We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Managua, Nicaragua”
Review of Hotel Dulce Hogar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Dulce Hogar
Ranked #12 of 76 Managua B&B and Inns
Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Managua, Nicaragua”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Very well Located...... rooms are clean, cable TV and air conditioned.
The staff are super nice and helpful.
Won't regret staying there.

When ever I go the Managua..... this is my home.
The owners name is Nelly......

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank PokerHy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    11
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
5
16
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida, United States
1 review
Reviewed 8 September 2013

I am continually looking for savings, but I will not sacrifice the “must haves” of our days such as cleanliness, WiFi, good food, and easy access to the city.

I found this place meets, and surpasses by far my expectations not only when it comes to my room but all the communal areas such as the hallways, the restaurant, and its bathroom.

They have a very efficient, and independent air conditioning system which is essential during the month of June here in Managua.

The staff is friendly, and truly bilingual, and there is a family feeling in the air with other guests, and even with the taxi drivers which are readily available within minutes of a phone call.

But the truly amazing, and totally unexpected is that they have massage therapy on site!, and the masseuse is well versed in the practice of Yoga, and meditation techniques.
What a treat!, this was supposed to be a business trip but it turn into a very pleasant, and healing experience.

But I saved the best for last! The food! Oh yes, the food! If you are like me, and like healthy food you will also be in heaven after you tried the delicious optional vegetarian food.

I am looking forward to my next trip to Nicaragua, so that I can enjoy this wonderful place again, which I selfishly hope remains a secret so that it wont be spoiled by success like many others.

Room Tip: Ask for the vegetarian food, and other treats.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luis_Cabezas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hialeah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 April 2012

If your looking for luxury this is not the place to go but if you are looking to feel you are at home you will be in the right place! The room was very clean, awsome hopitality, there was sitting room where I could recieve my friends as if I were in my own house. The price was just perfect for my limited budget. Any other place for that price would probably be a dump. Oh! and breakfast is included too! great delicious tipical breakfast, Gallo Pinto Eggs ham coffee orange juice, and free internet use. I have read some of te reviews posted that are negative and honestly I think they were probably looking for upscale not comfy. I felt like I was in my own home and it I felt I was in my own house attending my guest's You should check it out. I will definitaely go again! This is where I spent my honey moon

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

I strongly recommend this hotel if you want a peaceful nights sleep in a cool, clean and safe family style place. The service was excellent. Breakfast was served per individual request and made with fresh products...no instant boxes here. It is a safe haven in the middle of a busy city. All familiar channels were available on the TV too.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are the best. Hot and cold shower available with phones in each room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esmeralda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ypsilanti, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We had a restful time at this family owned and operated hostal. The service was courteous and the place was clean, with telephones, a\c and hot water in the room. We plan on stay Hostal Dulce Hogar again when we go back to Nicaragua.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank javier a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

I stayed here based on the good reviews it had received but was very disappointed. Staff were NOT friendly at all and laughed and smirked at my basic - Intermediate Spanish. There was a trickle of warm water in my shower but only if you held the hose in a particular way. The room wasn't serviced at all during my stay leaving me to make my bed and empty my bin - not what I would expect for $40 a night! It is also out of the city centre (despite them assuring me when I booked that it was very central) - it wasn't! There is also nothing of much interest in the vicinity (except rundown shops etc) and gnarly locals. Overall not a pleasant experience and I wouldn't recommend.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Itzapa-Itzapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2011

This is a nice hotel if you're looking for a safe place to stay in Managua! The staff is very friendly, there's good breakfast (freshly prepared), and it is quiet. We had a small twin room, with air-condition and hot shower. It was good enough, the beds were nice. We had a good sleep!

I would recommend this place for the friendly staff and the location in a safe area.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marlies84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Managua hotels
0.9 mi away
Hilton Princess Managua
Hilton Princess Managua
#2 of 50 in Managua
658 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Managua - Convention Center
2.2 mi away
Hotel Mozonte
Hotel Mozonte
#24 of 50 in Managua
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel La Pyramide
Hotel La Pyramide
#5 of 50 in Managua
359 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Los Robles
Hotel Los Robles
#11 of 50 in Managua
142 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Managua
Hyatt Place Managua
#1 of 50 in Managua
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dulce Hogar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dulce Hogar

Property: Hotel Dulce Hogar
Address: Avenida Principal Altamira No. 449 | Semaforos Gasolinera PETRONIC, 2 C y 75 Vrs al Norte. Contiguo a Pintura Sur., Managua, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Managua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dulce Hogar 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small and cozy hotel designed with the aim of satisfying your needs for a comfortable and pleasant stay in Nicaragua. We are located within a centric urban zone in the new heart of Managua. Pretty close to the well known "zona rosa." 5 Minutes away from the highway that leads to the colorful departments of Masaya, Granada, Rivas. Complimentary breakfast, free WI-FI and business center.The Hotel offers a professional alternative for stress and pain management with massage therapy and yoga practice. As well as vegetarian and delicious dishes. Enjoy a familiar atmosphere created to take care of you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Dulce Hogar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing