We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exquisite hotel with impeccable service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Boutique Villa Maya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Boutique Villa Maya
Ranked #9 of 51 Hotels in Managua
Certificate of Excellence
Rockville, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exquisite hotel with impeccable service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

The Hotel Boutique Villa Maya is very close to urban Managua. i was in a single; a large airy room, with a lovely bathroom and shower. Absolutely as clean and pristine as a brand new facility. I had a beautiful view over a clean pool, with greenery and lots of flowers. They provide a Spa-like atmosphere with quiet staff and prompt service. Internet accessibility is a plus. Great coffee and food. The only place to stay in Managua!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    32
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
35
49
23
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

From the reservation booking to my stay checkout the VIlla Maya delivered personalized attention, care assistance and comfort.

Under owner/proprietor Vilma Barriento's careful watch, from arranging pick up at MGA to getting us out for dinner at Ole Verde (certainly one of the top restaurants in Nicaragua and with Vegetarian as well as Vegan dishes, my favorite).

Mercedes, Orlando and Carlos (the desk staff took care of laundry on short notice and always had a libation n hand when I was ready to take a break.

The grounds are private and lovely.

The pool was the perfect escape for afternoon heat (not intolerable at all, but much easier to take when you can dunk in a cool pool).

The Internet connection made Skype and email a snap and there is a small client computer/printer to grab those eticket and early check in docs.

The kitchen staff made fresh juices whenever requested and I got hooked on Vilma's vegan tostada with a fried cilantro crush served on top. Breakfast fruit plates (eggs and such for those who eat them) made the start of the day easy.

Located in North Central Managua, this ranks as a great relaxing escaope for business or tourist travelers.

I look forward to a return trip

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thom h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

We have stayed in Managua many times. The stay at the Hotel Boutique Villa Maya was the best. The location is in an upscale, very quite residential area. The hotel is beautiful and the rooms are very comfortable. The service is beyond great. The staff spoke excellent English.

Room Tip: We stayed in two different rooms. Both were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013

nice place with pool and beautiful garden.
but: awful expensive taxi service. they only call their own cab driver and tell you, that you dont have to pay hiim. but later on your bill it will appear. we payed 40 dollars for a airport pick up.
3 times more than the normal price. for all driving around in 1 day we payed 130 $ !!!
very bad attitude.
Also no food, although it tells this.
I can't recommend this place.
or: when you go there, please don't use there taxi service. !!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank tommystark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

I have been travelling to Nicaragua for many years and have finally found a great place to rest while in Managua before travelling north to Esteli. I stayed two nights-- one upon arriving and the other before I departed Managua for the USA. Both nights were terrific- -I was warmly greeted by both Nestor and Orlando. The rooms were beautifully decorated and impeccably clean. The bed was substantial and comfortable. The tile work in the bathrooms was exquisite. Everything was fully functional and the lights were ample. I especially liked the reading lights above the beds that were recessed in the ceiling- -very cool! Something I apprecated was the discount given if I paid in cash. The breakfast was yummy with a good presentation. Villa Maya serves excellent organic coffee at breakfast which is strong but not overwhelming. Honestly, I cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scrappy9232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

My family stayed three weeks in The Hotel Villa Maya (December 2012 to Jan 13). Coming from Ireland defenetely it is a real treat to be able to enjoy the weather, beautiful food having our breakfast in the garden listening to all kind of species of wild birds. Luis and Vilma Mendez (owners) are on top of every detail in giving the most service and comfort to their guests staying at the hotel They are a fantastic couple. Orlando, Manager at the hotel is a real gem. He makes sure you are happy and help you with any questions, tasks, appts. or tours, he is there for you. We can wait to go back and see them all.

Room Tip: All rooms are geeat
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

Overall this place is beautiful, clean, and friendly. Tucked away in a semi-remote, nicer part of town. Quiet and secluded. The only reason I didn't rate this higher is that we were misled about a variety of things. First, the transportation costs to and from the airport were extremely expensive in comparison to other expenses related to this trip. They charged us $20US per person for transportation. With 4 people in our group that adds up quickly. The confirmation email I received from the hotel stated $20 total for transportation. Everywhere else in Nicaragua (e.g. Granada, etc.) the transportation costs, averaged about $40US for our entire group roundtrip. Second, when we arrived at the hotel the gentlemen at the desk told us the kitchen was closed and that we had to request food more than 3 hours in advance. He recommended a place that was within walking distance of the hotel but after making the journey down there we found out it was closed. We had no other options for food until dinner except chips and snacks from the local market. When we went to place our order for dinner (3 hours in advance as requested) we were told that the chef was not available tonight and we would have to make other arrangements for dinner. We were recommened an excellent steakhouse called Porterhouse which was about 2 miles from the place so it required more transportation costs. Again this place is beautiful but it is a bit out of the way and the transportation costs (which were more than the costs of our rooms) left a sour taste in my mouth.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Managua hotels
2.8 mi away
Hotel Los Robles
Hotel Los Robles
#10 of 51 in Managua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
5.2 mi away
Barcelo Managua
Barcelo Managua
#14 of 51 in Managua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Pyramide
Hotel La Pyramide
#5 of 51 in Managua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Globales Camino Real
Globales Camino Real
#4 of 51 in Managua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
3.2 mi away
InterContinental Real Managua at Metrocentro Mall
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Managua
Hyatt Place Managua
#1 of 51 in Managua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boutique Villa Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boutique Villa Maya

Property: Hotel Boutique Villa Maya
Address: | Residencial Las Colinas, Segunda Entrada, Managua 14199, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 51 Hotels in Managua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Boutique Villa Maya 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Boutique Hotel in Managua. The rooms remodeled colonial house with a beautiful tropical garden and swimming pool. It counts with a total of nine private rooms, all with private bathrooms, water heated with solar energy, air conditioning, TV with cable, wireless internet, working desks, alarm clocks, telephones, security boxes, etc. Some of them have their own private balcony that opens to the garden and/or swimming pool. The hotel: An Oasis in the city. Our location is ideally for everybody: We are steps away from the city but not in the city! So if you have business downtown, it is a 10 min drive. But if you want to enjoy nature, have a tranquil time to relax and be pampered, Villa Maya is the perfect place. We are close to national attractions (Volcan Masaya, 10 min drive, Granada, 30 min drive) and local malls, shops and the best restaurants (Galerias Santo Domingo) in Managua just 5 min away. The owners: We are a mature couple with over 30 years together. Vilma is an artist from Guatemala and Luis is a lawyer from Nicaragua. Both met and studied at UC Berkeley in the Bay Area in California. Our goal is to provide a boutique hotel option for Managua giving a personalized service to all of our guests while ensuring that our operations are respectful with the environment.*Breakfast a la carte ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Boutique Villa Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing