We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unreal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Contempo Hotel Boutique
Ranked #21 of 51 Hotels in Managua
Certificate of Excellence
Roatan, Honduras
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unreal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2013

This was the best hotel I've stayed at in Central America and actually, most places around the world! Staff were friendly, rooms were unbelievably comfortable (ahhh that bed!). Food was incredible from the restaurant. The price can't be beaten... I have paid double the amount for 1/4 of the experience. Well done Hotel Contempo, keep up the fantastic work!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avanloo1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    46
    9
    2
    5
See reviews for
34
75
16
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
188 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

Third world country? I don't think so...this hotel blew my mind. Boutique, contemporary and shockingly modern it was fantastic from check-in through complementary breakfast on departure. Loved the bar area and service complete with an airport shuttle for a nominal fee. Room was luxuriously appointed and a welcome treat after the jungle. Morning shower was not as hot as we had hoped, but after reminding ourselves it was Nicaragua, we got over it. And will be back.

Room Tip: Am told every room is unique so be sure to ask questions to get the amenities, setting, bed you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusieQpacific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

This is a hidden gem in the hustle and bustle of Managua. The modern Boutique style hotel was a welcome oasis for us for one night before returning to Canada. It happened to be New Years Eve. The rooms were most comfortable and the staff very helpful and accomodating. we had the best breakfast of our whole trip there, and a swim, befor the free shuttle took us to the airport. Congratulations Himie and Marlon. keep up the good work. DB.

Room Tip: Rooms 12 and 13 were most comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMB7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairport, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

It was our last night in Nicaragua, so we thought the romantic escape deal with dinner and massages would be a fun way to spend the night (particularly because you don't want to wander around Managua at night!). The room was very nice and "romantically" decorated (although one of the candles holders on the floor got kicked and we had to clean up the glass).
Anyway, the massages never materialized. We waited all day, and after many vists to the desk, the best they could suggest was that maybe the masseuse would show up after 8 pm...maybe. So, they gave us a $25 credit. It would have been cheaper to get a standard room with jacuzzi and just order off the menu. Not a big deal, but a little disappointing.
Also....the one public computer does not have a printer attached to it, so we couldn't print boarding passes after checking in on-line. The result was an extra hour in line at the airport just to get boarding passes.
Very clean and modern property. Nice little pool, friendly staff, and the chef at the restaraunt was apparently professionally trained. We had an early flight out the next day, and they were happy to put togther a breakfast to go for us.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Distrito Federal, Mexico
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2012

This is a great hotel. It looks as if it was a huge house in an upscale neighborhood that was turned into a hotel. Overall, the place looks high quality and it is. The rooms are nice and big and well decorated. The lobby is modern, and the food is great. They even pick you up fro the airport for free and offer a hotel taxi service to take you anywhere you want. Pleasantly surprised by this place. The only negative: wifi internet service did not work well in my room (the signal was poor).

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2012

The staff are amazing! Very helpful and polite. Room was clean and very 'contempo'. Was only there one night while in transit to LCI, but will definitely stay again and have mentioned it to others as a hotel they should visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliefahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

We spent 3 nights there. The staff was very attentive and helpful. It's a beautiful property. Check-in and out went smoothly. My sister missed her flight. The hotel sent a shuttle to pick her up at the airport and were very helpful in booking her for an extra night. The shuttle driver was also helpful in making stops along the way to the ATM and the mall.

We don't speak Spanish so it was a bit of a problem for us. Most of the staff have no English. Including the waiters and waitresses at the restaurant so communication was a problem for us.

The hotel is not centrally located. You will need a car if you stay there. There was a Hertz office in the lobby.

It looked liked rooms 1 - 14 have been recently renovated. Those rooms are very nice. The others room were not renovated. My sister got one of the unrenovated rooms when she stayed an extra night. She described it as "disgusting". She said the water did not get hot and the room looked dated. So be sure to book one of the renovated rooms.

I gave the hotel 4 stars instead of 5 because of the isolated location and the lack of English speakers. This won't be a problem if you speak Spanish and plan to rent a car. We were told that the hotel was 10 minutes from downtown by car.

Room Tip: Room 1 - 14 look to be recently renovated. Room 13 was very roomy and at the end of a walkway so ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teaharbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Managua hotels
4.3 mi away
Elements Hotel Boutique
Elements Hotel Boutique
#22 of 51 in Managua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hilton Princess Managua
Hilton Princess Managua
#2 of 51 in Managua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
4.5 mi away
InterContinental Real Managua at Metrocentro Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Managua
Hyatt Place Managua
#1 of 51 in Managua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Los Robles
Hotel Los Robles
#11 of 51 in Managua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
5.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Managua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Contempo Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Contempo Hotel Boutique

Property: Contempo Hotel Boutique
Address: Carretera a Masaya, Km 11 | 400 metros al Oeste, Residencial Las Praderas, Managua 14293, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 51 Hotels in Managua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Contempo Hotel Boutique 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Contempo is a luxury boutique design hotel unique in Managua, Nicaragua. It's the perfect place to enjoy a cosmopolitan experience with style, intimacy and a distinctive warm service. Our 24 stylish rooms, all with different designs inspired by Nicaraguan themes, boast distinctive elegance and the feel of a private residence, intimate and comfortable. The acclaimed Restaurante Azul located inside Contempo offers a unique culinary and visual experience that inspires your senses. Our chef uses organic local ingredients to bring out the best flavors in our dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Contempo Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing