We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay when arriving in Managua”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Managua Hills Bed and Breakfast
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed here upon our arrival in Nicaragua (for our only night in Managua). The atmosphere was very relaxed, especially thanks to the inside garden and pool, and breakfast served on the terrace in the morning was really nice. Our room was huge and clean, and they had arranged for a taxi to pick us up at the airport, so we had a smooth arrival. We would definitely recommend this place!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Eidzo0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2014

We were only here 1 night before we caught a flight to the corn islands but very enjoyable stay. They were very prompt on getting back to me with reservations and answering questions.My husband swam in the pool and I enjoyed the quiet and visited with a few of the other guest using the pool. Felt very safe when walking around and found a good pizza place close by. We had a family room with a king and queen bed. Very large,comfortable and the a/c was great! My son flew out earlier than we did and he stayed here before his morning flight. He stayed in the dorm room for $14.00 and was the only one in the room. He said it was great and they got him a cab to the airport in the morning- no problems. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mudpie47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We spent our first night in Nicaragua at Managua Hills, after arriving on an evening flight. Young Lau is a terrific owner/manager, very responsive to emails before our travels. He had arranged a driver to pick us up at the airport and deliver us to MH, which went without any problems.

Met several other North American travelers as well as expats at MH, and later in our trip our friends from San Juan del Sur told us it is also their favorite place to stay in Managua.

It's in a very peaceful section of the city. The grounds are lush with trees and shrubs, attracting birds that can be watched while enjoying a chair on the terrace outside your room or while having a drink or breakfast on the common patio area.

The room was exactly what we needed for one night, but it would serve anyone just as well if they were spending more time in Managua. The room was spacious and clean, the bed was comfortable, and the bathroom nice as well. We did use the a/c and it cooled the room nicely.

The included breakfast makes the rate charged at MH an even better bargain, because you get a hearty portion of eggs, gallo pinto, fruit, coffee, etc.

We'll certainly continue to stay at Managua Hills on future trips that require a night in Managua.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJH-SFSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I stayed here three times and it was always a good time. I stayed in the dorm room which was quite inexpensive considering the nice place they have and the pool (also breakfast was included). The Hotel is situated in one of the best areas of Managua and therefore it is really safe. Contacting the owner works perfectly and he responds straight away. They can also arrange Taxi pick ups from the airport (in case you arrive late at night). All of the staff was extremly friendly and the owner himself is a really interesting man who speaks fluently english and of course spanish and can give you a lot of information about Nicaragua (on top of that he is really good company for talking about almost any topic). A lot of expats stay in this hotel while they are visiting Managua so you always meet interesting people around there. If you want to stay in a quite, well run and really safe place in Managua you should go there! P.S: of course they also have internet and a computer for free use...

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julius W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Young Lau and his staff is doing a great job of getting you to feel like home.
Some of the rooms are very large and all have TV with a zillion channels.
It is like a home away from home: a fridge with cold drinks (no fancy service, just ask for it and they will give it to you straight from/by the fridge), internet both wireless all over the place and with a modem where you can connect with a LAN-cable, breakfast is scrambled eggs with ham, toast, rice w/beans & fruit.
If you travel with friends the terrace is a great place to hang out, and if you travel alone you might be able to meet somebody else on the terrace.

Room Tip: You might think there is no hot water in your room - but just wait and it will come. I have stayed i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

We spent our first night in Nicaragua in the Managua Hills Bed&Breakfast and we were very happy with it: The room we had (#12) was spacious, clean, and comfy. We didn't need the A/C as it was not too warm. There's no warm water for the showers, but this is common in nicaragua.
The owner Ylau is extraordinarily friendly, super helpful, and made us feel at home. His English is excellent and we therefore only needed our broken Spanish to communicate with the rest of the equally friendly staff.
All in all we had a great time at the Managua Hills B&B and would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Rebekka_Troller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Wow i have so much to say about this place that is all wonderful things but Im not sure where to begin. Beautiful place, enclosed private courtyard, with pool. Excellent clean spacious room with a very comfortable bed, cold air, hot water, and excellent staff. Very relaxing experience, in a beautiful environment for an awesome price but not on the high end of cost for all that you receive. The breakfast was off the chart of excellence and I will be returning to this place.

Room Tip: Room number 8 was awesome at the end and a little more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sassytravler95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Managua hotels
5 mi away
Art Hotel Managua
Art Hotel Managua
#29 of 50 in Managua
92 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Mozonte
Hotel Mozonte
#20 of 50 in Managua
343 reviews
1.7 mi away
Barcelo Managua
Barcelo Managua
#7 of 50 in Managua
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Hotel La Posada del Arcangel
2.5 mi away
La Bicicleta Hostal
La Bicicleta Hostal
#1 of 76 in Managua
105 reviews
2.5 mi away
Maracuya Hostel
Maracuya Hostel
#4 of 76 in Managua
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Managua Hills Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Managua Hills Bed and Breakfast

Address: Primera Entrada a Las Colinas | 2 cuadras Este y 2 cuadras Sur, Managua, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 76 Speciality Lodging in Managua
Price Range: £27 - £32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Managua Hills Bed and Breakfast-a relaxing, tropical oasis in the middle of bustling Managua. From our location in Las Colinas, one of the safest and cleanest neighborhoods in all of Managua, our guests have easy access to all of Managua's attractions, as well as the airport and all of Nicaragua's major cities via interdepartmental bus routes, the Carretera Pan-Americana Sur, and the Carretera de Occidente. Managua Hills is also perfect for either the business or casual traveler. With rates from $38.95 To $77 per night, we provide all of our guests with a hearty Nica breakfast, in-room AC, hot water, free WiFi, in-ground pool access, spacious common areas, and the level of cleanliness Westerners expect in their accommodations. Our private rooms also include cable TV and local telephone service. A mixed 9 beds dorm with fans and two bathrooms is also available. The rate including taxes is US$13.99. Breakfast is free from 7-10am. Managua Hills is a family-owned, locally operated business. The owner speaks fluent English and is always happy to help guests with travel plans and other details, and the rest of the staff is diligent and reliable. We're all proud to invite you to join the Managua Hills family on your next trip to Nicaragua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Managua Hills Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Managua Hills Hotel Managua
Managua Hills b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing