We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place - Great Location”
Review of Hotel Los Pinos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Los Pinos
Ranked #23 of 50 Hotels in Managua
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I've stayed at Los Pinos a number of times and every time was great. It's in a great, safe residential neighborhood, within walking distance to Zona Hippos, which is the American-style pub (think - good food and drinks), and other dining establishments. Thankfully, right around the corner is a well-stocked pulperia (little convenience store). The pool looks great, although I never brought my swim trunks. The rooms have a/c, cable flatscreen tv, and hot water. Breakfast in the morning is nice and filling. All in all, great place to stay in Managua.

Room Tip: I believe Peace Corps now houses its volunteers at Backpackers/Manahuac, so dealing with uncouth alc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sogai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2014

THE HOTEL - Los Pinos is a ~15 room bed & breakfast located in the middle of Managua. It is a short walk from the main thoroughfare (Carretera Masaya) but located in a residential section so it is fairly quiet most of the time. The owners were very friendly. Reservations are made through email and a credit card was not required to hold the room. The owner responded quickly to each email I sent and was very polite. The rooms were clean and comfortable with a TV, a good air conditioner and nice bed. We were given a family room instead of a two-person room since they had availability. The breakfasts consisted of made-to-order eggs, toast, juice, and coffee. All of the staff were friendly. This hotel is a very good choice if you don't want to do the "Americanized" CrownePlazaHolidayInnIntercontinentals of the city. I would go back, especially considering the cost compared to the chain hotels.
THINGS TO DO NEARBY - We walked from the hotel to restaurants, the main avenue, and a casino. There are restaurants within 5-10 minutes' walking distance of the hotel spanning the range from expensive (for Managua) steak/chicken places to TGI Fridays to cantinas to sports bars to Irish pubs with weekend bands. There is a pulperia (Nicaraguan "mom and pop" store) around the corner from the hotel that has many basic grocery items. While prudent to take regular traveler precautions (pick pocketing, cars have the right-of-way) we never felt ill-at-ease while going around the neighborhood or city itself.
THINGS TO DO IN MANAGUA - Highlights were the city plaza, lake front park on the weekend, and going to the nearby national park at the volcano in Masaya (25 minute drive). There is also a new mall with all of the usual US-influenced stores and a movies theater (1 1/2 miles from the hotel). The city has a park at Tiscapa Lagoon where you can go zip lining for $15. There is also a large market called Huembes (mercado Roberto Huembes, a 10-minute taxi ride away) where hundreds of vendors sell everything from shoes to toys to crafts to meat to coffee to souvenirs, etc. We were the only tourists there the day we went. Getting around is easy as taxis will practically stalk you as you walk around. The honks mean they are available and all fares are pre-negotiable. Hotel to the mall was $4, Huembes $5, and the airport $17. All in all an interesting place to visit. 2 days was sufficient to see all of the sites.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HuskerAV8R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Really enjoyed staying here with a group. It is airconditioned, each room individually. There is hot water via "suicide showers." Bottled water is available for purchase. Jose at the front desk was most helpful with lots of different arrangements. Breakfast decent. I stayed upstairs, it is probably warmer but I didn't want to be by the pool. It seems very secure, the gate is locked. Would recommend headlamp or flashlight for walking around after dark, there are lots of holes and broken sidewalks. There are several nearby restaurants you can walk to.

Room Tip: Think twice before staying right by the pool unless you intend to be up pretty late and up early in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelprincess2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Los Pinos is located in a very quiet area of Managua, where you feel really safe walking to the many restaurants close by. Simple but very clean and comfortable! Very helpful and friendly staff and José, the owner, speaks perfects english and will help you organize anything you want: tours, printing documents, recommend restaurants, shops. Great home made breakfast, and because we were a big group, they cooked great food at night for us too! Highly recommended!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank Holking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights at Easter 2013. The hotel is in a very pleasant and safe area of Managua. The staff are delightful and the owner was helpful and knowledgeable when asked about the history of the area some 40 years ago! There was some noise one night from young Americans around the pool but they eventually left after midnight but don't let that deter you; this place is a real find. A good breakfast is provided and I was given directions to a restaurant some 10 minutes away for dinner but I never did find it. The hotel will send out for takeaways if required. The hotel gardens are lovely.

Room Tip: I loved my upstairs room overlooking the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bathwanderer_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2013

Very inexpensive prices, super awesome breakfast, the rooms are super clean. The staff very warm. The owner Jose is amazing. Very informative and speaks English. A little bit of noise in the middle of the night due to some young Americans, the staff asked them to respect the rest of the guests but they continue. But overall it is an amazing place to stay. LOVE IT

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angie2780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Stayed here for last night of holiday.
Room comfortable & clean enough but had a very poor night's sleep due to lots of noise from seating area by pool/pool.
Sadly some noisy American Peace Corps youths gave no consideration to other hotel guests & talked/splashed about in pool till approx 3am keeping everyone who had ground floor room by the pool awake. It was disappointing the hotel staff did nothing about this.
Breakfast was fine (pancakes tasty).

Room Tip: Avoid room 11 which, in addition to being by pool area also opens directly onto breakfast area. Ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doofer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Managua hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Los Robles
Hotel Los Robles
#16 of 50 in Managua
151 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Colonnade
Hotel Colonnade
#33 of 50 in Managua
25 reviews
0.4 mi away
Elements Hotel Boutique
Elements Hotel Boutique
#24 of 50 in Managua
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Mozonte
Hotel Mozonte
#19 of 50 in Managua
343 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Pyramide
Hotel La Pyramide
#6 of 50 in Managua
370 reviews
1.7 mi away
La Posadita de Bolonia
La Posadita de Bolonia
#27 of 50 in Managua
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Los Pinos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Pinos

Address: Lomas de San Juan, Calle San Juan No. 314 | Gimnasio Hercules 1c. Al Sur, 1/2c. Al Este, Managua 14036, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 50 Hotels in Managua
Price Range: £50 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Los Pinos 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL LOS PINOS welcomes you to live the experience of an enjoyable and relaxing atmosphere. We are located in the new urban development of Managua in a secure and quiet residential area in the center, a few minutes away from historic places of the old down town, and important commercial, entertainment, education and business centers.We have created for you spacious interiors, comfortable rooms, green gardens, coffeteria and terrace areas next to the swimming pool where you can relax as if you were in paradise. We garantee you that you will feel at home especially because our staff will focus on treating you with personalized attention. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Los Pinos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing