We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, safe, charming hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Arbol de Fuego Eco-Hotel
Ranked #14 of 55 Hotels in San Salvador
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 December 2011

My husband and I stayed here while visiting our daughter. We loved it. It is absolutely charming and beautiful and once inside the place you completely forget about the bustling city outside. Great breakfast, incredibly helpful staff.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natsis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

44 - 50 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at Arbol de Fuego in September 2011 for a couple of days whilst visiting family in San Salvador.

It is located in a nice area, quiet and convenient to lots of things in the city, shopping, restaurants, etc. When we were there, there was construction going on next door, but as we didn't spend much time in the hotel, we didn't notice too much noise.

The hotel itself is painted all kinds of bright colors, which makes it very charming. There are common areas that are nice to sit in, though we also didn't get much use of these as we were busy with family.

The staff is quite helpful, though I wouldn't advise taking the taxi they recommend from the airport. It cost us $25 plus tip, a total rip off. If you are arriving during the day, and feel comfortable, definitely just try to pick up a regular taxi at the airport, but negotiate your fare before you depart for your destination. The taxis we took in San Salvador did not have meters so make sure you sort out your fare before you go.

The room we stayed in was small, but clean. It had a large wooden wardrobe and dresser, that when opened, let off a really musty smell into the room.

The rooms are not very private, as in many small hotels in Central America. One night, there were some people sitting in one of the common areas just around the corner from our room and playing cards and drinking. We could hear every word they said and their laughter, into the wee hours of the morning.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lacanadiensita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

My husband and I have stayed at the Hotel Arbol de Fuego previously and recently spent 5 nights there on a return trip. We can recommend it as a comfortable San Salvadoran accomodation with a convenient location in a calm, quiet almost natural setting, and decorated with local flavor. We had been at a larger American chain hotel which was very elegant but you might as well have been in the US. This hotel is in a quiet residential neighborhood where you can watch, as well as hear parrots that live in trees behind the property who depart each morning at 5:30 and return each night at 5:30pm. You can walk to dinner to a nearby street full of pupuserieas, or to a restaurant at another nearby hotel. You can also walk to the University of Central American where there are several sights you should see while in the city. The staff is very helpful, the hotel very secure, and the breakfast choices, served in a lovely garden patio are very satisfying. Another covered balcony offers views of the San Salvador Volcano. What is not to like!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Arbol de Fuego was a quiet, green enclave in the hectic bustle of a rather industrial area of San Salvador. The hotel not only were there green features but you felt like you were among nature, with rooms that opened to a courtyard with plants and bubbling fountain. There was a neat spiral staircase to an observation deck with stunning views of downtown San Salvador and its nearby volcano. Breakfast was delicious with many frshly prepared choices -- eggs, beans, plaintains, etc. Staff was very friendly. Free computer with Internet in lobby. Would definitely stay here again on next visit,

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcadoo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We've stayed at Arbol de Fuego several times now and were glad we chose this hotel every time. The staffs very friendly and extremely helpful, the rooms are furnished simply, but are very clean - try for room #9, it's towards the back and a little more quiet, when folks get going in the morning. This place wakes up early, breakfast starts at 6:30am.

Free wifi and a great, quiet garden add to it's appeal.

The taxi ride to Zona Rosa is US$ 6, to the airport US$ 25.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TnE2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

I was fascinated by the hotel and would definitely recommend it. I admired knowing that they implement renewable energy sources. The Staff are very friendly, the rooms comfortable, and clean and the atmosphere is very nice. Since it was a business trip, it was important for us to be in a place of easy access. From Arbol de Fuego, you're within five minutes in most strategic locations. I can highly recommende Hotel Arbol de Fuego! Beautiful!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristelSonnekalb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Clean, quiet, simple, lovely staff, eco-friendly, beautiful breakfast surrounded by exotic plants ans birds singing... would defintly recommended and come back, if I had the chance! for the backpackers: a luxury for a mid-budget price!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mili13_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Salvador
1.1 mi away
Barcelo San Salvador
Barcelo San Salvador
#2 of 55 in San Salvador
814 reviews
2 mi away
Villa del Angel Hotel
Villa del Angel Hotel
#9 of 55 in San Salvador
258 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Armonia Hostal
Hotel Armonia Hostal
#18 of 55 in San Salvador
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Hotel Los Farallones
Hotel Los Farallones
#1 of 3 in La Libertad
204 reviews
1 mi away
HOTEL LAS MAGNOLIAS - San Salvador
2.1 mi away
Villa Serena Escalon
Villa Serena Escalon
#23 of 55 in San Salvador
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arbol de Fuego Eco-Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arbol de Fuego Eco-Hotel

Address: Avenida Antiquo Cuscatian 11c | Col. La Sultana, San Salvador, El Salvador
Region: El Salvador > San Salvador Department > San Salvador
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in San Salvador
#5 Spa Hotel in San Salvador
Price Range: £43 - £51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arbol de Fuego Eco-Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Arbol de Fuego Eco-Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arbol De Fuego Hotel San Salvador

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing