We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Professional business hotel, good food, nice pool and surroundings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Real Managua at Metrocentro Mall
Ranked #3 of 51 Hotels in Managua
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Professional business hotel, good food, nice pool and surroundings”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Pros: good business hotel, excellent choice of food, attractive and relaxing pool and surroundings

Average: rooms are on the small side and mine had a consistently musty smell, although I appreciate in a climate as humid as Managua that is hard to avoid. Bed was very comfortable.

Cons: front desk staff are not particularly helpful or friendly - quite a contrast with the wait staff in the restaurants and around the pool who are lovely

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrlandesaenMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Intermanagua, Gerente at InterContinental Real Managua at Metrocentro Mall, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Kindest regards from the team working in Real InterContinental Metrocentro

Thanks for staying with us, just as we thank you for your comments, as these help us to find points where we need to improve to provide quality care.

We hope you visit us soon,

Best Regards,

Hans Scholte
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    349
    209
    55
    11
    12
See reviews for
88
136
42
286
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Coast B.c.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Spent 3 nights here and was satisfied with most amenities.
Clean rooms and fantastic breakfast buffet.
Friendly service except at front desk where I felt as a woman; was treated a bit more with a snobby attitude than I noticed men were getting.
Was mixed about food in the Factory.
Had surf and turf and the steak was chewy and the lobster (grilled) was tasty but slightly
overcooked.
Good beef cappricio for apply and the bread and olive oil/balsamic vinegar and parmesan cheese was exceptional.
Last evening had a caesar salad that came with an "unwanted" (nor did I order) dried out(barely chewable) sliced chicken breast.
It was just plain awful.
Complained but as usual no one cared.
The snooty little waiter tried to point out that he wanted and "extra tip" and kept looking over his shoulder every 5 seconds to see if I was going to provide one.
On top of the "already charged in the bill" there was NO WAY I was going to give more for sub-standard service.
However; the atmosphere on a Friday night was fabulous with a live band and a busy poolside
bar.
Hubby fell asleep so I went down to Nau for an appetizer on Sat. of tempura.
Very greasy and terrible.
But staff was friendly in there.
Concierge service should have been available every day but was not.
He did provide a good english speaking driver for the wonderful Masaya market
but don't choke on the price of $80 for the day.
Most likely the best hotel in the area.

Room Tip: Not much of a view looking at parking lot and shopping centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FrannywestcoastB_C_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Intermanagua, Gerente at InterContinental Real Managua at Metrocentro Mall, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Kindest regards from the team working at Real InterContinental Metrocentro Managua.

I apologize for the inconveniences during your stay with us, however I wish to thank you for your feedback as these help us find details that we need to improve.

Best Regards,

Hans Scholte
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pooler, Georgia
Level Contributor
255 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

Perfect place for traveling on business. Internet works better then most hotels in the states. Pool is nice. Bar and restaurants were both very good and well priced. Buffet was great. Had a great experience. The only issue is I had a balcony room with a door that wouldn't open. But other then that the place was great.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Vinny0014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Intermanagua, Gerente at InterContinental Real Managua at Metrocentro Mall, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Kindest regards from the team of Real InterContinental Managua.

Thank you very much for staying with us during your visit to Managua. It was a pleasure for us to assist you in your stay. In relation to the balcony door, for the safety of our guests are kept locked.

Again thank you for your stay with us, I hope you visit us soon.

best regards,

Hans Scholte
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moreno Valley, California
1 review
Reviewed 5 January 2014

My stay was excellent while i stayed at the intercontinental. Excellent professional staff all around especially since i didn't know any spanish. I would like to recconize the following employees for their excellent sevice and effort to make the customer happy, Kathyuska Baltodano, Joseph Contreras, Daysi Hernandez, Nimia Reyes, Pedro Antonio, and Vargas Fornos. They all did an excellent job serving me and my family during our 3 week stay in Nicaragua.

Room Tip: i stayed on the 6th, 7th, and the 4th floors, and all of them were excellent rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAMIE G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Intermanagua, Gerente at InterContinental Real Managua at Metrocentro Mall, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Kindest regards from the team of Real InterContinental Metrocentro Managua.

First I want to thank you for staying with us during your visit to Managua. It's nice to know you enjoy your stay in the hotel. Thanks also to recognize the efforts made by our employees.

We hope you visit us soon.

Best Regards,

Hans Scholte
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midwest
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Across from a major shopping mall (with a grocery store), this is an outstanding choice for arriving late in Managua. I prearranged for an airport shuttle ride to the hotel at 9PM and enjoyed every minute of my time there. The super-friendly and conscientious staff are waiting to help.

Deep bathtub was an excellent way to relax! Bed was great. Internet priced so that you can choose how long you surf and pay as you go. Miami stations are available on cable.

Restaurant is above average.

Room Tip: Two choices for renting a car in the hotel. Pay for the friendly hotel shuttle and get your vehicle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TiVoFanWis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Intermanagua, Gerente at InterContinental Real Managua at Metrocentro Mall, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear guest

Kindest regards from the team of Real InterContinental Metrocentro Managua.

We thank you for staying with us during your visit to Managua, just as I thank you for your comments, it was a pleasure for us to serve you and know that you enjoy your stay

We hope you visit us soon.

Best Regards,

Hans Scholte
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Exceeded my expectations. Comfortable beds, very clean with a very nice restaurant. Staff was attentive and accommodating. The location is convenient as it is across from a shopping center that has a grocery store inside, so if you forget anything, they probably have it.

Room Tip: Very nice fruit selection at breakfast with some exotic fruit you cannot get in the states.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmajkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Intermanagua, Gerente at InterContinental Real Managua at Metrocentro Mall, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Kindest regards from the team of InterContinental Real Metrocentro Managua.

Thanks for staying with us, it was our pleasure to serve you. Thanks for your feedback, it's nice to know you enjoy your stay.

We hope you visit us soon.

Best Regards,

Hans Scholte
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We have stayed here before and we found the club level a disappointment this time.

Our room was well appointed and the beds, bathroom and service were all excellent.

However, the club level amenities were not worth the significant upcharge. The afternoon premium open bar and light appetizers in the 8th floor lounge really fell flat. Two hot plates were presented on one table. The first had boring, breaded and fried brown cheese sticks that you might find being sold at Costco for 8 dollars fro a box of 100 with a thin tomato based sauce that was neither ketchup nor salsa but a thin soupy generic offering-- also something you would expect to find in gallon jars at Costco. There was another hot plate with another brown, breaded and fried offering that was so similar to he first that I wont waste your time describing it.

On the other small table were offered two types of small canapes, again looking and tasting completely generic, Costco-by-the-big-box quality. To set these off a 2 flavor cheese plate, small crisp roasted bread, and banana chips.

As for the premium bar, there was a white and a red wine available, mixed drinks I did not partake of, and beer. Here again, the Intercontinental was a disappointment. I love craft beers and I know millions of us now appreciate a much wider selection of beers than was available 20 years ago. I have very little patience for restaurants and hotels of this quality who have neglected to keep their beer selection current with changing tastes of their guests.

I appears that the The Intercontinental Managua Metrocentro has decided it's sophisticated international clientele will settle for cheap, generic and unimaginative club level loung food. They also have decided their guests need BOTH kinds of beer - Victoria and Tona. For those of you who have not been to Nica, these are basically both tasteless and bland beers similar in every aspect to Budweiser. With my eyes closed i can't tell them apart.

All and all a let-down. Last time we stayed here it was better - except that they also only had Tona and Victoria then, too.

Apparently, "premium" does not mean trying very hard here.

I regret dropping the extra 100 dollars for the club level - I could get bad hor-d'ouvres and a budwiser for $95 less.

Room Tip: skip the club level - a waste of money
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank twospoons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Real Managua at Metrocentro Mall, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear tripadvisor,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to let us know what you thought about our hotel. I appreciate your positive comments with regard to our staff service and room accommodations. On the other hand, I am deeply sorry to hear that you found our food selections at the club level less than satisfactory. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our products and service continually.

Once again, thank you for your feedback. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel and replace your bad experience with one that reflects our true standards.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Managua hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Princess Managua
Hilton Princess Managua
#2 of 51 in Managua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Managua
Hyatt Place Managua
#1 of 51 in Managua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
2.1 mi away
Barcelo Managua
Barcelo Managua
#14 of 51 in Managua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Globales Camino Real
Globales Camino Real
#5 of 51 in Managua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Managua - Convention Center
28.1 mi away
Gran Pacifica Beach and Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Real Managua at Metrocentro Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Real Managua at Metrocentro Mall

Property: InterContinental Real Managua at Metrocentro Mall
Address: Costado Sur Centro Comercial | Metrocentro Carretera Masaya, Managua, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Managua
#3 Family Hotel in Managua
#3 Business Hotel in Managua
#7 Romantic Hotel in Managua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Real Managua at Metrocentro Mall 4.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an urban oasis at this award-winning, luxury hotel in Managua, Nicaragua. Ideally located in the center of the entertainment and business district, adjacent to Metrocentro, the country's largest shopping mall featuring more than 120 venues. At Metrocentro you will find boutiques, restaurants, bars, movie theaters and more. The hotel is only 6 miles away from Managua's international airport. The hotel offers many options for your entertainment; you can indulge yourself at Factory Steak & Lobster or enjoy a trendy ambiance and live music at NAU Sushi Lounge. Voltes restaurant is well-known for its buffet or if you prefer you can order a la carte. Customers can also unwind in the peaceful surroundings of our terrace next to the pool and exotic gardens. Our hotel rooms are designed to ensure your best rest. All our rooms are equipped with soundproof windows, custom mattresses, high speed streaming internet access, 300-thread count Egyptian cotton linen sheets, total blackout curtains, reading lamps, wide shower heads, mobile docking alarm clock, wide working desk, ergonomic chair, and more. For meetings and events the hotel offers nine modern and versatile event rooms with the latest in audiovisual technology. Our meeting space and ballrooms have the capacity to host events with up to 700 people. From the hotel it's easy to explore the city, you can visit Managua's famous Cathedral and its historic downtown area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Real Managua at Metrocentro Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Real Metrocentro Managua Hotel Managua
Intercontinental Managua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing