We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“about to change management”
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #45 of 50 Hotels in Managua
Reviewed 13 February 2013

This hotel was conveniently located next to the Pharoh´s casino and offered ample space for me to pace around without leaving the premisis. A good thing because Managua is supposedly quite rough on Gringas.

The regular rooms are very spacious and I assume that the executive wing was more so. The complimentary breakfast was not remarkable but served with grace and welcome. The staff were very accomodating ... we had messengers arriving at 4Am and ran in and out at non conventional hours.

The worst part about the hotel was the internet installation was spotty and not available in my room.. However, this family owned hotel, is in the process of changing hands to the next generation. the young man who will manage it was very saavy and was in fact living in the hotel to get the feel of it... worth a try.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank didreyfus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (16)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2013 via mobile

this hotel is an on again off again place. it closes for a while then reopens. so make sure its open when you stay. its right next to the solid gold adult club and you can stagger home drunk without worrying about driving. now i dont know how they will react if you bring one of those solid gold girls in with you. i doubt they would mind.

i didnt dare go in the pool. it was having a bad week.

the rooms arent the freshest in town and are a bit musty. its not horrible but its could use some dehumidifiers.

so its not a palace and its not for kings but this is managua and the adult club next door made it worthwhile for my two say stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bennysjets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Suggested to me by a taxi driver at the airport after the driver of one of the "deluxe" hotels made a call for me to his hotel. Of course, despite the fact that the hotel was virtually vacant,(I would find this out when I had dinner there later.) they could only find a 180+ suite for my poor soul.
Upon arrival at the Palace, l I found the receptionist to be very friendly and the driver had mentioned the close proximity to places that I might like to eat. TGIF Fridays is across the street and the Galeria and other places are about 1 USD away. The room was ok and was clean. The a/c was good except for no temperature control and I got exercise changing channels as the tv was similarly equipped.
The pool was not so dirty that I could not swim and they seemed to be making an effort at keeping it clean. It is small but adequate for a cool dip. I'm just sayin' but if one is bothered by the company of insects in the water in a tropical area...I am not sure what to say.
Anyway, I paid 58 USD per night including tax, drank across the street and had some pretty good food up the road at the Galeria Santo Domingo. I would stay there again based on the friendly and helpful staff and the owner who was very accommodating and even let me leave some baggage in her office while I traveled on my motorcycle. They do have more economical rooms (40USD maybe more with tax not sure) if you ask nicely. I wanted to be poolside so I got the 50 USD plus tax.
I would recommend this hotel to adults who don't want to go hostel and want to be close to some comforts. Folks with kids would probably like it to as the pool area seems a good place for kids to run around and the pool is not too deep. Peace

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roncon09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Only stayed 1 night , we chose the suite, with tax $103, I think we were the only people there. Felt like a beer before going out for dinner they asked me for the money to send an old man to the local shop for a 6 pk, the bar is now defunked.The rooms and beds are old, the breakfast toast, jelly & coffee, but was offered rice, beans,egg, coffee, Ok fine. As we paid the bill the lady owner appeared and and instructed the male receptionist to charge 5 cordoba (25cents) for the 3 eggs we had at breakfast.This is a hotel on a very fast decline...

Room Tip: To Get The Best Stay Else Where
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank chippy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2010

This place was nice 20 plus years ago or that what it looks like. Dirty, 20 year old beds, a pool that is so dirty you cannot see your hand under water and rooms stink like an ashtray. I complained about the non functioning internet, as told they were fixing it and did nothing for 2 days. Seems this place has turned into a place to bring woman back from a bar down the street. Seems the owner hasnt invested a cent in this place for years and the few staff are scared to pass any complaints onto him. Dont bother many other great options, Le chateau cost me about the same and it was spectacular.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Oracle_Group
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2008

We stayed at this hotel on the suggestion of a friend from Masaya and also the owners of Ivania's Hotel in Masaya. It is located near the commercial downtown area of Managua and convenient to the shopping center where there are stores and restaurants. A short taxi trip takes you to the shopping center or to the airport. The hotel is located directly on a main thoroughfare, and we feared street noise. The rooms, however, are located behind the main part of the hotel and no noise penetrated. There is a very nice pool, by Central American standards. The room was spacious, the bed was comfortable, and the breakfast (included) was ample and served poolside. The room had an efficient, remote-controlled air-conditioning unit. The room for two cost approximately $68 US per night.

  • Stayed: December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank phil2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2016, travelled on business
Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Managua hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Brial Plaza
Hotel Brial Plaza
#38 of 50 in Managua
10 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Casa Real
Hotel Casa Real
#21 of 50 in Managua
44 reviews
2.9 mi away
Art Hotel Managua
Art Hotel Managua
#27 of 50 in Managua
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Mozonte
Hotel Mozonte
#19 of 50 in Managua
339 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Seminole
Hotel Seminole
#14 of 50 in Managua
207 reviews
17.2 mi away
Hotel El Conquistador
Hotel El Conquistador
#44 of 50 in Managua
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Address: Km. 5 Carretera Masaya | frente a parqueo Casino Pharaohs, Managua, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 50 Hotels in Managua
Price Range: £50 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ambassador Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ambassador Hotel in the center of the new Managua Our location is your solution , our hotel has 36 room ( Economics , Standard , Executive and Suites) With a bilingual reception 24 hours , less than 800 meters financial centers , nightclubs , restaurants , casinos. We accept all major credit cards . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing