We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Totally acceptable”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel HEX

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel HEX
Ranked #19 of 51 Hotels in Managua
Vernon Hills, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Totally acceptable”
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Stayed here for three days only. Staff is good and speaks multiple languages. Rooms are very clean and comfortable.They do have a "restaurant area" but it's more like a regular room with tables. No Bar inside, but the pool area has a nice one with (loud) music at times.
Many guests from the USA and Europe are staying here.
I felt save and welcome at all times. There is a shopping Mall in walking distance ( 1 min.) and it is very good. There is also a grocery store in the same complex. All you need and then some.
My first choice hotel.

Room Tip: Always close to a stairwell. Safer in third world countries in case of a power outage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andreas v v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria M, Public Relations Manager at Hotel HEX, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Hotel Hex team appreciates your stay we hope to have filled your expectations. We look forward to welcome you again and improve your experience in Nicaragua, See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    75
    34
    6
    6
See reviews for
15
35
23
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Nebraska
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Our stay here was enjoyable....the rooms are quite small but we had everything we needed. Friends had rooms on the opposite side of ours (we were on the front side of the hotel) and the raved of the sights from their window - mountains and the lake! It was nice to have a mall and supermarket just a few yards away...walked it safely and easily.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kcooli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria M, Public Relations Manager at Hotel HEX, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Hotel Hex team appreciates your stay we hope to have filled your expectations. We look forward to welcome you again and improve your experience in Nicaragua, See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Stayed twice in this hotel, they redid the breakfast area and made the whole experience much better. This time also had dinner once, although the restaurant is "empty" the food was surprisingly good, although a bid expensive for Managua ~12-14 USD for a main dish.
The rooms are clean, the AC is a bit noisy.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaap677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria M, Public Relations Manager at Hotel HEX, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Hotel Hex team appreciates your stay we hope to have filled your expectations. We look forward to welcome you again and improve your experience in Nicaragua, See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

This is a prefab style hotel - similar to bargain chains throughout the world. It it clean, comfortable and perfectly well appointed. There is a nice pool area and breakfast is decent. My only complaint would be our timing!! We stayed there on Christmas Eve, and outside our room til all hours, the local neighbourhood was letting off fireworks! Fun at 10pm, but not at midnight after travelling all day.....but this is hardly the hotel's fault.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ericthebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria M, Public Relations Manager at Hotel HEX, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Hotel Hex team appreciates your stay we hope to have filled your expectations. We look forward to welcome you again and improve your experience in Nicaragua, See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
85 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

I stayed here two times on my trip to Nica this December. One of the reasons I chose it was because of the airport shuttle, and it was nice to be met at the airport by Roberto, the friendly shuttle driver. As for the hotel, it has a pool, wi-fi, is very clean and located next to a shopping center which is convenient. Many people have complained about the size of the rooms - yes, they are cozy, but not unreasonably small.

My first time at the hotel at the beginning of my trip was great - everything went well, and the staff were SUPER nice. The second time at the hotel was more of a challenge - it was a Friday night in December, and I had to get up at 4.30 a.m. to go to the airport. Well, this time, my room was above the pool. The pool, apparently doubles as a bar/disco at night, and the music went on until the wee hours of the morning. I don't know if this happens every weekend, or just during holidays. Also loud were the numerous car alarms going off in the parking lot as well which I could hear from time to time when the music quieted down. None of this noise would have been a problem if my room had been on the back side of the hotel.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms over the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UltraNatasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria M, Public Relations Manager at Hotel HEX, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Hotel Hex team appreciates your stay we hope to have filled your expectations. We look forward to welcome you again and improve your experience in Nicaragua, See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

I stayed there my last 2 nights in Managua and I liked it. The night before I stayed at Camino Real which is near the airport and it cost about double (140). At 70 bucks a night it's not a bad deal. The AC works well and you get some good quiet time to sleep. They washed my clothes and brought them up folded smelling fresh. Pricey but convenient. The gym is nothing fancy just a few pieces of cardio equipment. The pool is decent and the internet they have is free. Wifi or you can use the computers in the business center. I didn't eat at the restaurant because it was overpriced. They have a little shopping plaza with a casino in it a few steps away from the hotel. The staff was very nice and helpful.. Free shuttle to the airport at whatever time you want. The rooms i had was kind of small so I definitely would not recommend if you plan on bringing kids and your whole family. Overall I liked it and will definitely stay there again next time i'm in town.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deepmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReservasHex, Gerente at Hotel HEX, responded to this review, 16 March 2015
Dear Gest

Thank you for writing about us. We hope to serve you again.

Regards

Mary Masis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

At $75 US/night, Hotel Hex offers modest conveniences as being in close proximity to a local mall, sports bar and the airport. While a decent buffet breakfast is included, I would suggest a avoiding any food purchases there.

When we arrived from the airport, we decided to order some sandwiches, which worked out to about $20 US for two. While we don't expect the same quality as back home, their "tuna" was an amalgamation of translucent mayo and other unspecified substances.

The room for the three of us was two doubles, and little more than a walk in closet in terms of space. The room is activated with the key, so you might wish to leave one plugged in if you desire a cool room when you return to the hotel. The swimming pool is decent, and as mentioned before, you have a buffet style breakfast, however the runny eggs and processed ham are tickets to the bano.

-best,
Robert

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zukmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReservasHex, Gerente at Hotel HEX, responded to this review, 16 March 2015
Dear Gest

Thank you for writing about us. We hope to serve you again.

Regards

Mary Masis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Managua hotels
3.8 mi away
Barcelo Managua
Barcelo Managua
#14 of 51 in Managua
315 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Seminole
Hotel Seminole
#10 of 51 in Managua
187 reviews
3.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Las Mercedes
BEST WESTERN Las Mercedes
#11 of 51 in Managua
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hotel Mozonte
Hotel Mozonte
#24 of 51 in Managua
309 reviews
2.9 mi away
Globales Camino Real
Globales Camino Real
#4 of 51 in Managua
573 reviews
4.3 mi away
Art Hotel Managua
Art Hotel Managua
#27 of 51 in Managua
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel HEX? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel HEX

Property: Hotel HEX
Address: in front of shopping mall Multicentro Las Americas | in front of shopping mall Multicentro Las Americas, Managua 505, Nicaragua (Formerly Hotel Express)
Region: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 51 Hotels in Managua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel HEX 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel HEX reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing