We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“they did everything right” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Contempo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Contempo
Ranked #18 of 51 Hotels in Managua
Certificate of Excellence
moorefield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“they did everything right”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2013

Everything about our night at Contempo was great. The service and reception from
the begnning to the meals, to the quiet room, to the shuttle service to the airport...everything was done just right. We will stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marisombra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    46
    9
    1
    5
See reviews for
34
74
16
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
miami
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013

One year later: the manager acknowledged the screw up from my first visit and gave me a $100 credit. Last month I basically filled the hotel with guests for my wedding. The entire staff was flawless. Service was incredible. Food was outstanding. Two small events were handled without a single problem. Every one of my 30 guests was very impressed and loved the place.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank termnalvee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013

Returning late from Esteli, I needed one night in Managua to catch an early flight the next day. I used Trip Advisor and found Hotel Contempo. What a delight. From the kind welcome and check in to the very cool 'one of a kind' rooms with all the great amenities I was so impressed. Then I had the best filet mignon I had tasted while in Central America in their very posh yet reasonable restaurant. I finished off my evening enjoying a 'Janneson' world class cigar from Esteli by the secluded poolside. This property could easily be a winner alongside South Beach hotels in Miami. I will always plan a day or so at Hotel Contempo on all my trips through Managua.

Room Tip: Look at a few, they are all unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thebestlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

My husband and I live on the beach in Nicaragua, but every time we have to go to the city, we treat ourselves to a night at Contempo! It is a very well-run hotel with an excellent staff and service. The rooms are immaculate, the beds are soft, the pool is terrific, and all of the amenities are great. The restaurant is delicious - try their stuffed french toast for breakfast! We rate this hotel very high, and not simply for Central America, but for anywhere in the world!

Room Tip: Each room is unique! Many of the rooms have a few stairs separating the sitting room from the sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BelleCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roatan, Honduras
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2013

This was the best hotel I've stayed at in Central America and actually, most places around the world! Staff were friendly, rooms were unbelievably comfortable (ahhh that bed!). Food was incredible from the restaurant. The price can't be beaten... I have paid double the amount for 1/4 of the experience. Well done Hotel Contempo, keep up the fantastic work!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank avanloo1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
188 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

Third world country? I don't think so...this hotel blew my mind. Boutique, contemporary and shockingly modern it was fantastic from check-in through complementary breakfast on departure. Loved the bar area and service complete with an airport shuttle for a nominal fee. Room was luxuriously appointed and a welcome treat after the jungle. Morning shower was not as hot as we had hoped, but after reminding ourselves it was Nicaragua, we got over it. And will be back.

Room Tip: Am told every room is unique so be sure to ask questions to get the amenities, setting, bed you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusieQpacific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

This is a hidden gem in the hustle and bustle of Managua. The modern Boutique style hotel was a welcome oasis for us for one night before returning to Canada. It happened to be New Years Eve. The rooms were most comfortable and the staff very helpful and accomodating. we had the best breakfast of our whole trip there, and a swim, befor the free shuttle took us to the airport. Congratulations Himie and Marlon. keep up the good work. DB.

Room Tip: Rooms 12 and 13 were most comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DMB7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Managua hotels
4.5 mi away
InterContinental Real Managua at Metrocentro Mall
4.3 mi away
Hilton Princess Managua
Hilton Princess Managua
#2 of 51 in Managua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Managua
Hyatt Place Managua
#1 of 51 in Managua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.8 mi away
Gran Pacifica Beach and Golf Resort
4.1 mi away
Hotel Los Robles
Hotel Los Robles
#11 of 51 in Managua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
5.8 mi away
Globales Camino Real
Globales Camino Real
#4 of 51 in Managua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Contempo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Contempo

Property: Hotel Contempo
Address: Carretera a Masaya, Km 11 | 400 metros al Oeste, Residencial Las Praderas, Managua 14293, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 51 Hotels in Managua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Contempo 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Contempo is a luxury boutique design hotel unique in Managua, Nicaragua. It's the perfect place to enjoy a cosmopolitan experience with style, intimacy and a distinctive warm service. Our 24 stylish rooms, all with different designs inspired by Nicaraguan themes, boast distinctive elegance and the feel of a private residence, intimate and comfortable. The acclaimed Restaurante Azul located inside Contempo offers a unique culinary and visual experience that inspires your senses. Our chef uses organic local ingredients to bring out the best flavors in our dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Contempo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing