We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reliable Respite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Real Managua at Metrocentro Mall
Ranked #3 of 51 Hotels in Managua
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Reliable Respite”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We live in Granada, but escape to Managua about 4-5 times a year to luxuriate in air conditioning and enjoy the facilities of the InterContinental. The staff is friendly and efficient. The rooms, while not particularly large, are very nice and the bed is marvelously comfortable. It's hard to tear myself from it but the breakfast buffet is enticing. The buffet alone is worth the hotel stay. Pretty much everything you would want. The pool area is never crowded and we've always been able to snag a pool daybed. A piña colada, the pool, and the cabaña; what more could you want? And the chicken quesadilla poolside was so good, I ordered it three days in a row. Pool service could be improved. You could spend 10 minutes looking for a towel. Room service was prompt and well done. We enjoy using the gym and I've only once seen someone else there. It's usually all ours. The proximity to the MetroCentro is wonderful. In a 3-day weekend, we saw two movies. More air conditioning, as well as popcorn! Note: a handicapped person would have trouble getting in and out of the bath/shower. The wall is high and has to be climbed over.

Room Tip: Ask for pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank genibre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Intermanagua, Gerente at InterContinental Real Managua at Metrocentro Mall, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Receive a warm greeting from the team working on Real InterContinental Metrocentro Managua.

We thank you for your preference to stay with us whenever you want to escape from routine. It is a pleasure to serve you every time you visit us, just as it is a pleasure to know that our facilities are your total satisfaction. I wish to thank you for the comment in particular because it helps us improve.

In the future in case you are traveling with a handicapped person, the hotel has a special room that fits the need of mobility especially in the bathroom.

We hope you visit us soon.

Best Regards,

Hans Scholte
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    349
    210
    55
    11
    12
See reviews for
88
136
42
287
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Healdsburg, California
Level Contributor
183 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Unmatched for the level of service, luxury and comfort, in Managua. Rooms rivaled four star places in the states at half the price (weekend). The service from the front desk to the concierge, restaurant and bar far excelled what I'm accustomed to in the U.S. I even went out for an evening and the hotel sent a private cab to pick me up at a quite reasonable rate. Hotel features a large, spacious comfortable lobby, and outdoor pool area, and a very nice buffet. Transportation from airport is infrequent, much easier returning to the airport, inquire about a pickup from the airport. I will definitely return if/when I return to Managua.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john_northbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Intermanagua, Gerente at InterContinental Real Managua at Metrocentro Mall, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear John,

Kindest regards from the team working on Real InterContinental Metrocentro Managua.

Thank you very much for staying with us during your visit to Nicaragua, thanks equally for writing your comments about your visit to our hotel. For us it was a pleasure to serve you and to know that you enjoy your stay.

We hope you will visit us soon.

Best Regards,

Hans Scholte
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayward, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Very nice , elegant hotel. My husband and I stayed a couple of days there during our Nicaragua stay. Great service . We really enjoyed the breakfast Buffett , it was excellent. The pool was very nice and clean. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thelma1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Intermanagua, Gerente at InterContinental Real Managua at Metrocentro Mall, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Ms. Thelma

Kindest regards from the team working on Real InterContinental Metrocentro Managua.

Thank you very much to you and your husband for staying with us during your visit to Nicaragua and thanks for your comments about the visit. For us it was a pleasure to serve you and its nice to know that you enjoy your stay.

We hope you and your husband visit us soon.

Best Regards,

Hans Scholte
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I am not sure I understand the ratings here as I believe the Intercontinental to be the premier property in Managua. I might even call this the premier hotel property in all of Nicaragua.

Hard to find fault as the facility, services and dining are first class.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Intermanagua, Gerente at InterContinental Real Managua at Metrocentro Mall, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Kindest regards from the team of Real InterContinental Metrocentro Managua.

Thank you very much for your comment. For our team it was a pleasure to serve you with the quality that sets us apart and thus be able to make your stay unforgettable.

We hope you visit us soon.

Best Regards,

Hans Scholte
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

First time at this hotel, one of the best i stayed in. Great rooms, big, good AC. Good cable/ TV, check in fast, breadfast, one of the best, good options. Defenetely regret not staying here before, next to the mall, diferent choice to eat lunch and dinner. This hotel will be my new home in managua.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Fred G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Intermanagua, Gerente at InterContinental Real Managua at Metrocentro Mall, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Kindest regards from the team of Real InterContinental Metrocentro Managua.

I want to thank you for your comment, thank you very much for letting us know that you enjoy your stay and has chosen us to be your new home in Managua, we are very flattered. For us it was a pleasure to serve.

We hope you visit us soon.

Best Regards,

Hans Scholte
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, VT
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

This hotel was a nice property, with excellent public areas, lovely pool, and very good restaurants, reasonably priced for the quality of the food. The staff, generally, was warm, welcoming, and attentive. We had an executive club level room that was very nice, and the club was nice.
I'd have given the hotel a higher rating except for a very unfortunate incident we had, which was handled very poorly by management. Before making our hotel reservations, I had checked with the Intercontinental to make sure they had "safe deposit boxes" at the front desk, and was assured they had. When we checked in, and I asked for a safe deposit box, I was told that there were safe deposit boxes, but they required 2 keys, and the manager was the only one with the second key and he wouldn't be back until the next day. The young woman at the desk assured us that there were safes in the room so we wouldn't need a safe deposit box. However, as someone who suffered a terrible loss when valuable items were stolen from a room safe in Frankfurt, Germany, I couldn't share her confidence about the room safe. In any event, I knew it would have to wait until the next day. The next day I was told several different things by front desk staff, and spent a couple hours waiting in our room for a phone call from the front office manager, and then the general manager, only to be told they didn't have any safe deposit boxes -- hard to believe given what we'd been told upon arrival. In any event, nothing we said mattered, nothing we'd been told mattered, because they didn't care. No safe deposit box was made available for our use. Period. It showed very bad professional judgement, poor staff training if, in fact, they do not have safe deposits boxes. But most of all, it was the dismissive attitude of the front desk manager and general manager with regard to how important this was for me, how we had been misled, and their refusal to try to help resolve this important matter in any way. We will never return to this hotel given the attitude of the manager and general manager. This is sad since it is such a nice physical facility.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AMatlins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Intermanagua, Gerente at InterContinental Real Managua at Metrocentro Mall, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of our hotel I would like to apologize for your inconveniences during your recent visit to Managua.

Your positive remarks of our property and staff are most appreciated.

Regarding your comments about the safe deposit box, we regret it has been a misunderstanding. Upon your request our staff first suggestion was to invite you to use your in room safe as they are digital coded and personalized by each guest before usage. The safe box you mentioned is the general cashiers of the hotel and is not located in the general or public area making it impossible for guests to use it.

About the security of our in room safe, I like to explain that if it is opened by the Hotel we have to apply following policies in Real Hotels & Resorts. Special equipment needed is under protection of our security department and a log book has to be signed. Security staff needs a witness to enter the room and open the safe. Guest must be present and has to sign an approval form, signature has to match the guest signature on the registration form, in case all procedures are taken into account the staff, witness and guest may open the safe box. Also I like to mention that our corridors are monitored and recorded by security cameras and each time the room door and safe box are opened a code and time are automatically stored in both.

Once again I feel very sorry for the misunderstanding and inconveniences.

Best regards

Hans Scholte
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Payson, Arizona
Level Contributor
127 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Just back from a trip all over Nicaragua. Stayed in some nice properties, but this is probably the nicest. It is on the east side of Managua near shopping so is a great first stop when you fly in. I also heard some expats who live in other areas of Nicaragua say that this is their weekend-away hotel of choice. The rooms were very comfortable and definitely up to a US standard. The beds provided a good night's sleep and there is wifi in the rooms (if you are a priority club member, it is free). The lobby area is beautiful. The breakfast buffet was a bit expensive ($20 per person) but the service was amazing. I asked one of the waiters if there was any apple juice and he said he would check. I didn't see him for a while so I was not sure what happened. Well, then he came out with freshly made apple juice just for me! Wow! Nice omelet station and even chocolate truffles (very rich). The pool area looked nice but we did not have the time to use it this trip. Parking and entrance guarded. Front desk staff very nice and helpful .Highly recommend this!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beav16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Intermanagua, Gerente at InterContinental Real Managua at Metrocentro Mall, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Kindest regards from the team of Real InterContinental Metrocentro Managua.

We thank you for staying with us on your trip to Managua. Similarly we thank you for your comment, it was our pleasure to serve you.

We hope you visit us soon.

Best Regards,

Hans Scholte
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Managua hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Princess Managua
Hilton Princess Managua
#2 of 51 in Managua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Managua
Hyatt Place Managua
#1 of 51 in Managua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
2.1 mi away
Barcelo Managua
Barcelo Managua
#14 of 51 in Managua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Globales Camino Real
Globales Camino Real
#5 of 51 in Managua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Managua - Convention Center
28.1 mi away
Gran Pacifica Beach and Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Real Managua at Metrocentro Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Real Managua at Metrocentro Mall

Property: InterContinental Real Managua at Metrocentro Mall
Address: Costado Sur Centro Comercial | Metrocentro Carretera Masaya, Managua, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Managua
#3 Business Hotel in Managua
#3 Family Hotel in Managua
#7 Romantic Hotel in Managua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Real Managua at Metrocentro Mall 4.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an urban oasis at this award-winning, luxury hotel in Managua, Nicaragua. Ideally located in the center of the entertainment and business district, adjacent to Metrocentro, the country's largest shopping mall featuring more than 120 venues. At Metrocentro you will find boutiques, restaurants, bars, movie theaters and more. The hotel is only 6 miles away from Managua's international airport. The hotel offers many options for your entertainment; you can indulge yourself at Factory Steak & Lobster or enjoy a trendy ambiance and live music at NAU Sushi Lounge. Voltes restaurant is well-known for its buffet or if you prefer you can order a la carte. Customers can also unwind in the peaceful surroundings of our terrace next to the pool and exotic gardens. Our hotel rooms are designed to ensure your best rest. All our rooms are equipped with soundproof windows, custom mattresses, high speed streaming internet access, 300-thread count Egyptian cotton linen sheets, total blackout curtains, reading lamps, wide shower heads, mobile docking alarm clock, wide working desk, ergonomic chair, and more. For meetings and events the hotel offers nine modern and versatile event rooms with the latest in audiovisual technology. Our meeting space and ballrooms have the capacity to host events with up to 700 people. From the hotel it's easy to explore the city, you can visit Managua's famous Cathedral and its historic downtown area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Real Managua at Metrocentro Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Real Metrocentro Managua Hotel Managua
Intercontinental Managua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing