We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Saty”
Review of Barcelo Managua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Barcelo Managua
Ranked #13 of 50 Hotels in Managua
Minden, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Place to Saty”
Reviewed 8 November 2012

I have stayed here three times and each time was a great experience, My good friend Bob Oettinger reviewed it elsewhere negatively, but I think that his was a fluke. I have always found the staff to be accommodating. The facility is immaculate, the breakfast is great (eggs cooked to order and large selection of everything else), super little restaurant down the hill, huge pool overlooking Managua and Lake Managua. It was also convenient for me because I was going to the Pacific beaches. The internet service for me was as good as U.S., my needs are simple laptop first time, iPad thereafter. I have stayed at the upscale Seminole downtown and it was very good but at a much higher price point. I have never had a problem with reservations, hope they have that straightened out for the rest of you. If you like to gamble, there's a casino on the other side of the parking lot.

Room Tip: There are sometimes parties/receptions at the pool in the evening. Never bothered me, but if these t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MindenJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sendy T, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Managua, responded to this review, 16 November 2012
Dear Guest.

We greatly appreciate your comment. We are delighted that your stay was a success and we have many positive comments from you.

We hope to have again honored by your visit soon and keep providing the best care.

Best regards,

Sincerely

Sendy Tijerino
Guest Relations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    135
    72
    30
    22
See reviews for
70
56
25
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denton, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

This hotel has the worst internet system and service of any I have ever used and web access is expensive to boot. Its software allows only one device per room, so that you can only use one phone or one computer, but not both at once. It also drops any device from the web when the keyboard is inactive for a few minutes, requiring many slow log-ins. Otherwise, the in-hotel restaurants (one specializing in sushi/Japanese food) are very good. The staff is excellent. Don’t stay here if you intend to do business over the internet and phone in Managua and are not willing to pay a large surcharge for extra devices.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sendy T, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Managua, responded to this review, 31 October 2012
Dear guest.

Kindest regards from all the staff of the hotel.

We appreciate the time spent to write your comments about your stay.

Comments like these help us to improve the quality of the services we offer to our guests.

Our job is to constantly improve the quality and customer service, the opinions of our guests are of real importance.

We hope your visit again, will be a pleasure to serve.

Thank you very much.

Attentively
Sendy Tijerino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Stayed at this location for the first time and was not disappointed. The hotel is well appointed, has excellent customer service and very clean rooms. Location is a bit outside of the downtown area so you will need to take a taxi to most locations.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerraWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sendy T, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Managua, responded to this review, 31 October 2012
Dear customer,

I appreciate your comments, it is comforting to know that your stay was pleasant and the effort of our staff was positive.

Our main goal is to exceed the expectations of our customers, so we prepare every detail to make your stay an unforgettable experience.

We hope to have you as our guest soon and provide you the most attention.

Best regards!

Sincerely.
Sendy Tijerino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Nice hotel, very roomy, breakfast not so good but I had good meals during lunch time (not at the buffet). I had problems when checking-in AND checking-out. First one of the rooms that we had reserved was not confirmed by their system, second they had our reservation all wrong and didn't even know that we had granted free wi-fi internet at the moment we made our online reservation, third they wanted to charge us more than the value of the reservation. Probably I would go back there, but I would be a lot more careful with their online reservation system.

Room Tip: Make sure your reservation is confirmed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FernandaThome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sendy T, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Managua, responded to this review, 5 October 2012
Dear Guest:

Receive a warm greeting from the staff of the Hotel Barceló Managua.

Thank you for taking time to answer the survey on Trip Advisor, it is great opportunities to get the feed backs from our guests and take action to improve all our services.

Please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience that you have during your stay.

We hope you give us the opportunity to serve again ito improve the discomfort suffered on your last stay.

Thanks again and I hope we can serve you soon at the Barceló Managua.

Sincerely,

Sendy Tijerino
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

I stayed here a few years ago but just found this site. I had a HORRIBLE experience at this place and would not return if they paid ME!!!

I made reservations online for 4 days but got sick on my 2nd day there. I decided to check out and return to Managua and made it to the desk 5 minutes after the check-out time. No problem; rules are rules and I only asked for a 1 day refund rather than 2. The run around I got from the 2 Receptionists was astounding. They insisted I might want to return even though I told them I was extremely sick and this would never happen. After 30 minutes of arguing with these people I decided to leave and pursue the matter through my bank. I was too sick to stand there and argue with these idiots over something that was irrefutable.

Unfortunately, my bank would not cancel the charge to my credit card and made me fill out forms and go through a process to get reimbursed for the 1 day. I filed the paperwork but was traveling internationally a lot at the time and something was missed so I was never reimbursed for the 1 day.

Nice clean resort, but these people will rip you off in a heartbeat. If a business cannot be honest and fair with me, they lose my business for life.

Room Tip: Avoid at all cost!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Absolutely N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sendy T, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Managua, responded to this review, 31 October 2012
Dear Customer,

Receive a warm greeting from the staff of the Hotel Barceló Managua.

Thank you for taking time to answer the survey on Trip Advisor, it is great opportunities to get the feed backs from our guests and take action for changes some things in the service procedure .

Please accept our sincerest apologies for all the inconveniences all inconveniences occurring during your stay in Hotel Barceló Managua.

We hope you give us the opportunity to serve again in the near future to improve the discomfort suffered on your last stay.

Thanks again and I hope we can serve you soon at the Barceló Managua.

Sincerely,
Sendy Tijerino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Very nice hotel. Great escape from the city of Manaqua which is dirty and depressing, unlike the rest of the country. Nice pool, very helpful staff, comfortable clean rooms. Not too far from the airport. Would stay again if I ever go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pink8LongIsland_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sendy T, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Managua, responded to this review, 5 October 2012
Dear guest.

Receive a fraternal greeting from all the staff of Hotel Barcelo Managua.

It's nice to know that all the efforts made to provide good care to our guests have not been in vain.

We greatly appreciate your comments, and motivates us to continue working with great care.

Best regards,

Sendy Tijerino
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

When looking for a business hotel in Managua, there are still not too many options. But the Barcelo Managua is one of the few properties that should meet all of your basic business hotel needs.

The Barceló is not located within walking distance of anything so if you want to eat, shop or go out for the night (other than the casino across the parking lot), you will need to take a taxi. However most of the places are just a few minutes away by taxi.

We upgraded to the suite after taking a brief look at the standard room. While the basic room was clean and completely serviceable, the moderate increase in the price for a suite made the larger room, separate sitting area, spacious bathroom and small kitchen area worth it.

The hotel carries many amenities that could be useful and/or relaxing - a small but modern gym, a large pool with a very nice view of the city and the lake beyond, car rental, plethora of meeting space, and an office center.

We ate at the onsite Japanese restaurant and were treated to some delicious sushi. The breakfast buffet was not interesting although they did have the standard continental breakfast items along with a few nicaraguan items (i.e. gallo pinto, etc.).

Across the parking lot from the front entrance is a casino. While the signage has bright lights, the casino itself felt unobtrusive. I went there at night and it was fairly empty with just a few basic table games and some slot machines.

The service from various staff members was prompt and friendly - pretty much what you would expect from this level of business hotel. It would be hard to go wrong here.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bt_mpls_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sendy T, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Managua, responded to this review, 5 October 2012
Dear guest.

Kindest regards from me and the entire staff of the Hotel Barceló Managua.

We are pleased to know that you had a pleasant service during your stay, as this motivates us to continue performing our work efficiently.

We greatly appreciate the time taken to write so appreciated comment. We hope to soon have the opportunity to have your visit.

Best regards.

Sendy Tijerino
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Managua hotels
1.9 mi away
Hilton Princess Managua
Hilton Princess Managua
#2 of 50 in Managua
663 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Managua - Convention Center
2.1 mi away
Real InterContinental Managua at Metrocentro Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Art Hotel Managua
Art Hotel Managua
#25 of 50 in Managua
90 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Managua
6.4 mi away
Globales Camino Real
Globales Camino Real
#4 of 50 in Managua
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Managua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Managua

Property: Barcelo Managua
Address: Club Terraza, Villa Fontana 300 Mts Al Sur, Managua 505, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Managua
#13 Business Hotel in Managua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Managua 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barcelo Managua**** hotel is one of the newest hotels in the city, and was refurbished in 2013. It is located in Villa Fontana, one of the most exclusive areas of Managua, Nicaragua. An area of great ecological wealth and beautiful scenery make this hotel a truly unique place. It is the newest hotel in Managua, and is very well situated just 5 minutes drive from the city centre and 15 minutes from the Augusto C. Sandino international airport. Enjoy a perfect combination of modernity, relaxation, tranquility and good service at the Barcelo Managua hotel. Guests will find the rooms spacious, charming and elegant. The hotel also has a gym, swimming pool, 2 restaurants (one buffet and another Japanese) and a lounge bar. In addition the hotel has a modern convention and conference center, with 3 function rooms with a capacity for up to 400 people and a board room. We also offer free parking, free Wi-Fi and complimentary transfer service between Augusto Cesar Sandino International Airport and the hotel.* ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Barcelo, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Barcelo Managua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Managua Hotel Managua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing