better view ask for a room to a view of the mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Experienc... C, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Salvador, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Mr. Christian R

Thank you for reviewing us. Your comments have been shared with our team; we are all thrilled to learn you enjoyed your stay since we strive for guest satisfaction. Thank you for preferring us. We hope to see you soon on your next visit to San Salvador!
Sincerely,

Roberto Medina
Guest Experience Champion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

I like the pretty grounds and terrific buffet breakfasts of this hotel. But the Internet access stinks--it was dial-up speed in my room, although it was much faster when I brought my laptop to the lobby. I reported this 3x to the hotel front desk, but was told that a technician was there only during a limited set of hours and would fix the issue the next morning, but nothing was done, until the last night of my stay when they offered to change my room (too late). Other than that, service was warm and friendly, but rooms are a bit dated (water pressure in bathroom very low).

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Experienc... C, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Salvador, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear

Thank you for your review. Our staff is very happy to learn you enjoyed your stay; we are committed to delivering memorable experiences to our guests.
Your comments regarding the internet service will be shared with the related departments in an effort to provide you with a better service. We hope you will prefer Crowne Plaza San Salvador on your next trip to El Salvador.

Best Regards,

Roberto Medina
Guest Experience Champion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I stayed at the Plaza Hotel and Suites three nights during my recent visit to El Salvador. I was extremely pleased with the service, friendly staff, delicious breakfast buffet (very good deal), location of the hotel, safety, and it's reasonable rates. I have visited El Salvador numerous times during the past eight years and this hotel has been the best by far (rates (under $80 per night), quality of service, ambiance, etc), I must say that I have stayed in almost every hotel in San Salvador.

Originally, I avoided staying at the big Americana hotels (Marriott, Sheraton, etc). I preferred the small family owned hotels. However, I read good reviews about the Crown Plaza/Plaza Hotel and Suites (same location) and I decided to book at Plaza Hotel and Suites. As soon as I checked in, I realized that I picked a good hotel. I was greeted by a friendly, professional check in staff. Throughout my staying, I have a couple of interactions with them and they were always friendly and polite. They included; Steve, Rocio, Yesenia, Luis (I can't remember the other names), Ah ! Mr. Montes in the concierge area. It feels that the staff 's mission is to make sure you are happy and you are enjoying your stay. They are well trained. On the negative side, the hotel needs some upgrading, the carpet needs to be replaced, the furniture needs to be replaced

I will definitely stay at Plaza Hotel and Suites again.

Room Tip: I had a nice room with a view to the volcano. .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Love2travel2oo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Experienc... C, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Salvador, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Dear Mr.de Here2 (No City2)

Thank you for reviewing us. Your comments have been shared with our team; we are all thrilled to learn you enjoyed your stay since we strive for guest satisfaction. We Thank you for your comments regarding the upgrading furniture and Carpet, your opinion it is very important to us. Once againg, Thank you for preferring us. We hope to see you soon on your next visit to San Salvador!
Roberto Medina
Guest Experience Champion
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I was travelling on business and had no real expectations of what to find on arrival having read some of the less than flattering reports before I arrived.
I was pleasantly surprised to find what is an older hotel but not at all unpleasant for all that. They were in the process of a rolling refurbishment, which was slightly annoying from the room next door when trying to work but I was sent a bowl of fruit and an apologetic letter by means of apology.
The room I had was clean and functional with a comfortable bed. The air conditioning is an older style with a slightly noisy fan but at night I slept fine without it anyway.
I was impressed with the docking stations for all things Apple, especially the one connected to the television which allowed me to watch UK TV from my iPad on the television. This docking station also had all manner of other connections too for cameras etc.
I ate in the hotel most evenings for sheer convenience and the buffet was plentiful and generally varied for the princely sum of US$16, which I thought was pretty good value.
The most impressive thing about this hotel though was the staff. The management have clearly got a good grip on the staff training and customer service ethos. Consequently the staff exuded a quite confidence of getting things done whilst being attentive to the client. I have often found that in some very pricey hotels this service level comes with a derisory sneer but I felt nothing but warmth and a genuine desire to ensure I had a good stay.
The location is also worthy of note as if you fancy eating in a US chain restaurant there are a number attached to the hotel by a covered walkway at the WTC where there is also an ATM in a secure location.
I was staying on the 6th floor on one of the even numbered rooms and the view of the volcano is impressive.

Room Tip: Ask for a 6th floor, the highest and an even number to get the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TripMember020920162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Experienc... C, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Salvador, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Dear Mr. Global_Pikey

Thank you for sharing your review. We love to learn about your experience with us and appreciate your comments, it is very Important to us. We also want to inform you that we are in the process of remodeling our air conditioning system and also our furniture, It has been a pleasure to have you as our guest. We are glad that we Create Memorial Experience to you. We hope to see you soon on your next trip to El Salvador!

Guest Experience Champion
Roberto Medina

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Salvador hotels
1.2 mi away
Barcelo San Salvador
Barcelo San Salvador
#2 of 55 in San Salvador
755 reviews
1.9 mi away
Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn San Salvador
Holiday Inn San Salvador
#6 of 55 in San Salvador
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Presidente San Salvador
2.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott San Salvador
0.9 mi away
Villa del Angel Hotel
Villa del Angel Hotel
#7 of 55 in San Salvador
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel San Salvador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel San Salvador

Address: 89 Avenida Norte y 11 Calle Poniente, San Salvador, El Salvador
Phone Number:
Region: El Salvador > San Salvador Department > San Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in San Salvador
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Salvador
#5 Business Hotel in San Salvador
Price Range: £78 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel San Salvador 3.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel San Salvador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson San Salvador
San Salvador Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing