We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort at a reasonable price”
Review of Barcelo Managua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Barcelo Managua
Ranked #14 of 50 Hotels in Managua
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Comfort at a reasonable price”
Reviewed 5 September 2011

They had all the eminities such as coffee maker,hair dryer,good water pressure and free WIFI. they also had an elegant restaurant with excellent service. the bedding was comfortable and the room was immaculate. We will stay there again.

Room Tip: It helps if you know someone who comes there often- the referral we were given. Helped us negotiate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Talihowell927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelo M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Managua, responded to this review, 27 September 2016
Dear Guest.

Thank you so much for your comment.

Its a pleasuere for us, to know that our guests enjoy their stay at Barceló Managua Hotel.

We hope your soon visit again.

Best Regards.,
Costumer Services
Hotel Barceló Managua
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    126
    69
    27
    19
See reviews for
64
49
23
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canton, Georgia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2011

I have stayed in this hotel 3 times. My husband and I would not think of any other place to stay when we travel to Nicaragua because we know Barcelo, Managua will be there to give us what we expect. Their good service starts by sending their van to pick us up at the airport; next is the nice clean room which includes a refrigerator, coffee maker, security box plus in my case, an EXCELLENT handicapped bathroom and of course, their wonderful breakfast buffet, sunny pool deck, gym facilities and beauty salon. We usually stay 2 or 3 weeks and when we are getting ready to leave we regret doing so because the staff is so nice and friendly we think of them as family. The only thing I would like them to change is their business center so they would offer free Internet service for their guests. At present they offer free WI but if you do not have your own computer you have to pay $5.00 dollars the hour to use one. I DON’T LIKE THAT.

Room Tip: Make your reservation with plenty time ahead
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank viamalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelo M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Managua, responded to this review, 27 September 2016
Dear Guest.

Thank you so much for your comment.

Its a pleasuere for us, to know that our guests enjoy their stay at Barceló Managua Hotel. We made some changes in our business center services, if you in another visit need to used it, just contact the front desk staff and they will help you with free Access.

We hope your soon visit again.

Best Regards.,
Costumer Services
Hotel Barceló Managua
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2011

I've stayed at the Barcelo Hotel in Managua at least 8 times in the past 18 months This last trip, however, will be my last. I was traveling with colleagues, for whom I booked rooms on Orbitz. I used them because the hotel was completely booked and Orbitz had a small block of rooms. The Barcelo unilaterally canceled my colleagues' rooms, even though I had a prepaid reservation. I received no assistance from the hotel management and was t0old to contact Orbitz. It's a shame, because the hotel is a good value but I will henceforth take my business elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cofbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nmurillo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Managua, responded to this review, 4 March 2011
Dear Guest,

We offer an apologize for the inconvenient that you had.
We would like to let you know that we are working in the improvement of our human resources by giving them training.

Thanks for the time and write this comment.

It will be a pleasure to serve you again .

Best regards,



Linda Lagos
Guest Service Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
102 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2011

I have traveled internationally one or two weeks per month for 30+ years. I went on a quick 3 day trip to Managua. A local friend booked this hotel for me. I was pleasantly surprised. The room was nice, roomy and clean. The beds were comfortable. The room had a large size plasma TV, a small refrigerator, a safe and a coffee pot. No old cigarette smell. The breakfast buffet was nice. The hotel is a bit (not much) out of the way but is on the top of a hill and gets a nice breeze. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flamo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nmurillo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Managua, responded to this review, 17 February 2011
Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure to know that you enjoy your stay with us, thank you so much for taking the time and write this nice comment.
We hope your visit again, it will be an honor to serve you and that you fell like home.

Thank you.

Best regards,



Linda Lagos
Guest Service Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2011

I stayed at the Hotel 4 days with my wife and 2 daughters 7 and 11 years old I felt so security and enjoy at maximum, at front desk Denis was really great and helpful at the restaurant the food was delicious and Roberto our waiter for 4 days was exellent, my girls enjoyed the pool, I left all my money in the safe in our room and all values and never had a problem of missing something I would recommend this Hotel to everyone and there is a Casino in front of the Hotel if You like gambling,Thanks to all the staff at hotel.
Sincerly Mr. Interiano

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrInteriano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nmurillo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Managua, responded to this review, 14 February 2011
Dear Guest,

We are really pleased and honoured that you enjoyed our services and location. Our goal is to help our guest to feel like home.

It will be our pleasure to have you with us again.

Best regards,



Linda Lagos
Guest Service Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, B.C.
Level Contributor
142 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 409 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2011

We chose the Barcelo Managua for our last night in Nicaragua because it was one of only two hotels that offered an airport shuttle service (we stayed at the other one, the Camino Real, on our first night in the country). We were disappointed with the hotel. On the positive side, they offer free internet, the room was comfortable, the pool large, and the free breakfast was excellent. Unfortunately, there are also a lot of negatives. The shuttle only runs every two hours – not particularly convenient unless you happen to get lucky with your flight times – and is considerably longer than the 20 minutes that they advertise. The hotel also has a sterile feel to it – it is isolated in the suburbs, so there are no restaurants or stores within walking distance, and it is clearly designed for business clients rather than tourists. We also noted a general pattern of rip-offs - the bar prices were triple those of other hotels in Nicaragua, and the exchange rate was considerably poorer than at other hotels. We dined in the Japanese restaurant; the dishes were again quite expensive and, while my wife’s tempura was good, my teriyaki was a small portion of tough, over-cooked chicken and boiled cabbage. For the same price, the Camino Real, with reasonably priced drinks and a short shuttle ride, is a much better bet..

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ndser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nmurillo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Managua, responded to this review, 14 February 2011
Dear Guest,

We apologize that your stay with us was not what you imagined. Let us explain to you that even we offer free shuttle service we have to set up a schedule according with the general airplanes flights in our airport and the 2 early hours staying politic.

We are located in one of the best areas in the city, with a beautiful view and the weather is not as hot as in the rest of the city. We are called and known as a Business Hotel but also we offer some amenities and a healthy and secure environment for families or couples who want to spend a relax and quiet weekend with us.

Best regards,



Linda Lagos
Guest Service Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2011

Nice hotel in quiet location. Big disappointment to find pool closed . No prior warning. Great shuttle service to airport, and friendly staff. Superb buffet breakfast included in room price.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMB7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nmurillo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Managua, responded to this review, 4 January 2011
Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure for us to find positive comments from our guests. We really
sorry for not informing about the temporary closure of the pool.

Thank you very much, we hope your visit again.


Best regards,

Linda Lagos
Guest Service Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Managua hotels
1.9 mi away
Hilton Princess Managua
Hilton Princess Managua
#2 of 50 in Managua
646 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Managua - Convention Center
2.1 mi away
InterContinental Real Managua at Metrocentro Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Seminole
Hotel Seminole
#11 of 50 in Managua
196 reviews
3.9 mi away
Art Hotel Managua
Art Hotel Managua
#25 of 50 in Managua
88 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Mozonte
Hotel Mozonte
#24 of 50 in Managua
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Managua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Managua

Property: Barcelo Managua
Address: Club Terraza, Villa Fontana 300 Mts Al Sur, Managua 505, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Managua
#13 Business Hotel in Managua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Managua 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barcelo Managua**** hotel is one of the newest hotels in the city, and was refurbished in 2013. It is located in Villa Fontana, one of the most exclusive areas of Managua, Nicaragua. An area of great ecological wealth and beautiful scenery make this hotel a truly unique place. It is the newest hotel in Managua, and is very well situated just 5 minutes drive from the city centre and 15 minutes from the Augusto C. Sandino international airport. Enjoy a perfect combination of modernity, relaxation, tranquility and good service at the Barcelo Managua hotel. Guests will find the rooms spacious, charming and elegant. The hotel also has a gym, swimming pool, 2 restaurants (one buffet and another Japanese) and a lounge bar. In addition the hotel has a modern convention and conference center, with 3 function rooms with a capacity for up to 400 people and a board room. We also offer free parking, free Wi-Fi and complimentary transfer service between Augusto Cesar Sandino International Airport and the hotel.* ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Barcelo, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Barcelo Managua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Managua Hotel Managua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing