We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going Downhill”
Review of Art Hotel Managua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Art Hotel Managua
Ranked #27 of 50 Hotels in Managua
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 13 October 2011

I've stayed at Las Palmas on and off over the last four years, making it my first and last evening in Managua so as not to stay at the airport. Ownership changed this last year and I must say its gone downhill. Used to have a nice continental breakfast of fresh fruit and scrambled eggs. Now it is difficult to get coffee. Seems like they let the cooks go. As there is no place within walking distance, this makes it pretty limiting. And the pool was really dirty last time I was there, so no place to take a dip to cool off after a hot day of travel.

Room Tip: Something in the back, away from the street.
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank erzulie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelbeneficial, Manager at Art Hotel Managua, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2011

According to your October review, you stayed with us in Feb. 2011. With seven months having passed, it's hard for us to pinpoint the staff who were on duty to investigate the issues.

We offer a full breakfast included in the cost of the room. Full means a complete breakfast cooked fresh which includes, depending on what the guest requests, pancakes, gallo pinto, ham, eggs, cereal, orange juice, hot coffee, tea, milk, bread, etc. It's much better than a continental breakfast that the prior management charged $5 for. We are not sure why you could not find someone to help you with breakfast as we are staffed 24 hours a day and the morning staff are the ones who cook up the food for the guests.

As to the pool, our water is chemically balanced with standard recommended levels of acid and chlorine. After a heavy rain, sometimes dirt from the nearby plants wash into the pool. This is nothing to be concerned about though and we try to vacuum it when this happens. Our pool is opened and being used by guests for both day and night swimming.

Since you travel to Managua often, we hope that you'll give us another chance. Remember, if you have a problem at the hotel, always ask for the manager. Only the guests sleep in the rooms, so if they don't alert us to situations, we can't fix them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
There are newer reviews for Art Hotel Managua
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2011

What a breath of fresh air from other places I have stayed at in Managua. With the hotel being small (number of rooms) there is a more personal attentiveness to your needs. The staff works hard at making you comfortable and helping with any of your needs. Some staff members do speak English which is most helpful as well as the owner. Internet connect was great. Air condition outstanding and yes actually hot water. Breakfast is made to order to accommodate your request.
Wonderful and enjoyable place to stay.

Room Tip: Call to confirm reservations and if you require a taxi.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Redbear21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelbeneficial, Manager at Art Hotel Managua, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2011

Thanks for giving us a positive review. We try to make the hotel as comfortable as possible so guests feel at home. Hopefully if you're even in town again you'll stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

This is a small hotel with 12 rooms inside the main building and a few rooms across the street. Because of its size, they pretty much let you do what you want so a midnight swim with drinks is accommodated.

This hotel is one of the few that doesn´t charge the 15 percent tax. Even on Expedia and the other booking engines, tax gets added at 15 percent for managua hotels, but expedia only charges $1 or $2 for tax to cover the admin fee. Book at the hotel, taxes all included as well.

The staff are very helpful and nice.

Ethernet wired internet are in every room and wifi reaches most rooms. Wifi is in the lobby and by the pool.

Breakfast is made to order which is unusual for it being included in the cost.

Snacks and beverages are available at convenience store prices $1 for a soda or juice $1.25 for a local beer. Chips $1 to $1.50.

Tìp: Telephone calls from the lobby are 20 cents a minute to the USA and Canada. That is much cheaper than using a cell phone.

Room Tip: Couples should book the King for a few dollars more they are larger rooms
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank honey40921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelbeneficial, Manager at Art Hotel Managua, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2011

Thanks for staying at our hotel and giving us a good review. We try to keep our prices as low as possible while retaining quality service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

A nice little hotel for a decent price that gave you everything you needed. Internet at no additional cost, pool anytime you want, drinks and snacks, staff 24 hours, free breakfast very good, clean rooms.

Next to the Park Las Palmas which is nice for a morning jog.

TIP: Ask the staff to help you get a cab and they´ll negotiate the price with the driver for the best rate, $1.50 to $2.50 anywhere in the city. Don´t use dollars, use local currency, the hotel will change for you at a rate just a little more than the bank charges. DO NOT USE THE CHANGE BOOTH AT THE AIRPORT, ITS A 20% VIG!!!

Room Tip: The hotel will upgrade you to a King if they´re empty and you ask.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank howard732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

You know, Im a investor of this hotel. Yet I had never been there. So I decided to take atrip, secretly. I must say I had a great time while visiting. Everything was the way I had hoped it would be, one bonus was the beer they served me. Since I have gone now, some ask me. Well how was the trip. All I can say is, " Cant wait to go back, the room and people were awesome". When I return to Hotel Beneficial next month, the staff will think 'm just here4beer, lol. But it's gonna be because I care as a loyal Investor. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank here4beer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2011

Stay away from here! Bas customer service! We were trying to call to confirm my resercation and we waited and waited only for them to hang up on us! The person did not want to come to the phone to speak to us. When we finally got in touch to confirm the reservation, he told us he was all booked. This place is a joke, stay far away if you are looking for GOOD CUSTOMER SERVICE!

Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
3  Thank vvivas2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelbeneficial, Manager at Art Hotel Managua, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2011

We apologize for the late response to the incident and we apologize for the trouble you had on the phone. We note that the guest you made the reservation for did arrive at the hotel and we did have his room as agreed. He stayed with us during his entire stay and we hope he was satisfied with the service he received.

The person we believe was responsible for the poor phone service is no longer with us, but we suggest using email for international hotel reservation confirmations. Rest assured that anyone booking a room on our website or via one of the prepaid commercial travel agents will have their reservation honored. We suggest that a copy of the reservation be brought, but we can always find it if you left it at home.

Again, sorry for the misunderstand and we're glad that the guest did make his way here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

Stayed here for 3 days and was astounded at the level of service and kindness from the staff. Many worldwide hotel chains could learn a thing or two at this hotel. I have been through hundreds of hotels worldwide and all I can say is It was a pleasure to stay at this hotel.
Matt
USA

Room Tip: Ask for a room nearest the court yard.
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mpk218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Managua hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Mozonte
Hotel Mozonte
#24 of 50 in Managua
328 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Los Cisneros
Hotel Los Cisneros
#46 of 50 in Managua
42 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel La Posada del Arcangel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel La Pyramide
Hotel La Pyramide
#6 of 50 in Managua
363 reviews
3.9 mi away
Barcelo Managua
Barcelo Managua
#8 of 50 in Managua
399 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel San Luis
Hotel San Luis
#23 of 50 in Managua
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Hotel Managua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Hotel Managua

Address: Estatua de Montoya, 3c. al oeste, 1 1/2 c. al norte | Parque Las Palmas, Managua, Nicaragua (Formerly Hotel Beneficial Managua - Las Palmas)
Region: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 50 Hotels in Managua
Price Range: £24 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Art Hotel Managua 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms have air conditioning, private bathroom, natural gas powered hot water shower, ethernet cable, cable TV, clock radio. Included in your rate, no matter what agency you book through, is a full free breakfast. Wifi is available throughout the hotel. We have two lobby computers that guests can use. Airport pickup in a car is available for $14.75. Airport dropoff in a car is available for $11. If you need a van or truck for a pickup, please contact us for pricing. To arrange a pickup, we need your flight information emailed to us. If your plane is late, we wait. Our lobby is open 24 hours. Guests checking in on later flights can request a 2p.M. Checkout at no additional fee. We are located one block away from Parque Las Palmas. The hotel is 1 kilometer from the tourist district that includes the Lake Managua tourist area (Malecon), the Presidential Palace, the National Theatre and other landmarks. The hotel is about 1 kilometer from the Interplaza Mall and 3 kilometers from MetroCentro Mall. We have a swimming pool, big screen television in the lobby, and make refreshments (beers, cold sodas, and snacks) available 24 hours a day. Our rates include a full free breakfast, not just a piece of toast, like most hotels. We have a cafe that offers light meals throughout the day (grilled cheese, french fries, pasta, chicken, etc.). We welcome all people from all places and try to make everyone feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Art Hotel Managua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing