We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Happy that this Hotel is in Managua”
Review of Hotel Contempo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Contempo
Ranked #15 of 50 Hotels in Managua
Certificate of Excellence
El Transito, Nicaragua
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So Happy that this Hotel is in Managua”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

This is my 5th time staying at this wonderful hotel. Love that they pick me up from the airport or take me there. The food is excellent as always and I was impressed that the waiter remembered my food allergies that I had mentioned to him from my last stay. I have always recommended this hotel to any friends who are coming into Nicaragua and need a place to stay. The staff is excellent always courteous and ready to listen to your requests.
The grounds are very calming and a joy to explore.

Room Tip: go online and view the room selection, the decor is different in every room and it is always excitin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jan7994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silich, Gerente at Hotel Contempo, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Jan
Thanks for your comments, knowing what our guest expect from us is very important, we are glad to meet your expectations, you can always come to Contempo and relax.

Best regards
Daniel
Reservation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    50
    9
    2
    5
See reviews for
38
78
16
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Campbell River, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 November 2013

October 2013, Seven days stay on business, the very helpful and friendly staff, above-average accommodations and excellent food service made our time at the Contempo very enjoyable. The themed rooms are an interesting take on a 4 star accommodation. Minor issues with internet and key cards were addressed by staff and easily overlooked given the totality of the positive experience. We hosted a meeting at the hotel on short notice and the staff put everything together for us with efficiency and allowed us to have a successful function.They were busy putting the spa area together and that promises to offer additional features to a great hotel. Easy access to a major roadway, part-way to Masaya, put us in close reach of everything we needed. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leon, Nicaragua
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Excellent staff, perfect service and lovely place!!! I was looking for a great hotel because we have to go often in Managua and El Contempo is really the best!!
This place is quiet, peaceful and really beautiful!!! Rooms are very comfortable and clean!
The French restaurant Azul became one of my favorite place in Managua. You have to try the meat!!!!
Everything was perfect and I want to to thank you especially Marlon who is the best concierge I never seen!!!
See you soon!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Sandrine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richland, Washington, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

When you stay somewhere your first impression is developed when you are greeted by the staff. We were met at the airport late at night by the hotel driver. He was very friendly and contacted the hotel that we were on our way. The restaurant was going to close so we were offered dinner which we order from the car. At our arrival we were greeted by a very friendly gentleman at the front desk and taken to our room immediately and dinner arrived within minutes. The next morning we explored the hotel, the grounds were beautiful! We had breakfast and the waiter and waitress were very friendly. The food was amazing. We hired the hotel driver for the day and we had a wonderful day driving around Managua. We went to other areas of Nicaragua but before leaving we returned to Contempo. The staff remember our names and the smiles and friendliness was the best of any where in Managua. Dinner at Azule was some of the best food we experienced on our trip. Just make sure and save room for dessert! We are all ready planning a trip back in the spring. Hotel Contempo will be our first and last stop. The beds are so comfortable I felt I was at home. The room was clean and very comfortable. Thank you Daniel (the singing concierge), Stephano, Linda, Juan, Fransico, and all the others that made our visit outstanding!!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Deb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, VA USA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Excellent setting, service, staff, restaurant (Azul) great food!
Staff is very cordial, friendly, informative. Managers going out of their way to make me feel as a king. French Kitchen cheff a great asset to this hotel among other staff members!
I recomended to those visiting Managua either on vacation or business travels.
WiFi available, beautifully kept gardens, etc...
Enjoy your time in Managua Nicaragua
I will stay again at Contempo!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Ont
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We had the pleasure to stay, probably for the tenth time, at our favourite hotel in Managua with what we feel is the best restaurant in Nicaragua. Everything was wonderful as always, but this time they went above and beyond their usual level of excellent service. A shuttle had been booked to go to the airport for an early morning flight. The car was five minutes late and my husband, who has turned in to a somewhat nervous traveller, was doing back flips. With a minimum amount of fuss another car and driver was produced and we were whisked to the airport, encountering the other car one minute from the hotel. Thank you so much hotel and staff.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Overall a good stay. Being led straight to the room from the taxi was a nice touch. Complimentary juice in the afternoon was also appreciated. Breakfast was tasty. Splurged on the jacuzzi room, but the jets quit after a few minutes, and it's not too convenient to reach the front desk when you're already in the tub. Wifi in the room was a bit spotty and having to relogin with username and password every time to access it quickly became annoying. Woke up early due to construction on a neighboring room. Avoid the car service offered for extortionate rates. Hope this is helpful.

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank d m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Managua hotels
3.0 mi away
Barcelo Managua
Barcelo Managua
#12 of 50 in Managua
361 reviews
4.5 mi away
Real InterContinental Managua at Metrocentro Mall
5.8 mi away
Globales Camino Real
Globales Camino Real
#4 of 50 in Managua
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hilton Princess Managua
Hilton Princess Managua
#2 of 50 in Managua
658 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Managua
Hyatt Place Managua
#1 of 50 in Managua
409 reviews
28.8 mi away
Gran Pacifica Beach and Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Contempo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Contempo

Property: Hotel Contempo
Address: Carretera a Masaya, Km 11 | 400 metros al Oeste, Residencial Las Praderas, Managua 14293, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 50 Hotels in Managua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Contempo 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Contempo is a luxury boutique design hotel unique in Managua, Nicaragua. It's the perfect place to enjoy a cosmopolitan experience with style, intimacy and a distinctive warm service. Our 24 stylish rooms, all with different designs inspired by Nicaraguan themes, boast distinctive elegance and the feel of a private residence, intimate and comfortable. The acclaimed Restaurante Azul located inside Contempo offers a unique culinary and visual experience that inspires your senses. Our chef uses organic local ingredients to bring out the best flavors in our dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Contempo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing