We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and quiet.”
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #46 of 50 Hotels in Managua
Managua, Nicaragua
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good location and quiet.”
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Suggested to me by a taxi driver at the airport after the driver of one of the "deluxe" hotels made a call for me to his hotel. Of course, despite the fact that the hotel was virtually vacant,(I would find this out when I had dinner there later.) they could only find a 180+ suite for my poor soul.
Upon arrival at the Palace, l I found the receptionist to be very friendly and the driver had mentioned the close proximity to places that I might like to eat. TGIF Fridays is across the street and the Galeria and other places are about 1 USD away. The room was ok and was clean. The a/c was good except for no temperature control and I got exercise changing channels as the tv was similarly equipped.
The pool was not so dirty that I could not swim and they seemed to be making an effort at keeping it clean. It is small but adequate for a cool dip. I'm just sayin' but if one is bothered by the company of insects in the water in a tropical area...I am not sure what to say.
Anyway, I paid 58 USD per night including tax, drank across the street and had some pretty good food up the road at the Galeria Santo Domingo. I would stay there again based on the friendly and helpful staff and the owner who was very accommodating and even let me leave some baggage in her office while I traveled on my motorcycle. They do have more economical rooms (40USD maybe more with tax not sure) if you ask nicely. I wanted to be poolside so I got the 50 USD plus tax.
I would recommend this hotel to adults who don't want to go hostel and want to be close to some comforts. Folks with kids would probably like it to as the pool area seems a good place for kids to run around and the pool is not too deep. Peace

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roncon09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    8
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
1
1
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Only stayed 1 night , we chose the suite, with tax $103, I think we were the only people there. Felt like a beer before going out for dinner they asked me for the money to send an old man to the local shop for a 6 pk, the bar is now defunked.The rooms and beds are old, the breakfast toast, jelly & coffee, but was offered rice, beans,egg, coffee, Ok fine. As we paid the bill the lady owner appeared and and instructed the male receptionist to charge 5 cordoba (25cents) for the 3 eggs we had at breakfast.This is a hotel on a very fast decline...

Room Tip: To Get The Best Stay Else Where
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank chippy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Managua hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2010

This place was nice 20 plus years ago or that what it looks like. Dirty, 20 year old beds, a pool that is so dirty you cannot see your hand under water and rooms stink like an ashtray. I complained about the non functioning internet, as told they were fixing it and did nothing for 2 days. Seems this place has turned into a place to bring woman back from a bar down the street. Seems the owner hasnt invested a cent in this place for years and the few staff are scared to pass any complaints onto him. Dont bother many other great options, Le chateau cost me about the same and it was spectacular.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Oracle_Group
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piedmont North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2008

We stayed at this hotel on the suggestion of a friend from Masaya and also the owners of Ivania's Hotel in Masaya. It is located near the commercial downtown area of Managua and convenient to the shopping center where there are stores and restaurants. A short taxi trip takes you to the shopping center or to the airport. The hotel is located directly on a main thoroughfare, and we feared street noise. The rooms, however, are located behind the main part of the hotel and no noise penetrated. There is a very nice pool, by Central American standards. The room was spacious, the bed was comfortable, and the breakfast (included) was ample and served poolside. The room had an efficient, remote-controlled air-conditioning unit. The room for two cost approximately $68 US per night.

  • Liked — Comfort and convenience
  • Disliked — Location directly on a main highway
  • Stayed December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank phil2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Managua hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Central Park
Hotel Central Park
#34 of 50 in Managua
13 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Seminole
Hotel Seminole
#14 of 50 in Managua
200 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Los Pinos
Hotel Los Pinos
#27 of 50 in Managua
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Managua
0.7 mi away
Hotel Aloha
Hotel Aloha
#31 of 50 in Managua
82 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Contempo
Hotel Contempo
#10 of 50 in Managua
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Property: Ambassador Hotel
Address: Km. 5 Carretera Masaya | frente a parqueo Casino Pharaohs, Managua, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 50 Hotels in Managua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ambassador Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ambassador Hotel in the center of the new Managua Our location is your solution , our hotel has 36 room ( Economics , Standard , Executive and Suites) With a bilingual reception 24 hours , less than 800 meters financial centers , nightclubs , restaurants , casinos. We accept all major credit cards . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Booking.com so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing