We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Acomodations at Barcelo” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barcelo Managua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Barcelo Managua
Ranked #13 of 51 Hotels in Managua
Tegucigalpa, Honduras
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Acomodations at Barcelo”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

My trip to Nicaragua was very Nice. Staff at the hotel was great, enjoyed the breakfast that is included, it was really good.
The hotel is very well located, beautiful view to lake Managua. The rooms are very nice with all the commodities; but the rooms and specially the hall way kind of smell like tobacco. If you are sensible with the allergies I don't recommend it. Another bummer is that they charged for Internet separately.
Even though the hotel looks in excellent shape, the beds are kind of awkward.
Everything else was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelo M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Managua, responded to this review, 27 September 2016
Dear Guest.

Kindest regards.

We greatly appreciate your comments about your stay at Hotel Barceló Managua, we are very pleased to know that all the efforts of our team have been good.

We look forward to your soon visit, and we will provide you the best of us again.

Best regards.
Costumer service
Hotel Barceló Managua
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    115
    58
    23
    17
See reviews for
56
39
23
155
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tubingen, Germany
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

It was my first time in Nicaragua and I felt very well in the Barcelo Hotel. Rooms are clean and beds are excellent, however too much furniture in the room. Great brakefast, very friendly staff, nice outdoor pool and terrace. I got a really good price for the room, but internet use was charged extra and extremly high. In these days that is a "no go" in my eyes,

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Schwabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sendy T, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Managua, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Dear guest.

Thank you for your thoughtful comments. For our team is a pleasure to serve you and make your visit a pleasant and positive experience.

All comments of our guests are taken seriously, and comments like these make us work every day better. We look forward to your next visit soon.

Best regards from Managua!

Sendy Tijerino
Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

I love this hotel. I've stayed twice over the past two years. It's up the volcano from downtown areas of Managua, and many rooms have great views of luxurious foliage. Breakfasts are really great, a Barcelo hallmark. But I'm writing this as a word of warning to those who plan to stay at Barcelo properties and join the Mi Barcelo loyalty program. It is bogus. On my first stay in July 2010, the hotel staff said they would enroll me in the program. When I returned for 9 days in October 2011, they said they couldn't give me the number but assured me I was in the program. They promised to send me details. Nothing happened. So I wrote to Barcelo's offices in Spain with copies of receipts and details of my stays. Not a peep. I can only surmise that Barcelo as a company has little intent of creating a loyalty program that honors its commitments. Nice hotel but the parent company is at best irresponsible and at worst practicing deception of a serious nature.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim_Jo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelo M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Barcelo Managua, responded to this review, 27 September 2016
Dear Guest.

Kindest regards from all the staff Barceló Managua Hotel.

Beforehand, offer apologies for what happened regarding hotel loyalty program. It is a pity that nobody been able to clarify your doubts.

Actually at the time of your visit, the loyalty program was in its early stages, so we had some weaknesses in this regard.

Hopefully you will visit us soon and give you the best care and clarifications personally.

Best regards.
Costumer Services
Hotel Barceló Managua
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

We recently conducted a 3 day seminar at this hotel. The service was great. Usually at breakfast buffets you are lucky to get someone to get you coffee. Here they offered you help and with a big smile. We had 22 rooms and not one person complained about service or had problems of any kind. In fact they were surprised and commented on how good the service was.
We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view up above the 5 th floor to enjoy a view of Lake Managua as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oreo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sendy T, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Managua, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Dear Guest:

Receive a warm greeting from the Staff of the Hotel Barceló Managua and myself.

We thank you for your comments about our hotel, we're glad to know that your stay with us was excellent. all comments of our guests are taken very seriously. It is an honor to know that our efforts helped to meet their expectations.

We hope to have your visit again with us and thank you for making your choice Barceló Hotels.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

My Family and I stayed at this Hotel, with my wife and my 2 year sold , and eight year old daughter for three days , and it was very pleasant, rooms were extremely clean, this hotel has all the amenities a US hotel has, we would go to Granada since is a short drive away and come back to the Hotel.staff were extremely helpful specially the bellboys. tv had a merican local channels from miami. it felt like we were at home at a reasonable price. i'm looking forward to stay here gain in my next visit.

Jorge Navas.

Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank byron1270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Fernanda O, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Managua, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank for all your good comments about our property. We are glad you have enjoyed the time during your stay.

Now we know our hard work training all of our staff, keeping up our high standard in quality has a good productivity.

We invite you to come once again to our hotel.

Best regards,

Fernanda Ortega
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miami
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We stayed at the Barcelo Managua for a wedding that weekend. Hotel had everything you could ask for and more. Staff were extreme helpful in getting us around. Rooms are clean, pool is great and the morning buffet is really good. If you are looking a place to stay and your on a budget, I will consider Barcelo Managua.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ripler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Fernanda O, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Managua, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Thank you for your thoughtful comments. For our entire Staff is a pleasure to serve you and make your visit a pleasant and positive experience.

We hope to see in your next visit.

Best regards from Managua!

Fernanda Ortega.
Guest Service Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaHave, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

We stayed here twice (once for 4 days) and though it can be 30 minutes (or more in rush hour) from the airport, the travel time is well worth it.
On both occasions we were treated like royalty and given upgrades. The front desk staff were extremely helpful (even having medications delivered to the hotel).
There is a free shuttle to the airport every couple of hours but the service does not operate in the late evening or night.
Considering the 5-star service and room quality, the price was not exorbitant ($80 plus taxes for a double) and compares favourably to hotels of similar class.

Room Tip: Pool side rooms have a better view but can be a little noisy if the pool area is being used for a la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tacklow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Fernanda O, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Managua, responded to this review, 17 March 2012
Thank you for your thoughtful comments. For our team is a pleasure to serve you and make your visit a pleasant and positive experience.

We hope to see in your next visit.

Best regards from Managua!

Fernanda Ortega.
Guest Service Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Managua hotels
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Managua - Convention Center
2.2 mi away
Hilton Princess Managua
Hilton Princess Managua
#2 of 51 in Managua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
2.0 mi away
InterContinental Real Managua at Metrocentro Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Seminole
Hotel Seminole
#12 of 51 in Managua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
6.7 mi away
Globales Camino Real
Globales Camino Real
#4 of 51 in Managua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mozonte
Hotel Mozonte
#22 of 51 in Managua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Managua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Managua

Property: Barcelo Managua
Address: Club Terraza, Villa Fontana 300 Mts Al Sur, Managua 505, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Managua
#13 Business Hotel in Managua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Managua 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barcelo Managua**** hotel is one of the newest hotels in the city, and was refurbished in 2013. It is located in Villa Fontana, one of the most exclusive areas of Managua, Nicaragua. An area of great ecological wealth and beautiful scenery make this hotel a truly unique place. It is the newest hotel in Managua, and is very well situated just 5 minutes drive from the city centre and 15 minutes from the Augusto C. Sandino international airport. Enjoy a perfect combination of modernity, relaxation, tranquility and good service at the Barcelo Managua hotel. Guests will find the rooms spacious, charming and elegant. The hotel also has a gym, swimming pool, 2 restaurants (one buffet and another Japanese) and a lounge bar. In addition the hotel has a modern convention and conference center, with 3 function rooms with a capacity for up to 400 people and a board room. We also offer free parking, free Wi-Fi and complimentary transfer service between Augusto Cesar Sandino International Airport and the hotel.* ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Barcelo, Prestigia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Barcelo Managua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Managua Hotel Managua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing