We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Nice if You Don't Get the Wrong Room”
Review of Hotel Mozonte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Mozonte
Ranked #25 of 51 Hotels in Managua
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
97 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Nice if You Don't Get the Wrong Room”
Reviewed 12 February 2013

This is a well maintained place that is attractive and clean.

Pro: Good bed. A/C does not blow directly on sleepers. Room is clean. Pool is nice. Centrally located in a nice area (lots of embassies). Quiet on weeknights.

So-So: Breakfast is a buffet. But they do not necessarily refresh it when something is gone. (Once the pancakes are eaten, there usually are no more brought out. When the fruit gets low, they just try to move the rest around to make it not look so bad.) Some days, things are missing--no juice and/or no cereal, and/or no jam and/or no butter. One day, there were none of any of those.

Con: Wifi doesn't work some evenings, although your computer/phone will show that it is connected. (My guess is that either they do not have enough bandwidth to handle the peak demand period, or (more likely) their plan has a limited amount of data that can be downloaded per day so that the service stops when they reach it.) Hot water is often just slightly warm. Can hear thumping music from somewhere on weekends. Some rooms are dungeons.

Room Tip: They have some rooms attached to the lobby area that have no outside light and would likely be noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dansktex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    87
    46
    28
    20
See reviews for
60
73
44
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chillicothe, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 4 February 2013

This is a marvelous hotel. The rooms were clean and the service was marvelous. I was with my church group and we were treated extremely well. The food was delicious, expecially the orange juice. I can't wait to visit Managua again next year and stay at this wonderful hotel. I would recommend staying there to any one traveling in that area.

Room Tip: All the rooms were great as there were 26 of staying there. I had an upstairs room that I loved for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We spent the first and last nights of our honeymoon here and were impressed. Very friendly staff, lovely clean rooms, great food and a decent swimming pool. Our flight left early in the morning and they even made breakfast for us at 5am. Its only a 25min ride from the airport and worth the journey.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank elkafish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

Good location and fine accommodation. Family-run with a caring and thoughtful ambience. Warm welcome at front desk, newly renovated and clean bathroom, with hot water (without the usual electric "suicide shower") so common here in Nicaragua and much of South America. Clean pool, nicely maintained. Great value. Personal service (driven to the airport in a very new minivan by one of the owner brothers himself - a nice touch). Breakfast adequate - we had a pretty standard Nicaraguan breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twicerich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
76 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Hotel Mozonte is a lovely accommodation in a nice neighborhood. The rooms are clean and comfortable, and the shower has ample hot water and water pressure. The breakfast is very good, and the staff are helpful and friendly. Secure parking, also. We highly recommend this as a place to stay in Managua.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guatemala
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2012

After a 16 hour bus ride from Guatemala City, we arrived in Managua at 6PM. We had to wait a little bit for the taxi we arranged with the hotel but it was fine. It is about a 5 minute drive from the El Sol/Ticabus station which was convenient for us.

The room we stayed in on the first floor was comfortable with two beds, A/C, private bathroom, and TV. We had problems with the water pressure and it wasn't very hot BUT it is Nicaragua after all! The next day it was much better. The service at the front desk was good.

I thoroughly enjoyed the pool! Great to cool off after a hot, sweaty day. The restaurant is also terrific! We had dinner, breakfast, and lunch there. Even though it was a little small, we enjoyed the food. Not only were the dishes delicious but the presentation was spectacular, too. It's perfect for just passing through Managua on your way to somewhere else where you don't have to leave to eat good food!

I would stay at this hotel again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LunaViajera59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2012

My Family (12 of us in total ) hired 3 rooms over a four week period during Christmas. We travelled a long way from Australia and were very tired by the time we landed in Managua. The Hotel Manager ensured we had Airport transportation to the hotel and were very accommodating from the start to the end. After 4 great weeks in Nicaragua, and some great chats with the staff - they actually became friends , who to this day keep in contact . It's reasonably priced , staff are great , rooms are comfortable , air conditioned , wifi ,all you really need. Highly recommend the stay .

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kitsonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Managua hotels
1.0 mi away
Art Hotel Managua
Art Hotel Managua
#24 of 51 in Managua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Posada del Arcangel
1.3 mi away
Hotel Seminole
Hotel Seminole
#8 of 51 in Managua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hotel HEX
Hotel HEX
#20 of 51 in Managua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
3.0 mi away
Barcelo Managua
Barcelo Managua
#14 of 51 in Managua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mansion Teodolinda
Mansion Teodolinda
#19 of 51 in Managua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mozonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mozonte

Property: Hotel Mozonte
Address: Residencial Bolonia. De PriceSmart 1 1/2 cuadra al Norte, Managua, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Managua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mozonte 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delight in one of Nicaragua's most precious traits: hospitality.At Hotel Mozonte we have an unbeatable location in downtown Managua.We have a wide and classy infrastructure, elegantly blended with Spanish Colonial architecture; with innovative and customized services, an ideal hideaway for the sophisticated traveler.Do not be surprised to find so many options in a small hotel. You will love the absolute flexibility of the staff and eagerness to please. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mozonte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mozonte Hotel Managua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing