We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Managua Backpackers Inn
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
“Nice place”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Compared to other places I've stayed in Nicaragua this one was definitely 5 star. The staff was courteous and the rooms/bathrooms were clean.
I stayed in a small room with a friend and slept very well.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EricaNBenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    76
    58
    22
    30
See reviews for
4
52
90
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

The hotel is quite clean, practical and the staff is quite friendly. The room was large, with AC and a fan, and we even had hot water, a treat in Nicaragua! And the airport shuttle is efficient, patient and cheap!

Room Tip: Choose a room with A/C! A happy resite from Manaugua's heat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank centroja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

Hostel was ok. Nothing too fancy and good if you just need it for a bed. The staff spoke English but weren't overly helpful. There were no maps of Managua or Nicaragua. Very simple. I am sure I could have stayed somewhere better.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuliaWent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayo7121, Owner at Managua Backpackers Inn, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Hi JuliaWent, Sorry to hear that the Hostel did not completely meet your expectations. Since you stayed here, we've made sure that local and Nicaragua maps are posted on the wall and that copies are always available to guests when needed. Hopefully we'll see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

There was a date mixup for my taxi pickup so it never arrived, but they gave me a refund.

The rooms are clean, but there are a lot of mosquitoes in there and in the bathroom. No mosquito nets.

It's an okay place to stay for a night or two.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcolt06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Overall, good! One of the better hostels I've stayed at! Me & a friend stayed in the female dorm during low season. It had 6 beds and it's own bathroom which is better than most hostels which have shared baths Make sure you grab all of your belongings! I did leave my glasses there and am hoping the staff will become more willing to me get them shipped. I'm willing to pay and have Fed Ex pick them up - simply need them to box and address them to me. If they don't, I can only really blame myself.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brume07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, New York, United States
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

I loved this place. The staffs are super helpful. The location is perfect - very short distance to the bus terminal and walking distance to the very big supermarket. The annex is okay, I preferred the main one on Los Robles, it has a swimming pool. Down-side is that the mattress is not all that comfortable. Oh, very hot water for shower

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kunbi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayo7121, Owner at Managua Backpackers Inn, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Hi Kunbi A, Thanks for providing us with your feedback...Since you stayed here last, we've consolidated all of our rooms in one location (the main house with the pool). Also, we've replaced many of the older mattresses that we had in stock with mattresses that are much thicker and more comfortable. Hopefully we'll see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
58 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

I took the bus into Managua expecting to be able to find something close to the station but it was dark and the area looked dangerous. I eventually found this place through the cab driver. It was completely safe and the receptionist was super helpful and friendly. There's nice lounge areas and the dorm space is good. There's a couple of acceptable places to eat just around the corner. All in all, an excellent place to crash if you're passing through.

Oh and I would definitely just book this place ahead of time--don't even bother looking for a hotel near the Tica Bus station. My cab driver stopped in a couple of nearby places and they didn't look safe at all.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bronwyn17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Managua hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Los Cisneros
Hotel Los Cisneros
#48 of 51 in Managua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel San Luis
Hotel San Luis
#21 of 51 in Managua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
2.4 mi away
Art Hotel Managua
Art Hotel Managua
#25 of 51 in Managua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Princess Managua
Hilton Princess Managua
#2 of 51 in Managua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pandora Hostel
Pandora Hostel
#3 of 65 in Managua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Bicicleta Hostal
La Bicicleta Hostal
#1 of 65 in Managua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Managua Backpackers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Managua Backpackers Inn

Property: Managua Backpackers Inn
Address: Colonial Los Robles, 3era etapa, Casa # 56 | Monte de Los Olivos, 1 cuadra al norte (lago), 1 cuadra al oeste y ½ cuadra al norte (lago), Casa #56, Managua, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 65 Speciality Lodging in Managua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Managua Backpackers Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We, the owners and staff, have created Managua Backpackers Inn to serve backpackers and budget travelers of all ages as part of our vision to offer a hostel in Managua that provides the services to support the modern traveler . Whether you're just passing through Managua at the start of your trip or if your planning on spending an extended period of time in Managua, we offer the perfect social environment for the modern traveler. We are open 24 hours/365 days and are centrally located in the heart of the new modern downtown Managua. At 'MBI', we pride ourselves on being the best option for travelers in Managua. We offer a variety of room types including private rooms and dormitories to suit any budget along with FREE WIFI and shared computers. The neighborhood surrounding MBI is very clean and secure allowing guests to explore at any time taking normal safety precautions. We are just a short walk, bus or taxi ride from all major national sights, markets, and transportation terminals. In less than 10 minutes you can walk to the MetroCentro Shopping center, cinemas, parks, casinos, supermarkets, Zona Hippos, and over 50 restaurants, bars, and nightclubs. We also offer two shared fully equipped kitchen, large swimming pool, air conditioning, CCTV cameras in public areas, Netflix movies, 7/24 airport shuttle service (must be booked in advance), FREE Pancake breakfast and much much more. We also have 'Happy Hour Everyday' FREE STUFF includes: -Swimming pool -Wireless high-speed internet -Use of shared kitchen -Netflix access -Filtered drinking water -Secure Lockers -Gas BBQ -Book exchange -All Towels and Bed linens -Use of Shared Computer Our reception staff are all local Nicaraguans and are fully bilingual and will be happy to assist you in either English or Spanish. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Managua Backpackers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Managua Backpackers Hotel Managua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing