We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOTHING NOTEWORTHY”
Review of Hotel HEX

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel HEX
Ranked #21 of 50 Hotels in Managua
United States
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
“NOTHING NOTEWORTHY”
Reviewed 30 July 2012

OVERVIEW:
Hotel Express is a newly constructed hotel. Both customer service and accommodations has very limited potential, nothing noteworthy. The rooms are a reminiscence of European hotels, small and compact, utilizing all available space, thus, providing limited room to move around. It’s an adequate transit hotel if you’re only planning to use it as sleeping quarters while exploring Nicaragua. Due primarily to its favorable location, Hotel Express was the optimal choice for us at the time. However, we are most likely to stay at a different hotel next time we visit Managua.

TRAVEL DATES:
July-2012

LOCATION:
Hotel Express is located in the heart of Managua, conveniently located adjacent to a shopping mall. Managua (MGA) International Airport is approximately 20 minutes away. (MGRS Location: 16P EU 83889 – 42315) (Elevation: 365 feet)

POSITIVE NOTES:
The rooms are clean and presentable. The employees are friendly, yet, only the front desk personnel speak English. The hotel is situated adjacent to a shopping mall. Dining and shopping opportunities are easily accessible. The hotel has a uniformed 24-hour armed guard.

NEGATIVE NOTES:
Compact accommodations, both the rooms and bathrooms are extremely compact offering very limited space. The breakfast is extremely rudimentary, limited to a few selections of rice, sausage, fruits, and juices. The swimming pool is only three feet deep at its deepest point. It’s more like a kiddie pool. Our in-room safe was not properly secured, or bolted down. Therefore, anyone could have walked out with the safe along with all its contents.

AMENITIES:
Complimentary Breakfast, Free Wi-Fi; Flat Screen TV; Hairdryer; Clock/Radio; In-room Safe; On-Site Restaurant; Swimming Pool; Daily Housekeeping; Uniformed Armed Guards; Airport Shuttle.

NIGHTLY RATE:
Low $80s (tax included)

DISCOUNT ACCEPTED:
None. Booked via Travelocity for a lower rate.

HELPFUL TIP:
1) Ask for two electronic card keys. Keep one for yourself and the other one holstered in the electronic kill switch in the room to keep the AC and TV running. We like to leave the TV and AC on while we’re away, to give the room an “occupied” appearance.
2) Visit the adjacent mall for dining and shopping. They have plenty of dining opportunities which are kids friendly.
3) Avoid the rooms on the first floor at all cost. There’s heavy pedestrian traffic in the morning when all the guests are congregating in the breakfast area next to the lobby.
4) Use the complimentary airport shuttle. Ensure that you book it the night before since a lot of guest are utilizing that service.

NOTES:
Please click the green “YES” button below if you find this review helpful. Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank TravellingTroubadour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReservasHex, Gerente at Hotel HEX, responded to this review, 16 March 2015
Dear Gest

Thank you for writing about us. We hope to serve you again.

Regards

Mary Masis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    77
    36
    7
    6
See reviews for
15
36
24
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greater Cleveland Area
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

I took a large group to the hotel recently, and we thoroughly enjoyed the cleanliness (and air conditioning) of the hotel. The only negative we had was that the phone system was not working and we were charged for calling the front desk. Very strange!
Other than that, great place!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MedicalMissionary_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReservasHex, Gerente at Hotel HEX, responded to this review, 16 March 2015
Dear Gest

Thank you for writing about us. We hope to serve you again.

Regards

Mary Masis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santo domingo
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

I want to start with the positive. The hotel was super clean and that is very important to me. My problem started with a second person charge. As many times as I asked I was not given a good reason for it. The management staff are nice, but need a few classes on customer service. There is a small restaurant on site if you are to tired to go out. I would not advise using room service though, since they were unable to get my bill or order correct. The rooms are super small, but for the price I guess you cant ask for much. The neighborhood is not safe to walk, leaving the property on foot is not advised. There is a small work out room, but only has cardio equipment. The pool is small, but very romantic. If you are a business traveler traveling alone this hotel is a great options, but if its a romantic getaway or if you are traveling with your family this hotel is not the one for you.

Room Tip: if you must stay here then i suggest you pay the extra 15 dollars for the junior suite it gives you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lorenzo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReservasHex, Gerente at Hotel HEX, responded to this review, 16 March 2015
Dear Gest

Thank you for writing about us. We hope to serve you again.

Regards

Mary Masis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

This is a new hotel built in 2011. It offers free van service to the Managua airport. As such, it is a viable alternative to the Best Western Mercedes, which is across the street from the airport, but which is old and tired. The Hotel Express is about a 10 minute van ride from the airport.

Everything is new, and the hotel has all the standard amenities. I stayed here for the last night of a 14 day visit to Nicaragua. I paid $64 per night, which is cheaper than other hotels closer to the airport.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 505badgolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReservasHex, Gerente at Hotel HEX, responded to this review, 16 March 2015
Dear Gest

Thank you for writing about us. We hope to serve you again.

Regards

Mary Masis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley City, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We (wife and child) stayed there on our trip and found it to thest one can expect.Safe and friendly.
Right near the big shoppingcentre and other stores.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank friskyfrolic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReservasHex, Gerente at Hotel HEX, responded to this review, 16 March 2015
Dear Gest

Thank you for writing about us. We hope to serve you again.

Regards

Mary Masis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Bruno, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed there for our 12 day vacation and have no regrets of staying there at all, on the contrary, we'll be staying there again on our next vacation. Its conveniently located right in front of a mall that has everything you need including a super market. The staff is absolutely courteous and try to accomodate you in any way they can. The hotel is very clean and housekeeping does a good job in leaving the rooms clean. The only thing, I would'nt reccommend is a bottom floor room, it can get very noisy due to the rooms being close to the hotel lobby.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jova05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReservasHex, Gerente at Hotel HEX, responded to this review, 16 March 2015
Dear Gest

Thank you for writing about us. We hope to serve you again.

Regards

Mary Masis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livermore, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Just opened in July of this year. The wait staff were very helpful and courteous. Located near a mall, supermarket, banks, and even a Casino, making this hotel wells situated. The best this hotel had to offer was the convenience of a shuttle gratis to the airport. When I informed the front desk that our flight did not leave until 5:00 p.m. they extended our check out time until 3:00 pm. Super place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank karlafratus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReservasHex, Gerente at Hotel HEX, responded to this review, 16 March 2015
Dear Gest

Thank you for writing about us. We hope to serve you again.

Regards

Mary Masis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Managua hotels
3.8 mi away
Barcelo Managua
Barcelo Managua
#13 of 50 in Managua
376 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hilton Princess Managua
Hilton Princess Managua
#2 of 50 in Managua
663 reviews
2.9 mi away
Globales Camino Real
Globales Camino Real
#4 of 50 in Managua
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Best Western Las Mercedes
Best Western Las Mercedes
#12 of 50 in Managua
711 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Managua - Convention Center
3.6 mi away
Hotel Mozonte
Hotel Mozonte
#24 of 50 in Managua
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel HEX? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel HEX

Property: Hotel HEX
Address: in front of shopping mall Multicentro Las Americas | in front of shopping mall Multicentro Las Americas, Managua 505, Nicaragua (Formerly Hotel Express)
Region: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 50 Hotels in Managua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel HEX 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel HEX reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing