We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!!”
Review of Playa Coco

Playa Coco
Ranked #89 of 238 things to do in Nicaragua
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Just 18 kilometers south of San Juan del Sur is situated Playa el Coco, a beach specially conceived to allow our visitors to relax in a peaceful environment, in direct contact with nature. A characteristic of this resort consists in its location in plain nature, where since 1994 have ben constructed houses under the roof oft trees. The resort's administration wants to conserve these natural surroundings, which offer the suited hiding places for many wild animals like squirrels, skunks, iguanas, garrobos, etc. During October and November herds of hauler monkeys visit the resort, attracted by the fruits of jobos. You can watch birds like urracas, colibris, woodpeckers, small parrots and many others because we respect nature's biological rhythmus. The growing of the trees during the rainy season is part of this rhythmus, the falling of there dry leafs and branches is part of the rhythmus, too. These branches y leafs are not garbage, but important natural dung. Furthermore they help to keep humid the soil retaining the water, the main source of life, in the ground. We invite our guests to immerse into nature witch surrounds the hotel, to enjoy healthy vacations in harmony with the environment. The extended grounds, that surround each house, are another characteristic of this resort. They guarantee privacy y extensive playground so that parents can supervise children easily. It is the perfect spot for couples or whole families, because our beach allows a safe and enjoying swim. We offer different lodging options, from small bungalows to large houses: - Apartments located directly on the coast, which invite you to take an early morning swim or to jog on the 1 km long, sandy beach - Bungalows on a gently hill at about 200 m from the seashore with a terrace in the middle of treetops, a place perfectly suited to watch birds - Houses on top of hills with outstanding sea view, about 100 to 200 m from the shore. All lodgings are equipped with fully furnished kitchens. In the Mini Super, at the entrance of the resort, you will find all you need to prepare a good meal. To allow the kook to enjoy vacations too, you can visit the nearby restaurant "Puesta del Sol", right on the shore. While parents savor a sundowner looking in astonishment at the spectacular sunset, less contemplative youngsters might enjoy plying beach ball, frisbee, volleyball, table soccer, billiard or dive into the pool. Excursions: We recommend visiting by horse or bicycle the nearby villages. On the way you might encounter hordes of howler monkeys, and other sylvatic animals. Very friendly and poor agricultural workers will be happy to invite you to participate on their cultural activities like worships. At night you can visit "Playa la Flor", a sanctuary for endangered marine turtles. On nesting periods of the marine turtle "Paslama" Lepidochelys oliveacea) you can observe up to 20,000 turtles on a period of four days. During the day you can take a boat tour nearby, where marine turtles can be seen mating. With a bit of luck you can see dolphins or even whales on some periods of the year. Another tour you can take is to "Bolanos" island on the boundaries of Costa Rica and Nicaragua, a sanctuary for frigate birds Fregata magnificens) and other marine birds like pelicans. You can climb to the nesting sites and observe the brooding of different kinds of birds.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely!!”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Really beautiful and scenic, there are a few restaurants nearby as well, but it doesn't feel busy or touristy, it's just right! And beautiful!! Really beautiful, one of the loveliest beaches we saw in Nica.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank vana31198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parque_Maritimo, Gerente at Playa Coco, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Vana:

We are pleased to know your stayed at Playa el Coco was enjoyable. We hope you come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    7
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Topanga, California
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Lovely swimming beach -- restaurants surly service - bring food!”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Love this beach... great waves and clear sand in all directions. This is a relaxing place to spend a day or many. It is known for turtles, but they have not come yet this year. There is a restaurant on the beach associated with the Turtle Sanctuary, but the food was weak, they got our orders wrong twice, and they had a surly attitude. We are going back today but bringing our left over red curry thai rice noodles with!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank maracujagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parque_Maritimo, Gerente at Playa Coco, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Maracujagirl:

We are pleased you have enjoyed you stay at Playa el Coco. I have already explained to the waiters their attitude towards the guest. Unfortunately, at this time it is difficult to find out who was the waiter that served you. I will continue supervising their service. I hope you come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“PlayaCocoHolidays”
Reviewed 10 May 2012

My boyfriend and I recently got home from a 2 week vacation in Nicaragua. We enjoyed many parts and beaches in Nicaragua but our stay at Playa Coco was definitely our most memorable. We stayed in a condo on the beach owned by Jim "Jersey". He rents rooms or a whole vacation rental which are both fantastic. Luxurious without being too much like a resort. All the amenities you could possibly need for a virtually private beach. The prices are amazing (especially compared to the states). It's beautiful, clean and there is even a swimming pool with a view of the ocean. Jim is awesome and is very familiar with the area and the locals. We had so much fun getting to know the local people who live in the tiny village set back from the beach. We even took a fishing trip on a local boat which was super fun and beautiful. Again, very reasonably priced. We will definitely be back next time we are in that part of Nicaragua! Only next time I hope we will have more time to stay!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Minsly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Gorgeous beach”
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We spent the day at Coco beach boogieboarding, and just relaxing on the beach. We were the only people there! It was paradise - I would return there in a heartbeat.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parque_Maritimo, Gerente at Playa Coco, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear James B:

We are pleased you have enjoyed you stay at Playa el Coco. I hope you come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed 22 February 2011

Wow - what a great secluded beach. This beach is a gem and we stayed with "Jersey" at a complex called Playa Coco. He was very hospitable and we rented 2 of his bedrooms in his 4 bedroom Townhome right on the beach. We stayed 2 nights and basically had the complex to ourselves. Paradise......

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank JayNYC64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Playa Coco also viewed

Puerto Cabezas, Northern Atlantic Autonomous Region
Nicaragua, Central America
 
Bluefields, Southern Atlantic Autonomous Region
San Rafael del Sur, Managua Department
 

Been to Playa Coco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing