We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful home stay in Managua”
Review of El Porton Verde

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Managua
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
El Porton Verde
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Super nice home stay in the outskirts of managua. Wake up, smell the coffee, pick some fruit from the lush tropical farm off the back porch, take a swim in the crystal clear pool, and enjoy some breakfast in good company. Mike, Miranda, and the rest of the gang took care of us like we were part of the family. Two big thumbs up for an excellent host and hostess. Cheers!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mmage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elportonverde, Owner at El Porton Verde, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2012

Thanks Marcus for the nice review. We enjoyed hosting you, your sister, and your parents. We think the downstairs area in front of the pool is great for a family or small group as you have your private space and it is like having your own mini-resort, except with eight acres of farm to go exploring in if that is something you enjoy.
Cheers,
Mike @ Farmstay El Portón Verde

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2012

This was the best and most peaceful stay I had in nicaragua. Mike and Miranda were awesome hosts that took the the best of care of us and help us see some of the sites in managua. The view of the mountains and volcano is completely breathtaking from the back porch and the pool definitely takes the relaxation to the next level. They have hot water and the rooms are the best of quiality that I have seen in nicaragua and the breakfast is outstanding! We are definitely looking foward to staying with them again and I would highly reccommend your stay with them over anyone else in nicaragua.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elportonverde, Owner at El Porton Verde, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2012

We were thrilled to host Justin and his girlfriend, as he was a referral from one of our first guests who is now a very good friend and lives down at the beach in San Juan del Sur.

The main reason that it was great hosting Justin is that he is an active member of the Armed Forces and his trip to Nicaragua was his last fun thing to do before being deployed to Afghanistan. God bless and come back to us safe and sound!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

We had the most relaxing two days. We do live in country and wanted something special for our anniversary & we found it. Beautiful one bedroom apartment--views out of a story book. They have a pool you can do laps or just relax. Great food and they treat you like family-- We will go and stay again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RandyJane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elportonverde, Owner at El Porton Verde, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2012

Thank you for the nice review RandyJane. We were so honored that you and Charles decided to spend your wedding anniversary at our place. Even for people who live elsewhere in Nicaragua, they need a break now and again and Miranda and I were certainly happy to make that happen for you. Also, I am glad you enjoyed your anniversary dinner at the restaurant Azul at the Hotel Contempo. It is great that we have such a fine French chef so close by. Thanks again and looking forward to the next time you come and visit us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Mike and Miranda are wonderful hosts, very courteous and friendly. Mike is American, and wife Miranda is Nicaraguan. Miranda speaks excellent English. They picked me up at the airport at 1:00 at night, took me to their B&B, served me a late-night snack and a delicious breakfast the next day, and drove me to Granada early the next morning. The guest accomodations were clean, beautiful, and very comfortable. I will definitely use them again the next time I travel to Nicaragua.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dwaine_Cawthon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

El Porton Verde was a great place to transition from Ometepe. Hard to believe one is actually in Managua. What a beautiful spot! Mike and Miranda are wonderful hosts, served a delicious home-cooked dinner and provided (very)early am transport to the airport. Todo tranquilo!

Room Tip: Upgrade to the apartment suite if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cindi37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Mike and Miranda are so friendly. I showed up unannounced +1 and they treated us like they were expecting us. Beautiful rooms, grounds and great Wifi. Had a great convo over dinner with M&M and another guest. Mike is actually farming and doing really cool things. Can't say enough!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AgroJunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

I have traveled all over the world, stayed at B&B's in a number of countries. El Porton Verde was the best accomidations I have ever had! The Hosts are wonderful people and did everything to make sure our needs were met. The meals were outstanding. The pool crystal clear. The rooms are great! You would be remiss if you did not stay at El Porton Verde when traveling to Nicaragua.
I can not wait to go back.

Room Tip: The best room is the apartment. You really can't go wrong with any of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Managua
4.5 mi away
Hotel La Pyramide
Hotel La Pyramide
#6 of 50 in Managua
364 reviews
7.1 mi away
Best Western Las Mercedes
Best Western Las Mercedes
#13 of 50 in Managua
728 reviews
20.8 mi away
Hotel Real La Merced
Hotel Real La Merced
#11 of 45 in Granada
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Managua - Convention Center
0.9 mi away
Hotel Contempo
Hotel Contempo
#12 of 50 in Managua
220 reviews
2.4 mi away
Timeless Hotel Boutique
Timeless Hotel Boutique
#4 of 80 in Managua
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Porton Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Porton Verde

Address: Carretera a Masaya, km 10.5, del Centro Escolar San Antonio Sur, 1 cuadra al Sur, 350 metros al Oeste | Callejon de los Briones, Finca El Porton Verde, Managua 00000, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 73 Speciality Lodging in Managua
Price Range: £23 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello and thanks for your inquiry about El Porton Verde, Managua. Room offerings include: deluxe pool front apartment, quad bunk bed rooms, and en-suite rooms with private bath. As an alternative to the big chain hotels in hot and dirty downtown Managua, we offer a very comfortable and quiet bed and breakfast ambiance that lovers of quality lodgings with an eco-tourism aspect are finding very attractive. As we say here at the farm, "We are located in Managua, but being here feels like a world away..." We are located approximately 25 minutes drive from the airport and provide transportation to and from MGA airport. However, we are a small farm in the hills at 1,000 feet of elevation with tremendous views towards Masaya Volcano and the local mountains, so the ambiance is anything but what you will find in the city center. We are perfect for that first night and last night accomodations, especially since we offer airport transportation and local tours. If you want a restful night in a cooler and quieter environment than in the "real Managua" then think about booking with us. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing