We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“9 of us didn't like it...”

Cocina de Dona Haydee
Ranked #10 of 345 Restaurants in Managua
Cuisines: Latin, Soups, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Nicaraguan traditional food
West Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“9 of us didn't like it...”
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

The food was deplorable and we had nine people ordering none different things. Very disappointing, as our hotel concierge recommended it. The only decent meal on the table was the beef tongue stew.

Helpful?
Thank FoodGirl101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    150
    54
    22
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lovettsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
160 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Excellent Local Food”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Had lunch with some colleagues from Nicaragua and they recommended this place due to its down home local food. Service was very good and timely, the menus are in Spanish and they also have English Menus. I had the pork with beans and rice, Cole slaw and fried plantain chips. Everyone's meal looked delicious. This place is worth checking out if your in the area.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MTCSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managua, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not very recommendable”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I did not have a good experience eating in this restaurant (medically). The food is average, the service is not so bad, but I'm not coming back again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NicaTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, service and food”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Service is good and traditional Nica food is always delicious no matter what you choose. Great atmosphere with live music and outdoor seating. Very family friendly.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pdx_treehugger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
324 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Very Good Nicaraguan Dinner”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

I was staying at the Hilton up the road so I came over here for dinner. Annoyingly, the street it's on is a one way so I had to park a little down the road by the Pharroh's Casino. The restaurant is very nice with a lot of outdoor seating and the waitstaff, especially the women, wear traditional clothing. I had a large steak which came with two sides and a salad and two beers for $14 (God bless Nicaragua). Everything was very tasty and the service was quite good. I'd definitely come back. Note: the have both English and Spanish menus.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sal_Paradise767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cocina de Dona Haydee also viewed

Managua, Managua Department
Managua, Managua Department
 
Managua, Managua Department
Managua, Managua Department
 

Been to Cocina de Dona Haydee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing