We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Most Surprising Hotel Ever”
Review of Hotel Contempo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Contempo
Ranked #12 of 50 Hotels in Managua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 January 2011

I have a friend who has been raving about this hotel for months... He goes to Nicaragua for a week or so every month and is extremely picky so I knew that it had to be something special but still I was very surprised by my first visit. I met a friend for lunch and the manager graciously took me around to see numerous rooms in the hotel and all were different and beautiful, some having private courtyards with outdoor jacuzzi's others had other amenities but each room I was shown seemed to be amazing in its own way. I made a 2 night reservation for the following week and the experience was as good as I hoped. The restaurant even went way out of their way to make our dinners memorable, roses decorating our table arranged, just so, and other thoughtful touches. When I needed something, they didn't say "sorry, we don't have that" they went out and got it for me, showing up at my door with it shortly....

No photos or videos I have seen can do this place justice. Honestly, I never expected to find a hotel of this caliber in Nicaragua.

The staff were fantastic, the restaurant really was really good, food presentation awesome, the rooms comfortable and beautiful, and the hotel overall simply amazing .....

Possible Negative? The hotel is in a residential neighborhood which is 20 minutes or so outside of Managua but that is the only downside that I can possibly see.

I can absolutely recommend this hotel without reservations!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tammynnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelContempo, Director Comercial at Hotel Contempo, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2011

Dear guest,
We are thankful of your review for Contempo. Our main goal is to surprise our guests with outstanding service and hotel facilities, and we are happy to achieve this goal with you. All the staff reads the guests reviews and feel motivated and pleased to know their work is valued by the guests. Thank you again for your candid comments.
Paola Romero

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (220)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

172 - 178 of 220 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2011

This is a great boutique hotel. I loved the landscaping and a great personnel.
I stayed at room 3 Volcan, its a nice room but there is a little problem, the shower which is all glass, the door do not locks well and water runs all over the room. a bit dangerous if one is not careful. Otherwise, the place is impecable.
I will love to staying there again next time I visit Managua.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gmendoza1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2010

Beautiful hotel with an excellent attentive staff. The hotel has an excellent restaurant as well.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimshorts30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2009

Wow. I don't know where to start! I was very impressed with this place! There is NOTHING like it in Managua and in the country of Nicaragua, that's for sure! Daniel in reception was amazing with helping me out with details for surprising my husband for a birthday night-away. All of the staff was extremely nice and the over all first impression was excellent! The rooms were spotless and we were treated like gold! The rooms are super funky and have a great feel to them. I would HIGHLY recommend this place to anyone who wants a romantic night away or for business.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eelmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2009

This hotel opened just a few months ago and I read about it in a NYTimes travel review and then went to their website www.hotelcontempo.com to reserve a room. The hotel looks/feels exactly like it does on the website...everything is sleek, clean, modern and calm/soothing. Lots of natural light, fountains and great landscaping. This is a boutique, local hotel...so much more unique and comfortable than the Hilton or Incontinental. The staff is very well trained...they all remember your name, remember what you had for dinner last night and ask if you you want to try something completely different or have the same. The director of the hotel, Bernardo, originally of Cuban descent, speaks english with a British accent and feels like your great-uncle you look forward to seeing at every family event. The food/menu is sooooo yummy. There are several really great and affordable options on the menu..for the appetizers, I recommend the beef carpaccio or salmon with cream cheese and scallion rolls. For the main courses, the salmon with lenguado [another fish] or the corvina [another fish] are really good. For breakfast, the nicaraguense [scrambled eggs with cheese tomatos and onions, rice and beans, and tortillas is delicious, healthy and filling.
The only downside is that it is 15minutes outside of the city [which could be good if you don't want to be in downtown Managua...but if you have meetings downtown and need to be there during rush hour, you need to allocate/plan for extra time]

I have stayed here twice, and each time I wish that I could recreate the experience everywhere I travel [and I travel a lot!] Enjoy!!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AbbyBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank matteo m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Contempo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Helio S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Contempo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Managua hotels
3.0 mi away
Barcelo Managua
Barcelo Managua
#8 of 50 in Managua
411 reviews
4.5 mi away
Real InterContinental Managua at Metrocentro Mall
4.3 mi away
Hilton Princess Managua
Hilton Princess Managua
#2 of 50 in Managua
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Globales Camino Real
Globales Camino Real
#4 of 50 in Managua
596 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Managua
Hyatt Place Managua
#1 of 50 in Managua
503 reviews
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Managua - Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Contempo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Contempo

Address: Carretera a Masaya, Km 11 | 400 metros al Oeste, Residencial Las Praderas, Managua 14293, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 50 Hotels in Managua
Price Range: £83 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Contempo 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Contempo is a luxury boutique design hotel unique in Managua, Nicaragua. It's the perfect place to enjoy a cosmopolitan experience with style, intimacy and a distinctive warm service. Our 24 stylish rooms, all with different designs inspired by Nicaraguan themes, boast distinctive elegance and the feel of a private residence, intimate and comfortable. The acclaimed Restaurante Azul located inside Contempo offers a unique culinary and visual experience that inspires your senses. Our chef uses organic local ingredients to bring out the best flavors in our dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Contempo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing