We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice, clean USA style hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Real Managua at Metrocentro Mall
Ranked #3 of 51 Hotels in Managua
Certificate of Excellence
Maui, Hawaii, USA
Level Contributor
187 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Very nice, clean USA style hotel”
Reviewed 7 June 2008

Managua intercon is nicest hotel in area. If you have to stay in Managua (avoid if you can) this is the place.

Hotel is located directly next to Mall (food court, movies, etc.)
Airport is 15min away, hotel has great shuttle (only $5usd).

Food is good, pool is small but does the job.

This hotel would compare to a nice business hotel in the USA, however for Nicaragua this is as Luxurous as it gets.

  • Liked — Clean
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank HawaiianStyle808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    349
    209
    55
    11
    12
See reviews for
88
136
42
286
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2008

This is a great choice in Managua. Easy transport from the airport (you can call ahead to reserve the shuttle or one of the hotel's taxis). Food was pretty good, the pool was nice (and open all hours), and the room was good too. You can tell they are still working on ironing out some things, but overall it was a great choice and I'd recommend it. Only problem is that the walls are extremely thin and you can hear everything going on in the hallway/neighboring rooms.

  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank viajeraNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
84 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2008

After grabbing the bags and making it past customs, a driver was waiting for the hotel (they charge your $5 for the airport shuttle, great value). The hotel is located in the city and accross the street from the mall. Nothing really to find in the mall, but the hotel is beautiful. The bed was very comfortable, the television had a ton of channels and the internet was only $14 for the whole day. The pool was great and so was everything else. The staff was very curteous and willing to help. There is only one problem at all in the hotel...the shower. The shower doubles as a bath tub and it is difficult to exit the shower. You can slip so just be very careful. Otherwise, this is one of the greatest city hotels that I have stayed in and I would definitely consider going back.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CityGuy07052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Salvador
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2008

Spent 3 nights at this hotel with my wife. We had a beautiful double room on the 6th floor facing the city. The room was typical Intercontental, big, confortable bed, large working space. The bathroom was also big. The're is one annoying design glitch when it came to the bathtub. For some reason, the bathtub was too high, so when you're getting in or out of it, it's preety unconfortable.
The rest of the hotel is as good as it gets. The service, impecable. Had breakfast at the restaurant all 3 days, and it was delicious. Typical Latin American fare.
All in all, this is a very modern, and confortable hotel that I would definetely come back to, and obviously recommend.

  • Liked — the room
  • Disliked — high bathtub
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank riccoq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Talcahuano, Chile
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2007

the hotel has a excellent service and the food is incredible..i travel around the world but the food in this hotel is so good!!!

  • Liked — Food, bed, clean, service
  • Disliked — good excellent
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ronald233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2007

I only had a short 12 hour stay in Managua due to a very early flight out but the Intercontinental was a wonderful place to stay my last night in Nicaragua. The staff was very friendly and eager to help and booking/check-in was a breeze. I wanted to get some stuff at the hotel gift shop but found it closed for a break, the concierge was kind enough to call me 10 minutes later to tell me it was open again. For some reason I was upgraded to the Ambassador floor, but I think the rooms are all pretty similiar. The best thing was the beds, they were just heaven to sleep on. There is a mall right in front of the hotel, I went over in hopes of some shopping but didn't find too much I was interested in or that wasn't available at home, but it is a nice place to grab a soda or food if you don't want to pay the pretty steep prices at the hotel. I did use room service, it was prompt and the pizza was hot & delicious, think it was about $13. Check out was very fast, even at 4:30am and the taxi drivers are already outside to take you on the $15, 20 minute ride to the airport, though I'm sure this ride is longer during the day - the traffic I had coming into Managua was horrendous.

All in all, I would highly recommend this as a first or last night stay in Managua.

  • Liked — Bed, amenities, eas of getting to the airport
  • Disliked — Food is very expensive
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank midori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2007

InterContinental in Managua is well-maintained. The breakfast was excellent where guests also had choices in local Nicaraguan food. The staff is extremely nice. However, I have to say that the staff does not feel empowered and has to consult with the management for the smallest unproblemetic question.

The area of the hotel looks like a busy Los Angeles intersection with mini-malls next to it. It surely is not a walking area as there is a 4-lane highway in front of the hotel. Also, this hotel is minutes from Hilton Princess. The shuttle service is very very reliable and on time.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and safety
  • Disliked — surroundings of the property.
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Haghartsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Managua hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Princess Managua
Hilton Princess Managua
#2 of 51 in Managua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Managua
Hyatt Place Managua
#1 of 51 in Managua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
2.1 mi away
Barcelo Managua
Barcelo Managua
#14 of 51 in Managua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Globales Camino Real
Globales Camino Real
#5 of 51 in Managua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Managua - Convention Center
28.1 mi away
Gran Pacifica Beach and Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Real Managua at Metrocentro Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Real Managua at Metrocentro Mall

Property: InterContinental Real Managua at Metrocentro Mall
Address: Costado Sur Centro Comercial | Metrocentro Carretera Masaya, Managua, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Managua
#3 Business Hotel in Managua
#3 Family Hotel in Managua
#7 Romantic Hotel in Managua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Real Managua at Metrocentro Mall 4.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an urban oasis at this award-winning, luxury hotel in Managua, Nicaragua. Ideally located in the center of the entertainment and business district, adjacent to Metrocentro, the country's largest shopping mall featuring more than 120 venues. At Metrocentro you will find boutiques, restaurants, bars, movie theaters and more. The hotel is only 6 miles away from Managua's international airport. The hotel offers many options for your entertainment; you can indulge yourself at Factory Steak & Lobster or enjoy a trendy ambiance and live music at NAU Sushi Lounge. Voltes restaurant is well-known for its buffet or if you prefer you can order a la carte. Customers can also unwind in the peaceful surroundings of our terrace next to the pool and exotic gardens. Our hotel rooms are designed to ensure your best rest. All our rooms are equipped with soundproof windows, custom mattresses, high speed streaming internet access, 300-thread count Egyptian cotton linen sheets, total blackout curtains, reading lamps, wide shower heads, mobile docking alarm clock, wide working desk, ergonomic chair, and more. For meetings and events the hotel offers nine modern and versatile event rooms with the latest in audiovisual technology. Our meeting space and ballrooms have the capacity to host events with up to 700 people. From the hotel it's easy to explore the city, you can visit Managua's famous Cathedral and its historic downtown area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Real Managua at Metrocentro Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Real Metrocentro Managua Hotel Managua
Intercontinental Managua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing