We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Real InterContinental Managua at Metrocentro Mall
Ranked #3 of 50 Hotels in Managua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 January 2009

The Intercontinental is a beautiful hotel located in an excellent area of the city. When we stayed they had a promotional rate for the executive floor which was a real bargain. The rooms are modern and bright, room service was fast, the food was good and the staff were all very pleasant and helpful. I rented a car from Hertz , which had a desk in the hotel, and it was very straightforward and efficient.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank luv2travel9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (700)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

475 - 481 of 700 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2009

I have stayed in many hotels but nothing like Metrocentro, because the concierge Tadi was absolutely fabulous, he organized me a trip where I enjoy part of the city and have the opportunity to know the Mombacho volcano.

He was extremenly helpful because I used my free time to really know people and some parts of Managua and Granada's city.

So I really recomend you to visit Intercontinental Managua, because they have really good and friendly staff that help you everytime you needed.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank KatoKato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2009

After reading all of the reviews about Managua and this hotel I wonder if I stayed at the same hotel as the others. First, Managua is not a city that I would compare to any other. You must take Managua as it is. To juxtapose Managua with a developed city in another developed country would be a mistake. Despite all of the shortcomings of the Managua metro area there are a lot of hidden treasures that exist for those willing to shed preconceived notions of progress and civilization. Second, this hotel is a gem within the area. It is not a hotel my wife and I would stay at to get to know the real Nicaragua. This hotel was transported by the USS Enterprise from any American city and planted in Managua next to a mall complex. It is actually two hotels. There are the standard rooms on the bottom floors and then the executive floors higher up. The executive floor has its own breakfast area and its own reception clerk. The executive floor customers enjoy an American breakfast (i.e. meats and smoked salmon) and hors d'oeuvres and drinks at a nightly happy hour. Needless to say, if you have the funds you know which floors you should stay.
We stayed here off and on for over a week. The reason there was an off and on is because we used this hotel as a base to explore the area. We spent a night at the lake and then others at small hotels in Leon. When we got tired of roughing it we retreated back to this hotel to get refreshed for the next adventure. This was all the more necessary being that we were toting around our 20 month old baby.
The staff was excellent!! Rebecca, our receptionist solved every problem or request that we could come up with instantly. The hotel Manager Luis always greeted us with a smile and gave us his card to use if we had any problems. Not needed!!. Lester our bar man knew the history of Nicaragua and made sure that our wine glasses were always full and our stomachs filled with the best room service in Managua.
Being that this was our second trip to Managua we had already met a local guide, Guillermo, which we hired for the week to show us around the area. The volcanoes were great, festivals vibrant, the beaches were empty, and the local shopping was out of this world. Guillermo was not only our driver but body guard, translator, bargain shopper finder, local cuisine expert, helper to pass out free medicine to the locals enabler, but most importantly our new big brother.

Do stay at this hotel, but get out and find the real Managua...if you do not speak the language...learn some and then drop me a line. I will pass on Guillermo's number....and you too will have a great adventure..

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Beans B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2009

the rooms are great for the price your paying, excellent light, perfect bed, clean and appropiate the bath tub is a bit to high so do be careful. My discomfort would be the internet service and the gym. The internet service in the rooms aside from being a fee charge it's extremely slow and in the middle night the service shuts off (i did pay for a 24hour service). In regards to the gym it's very poor, four cardio machines the track is the best.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ELYINN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2008

This is a nice hotel in an awful city. . .Managua hasn't recovered from the 1972 earthquake, its lake is polluted, its streets are dirty, its main landmark, the Cathedral, has been uninhabitable for 45 years, and its streets don't have names. And when the shuttle pulled into the hotel, a demonstration on the corner where the hotel is located effectively closed off the hotel from the outside--we had to pull in through the loading dock entrance.

The hotel itself is nicely decorated, with a stylish swimming pool off the lobby, and the bar and restaurant nearby. The fitness center--with dated equipment--stands near the pool deck as well.

The guestrooms are not overly large, though the materials--nice woods, granite tops, etc.--are above average for a hotel room of this size. The beds and duvets are quite nice. For all the expense dedicated to the showy stuff, the walls are thin. . .a baby next door cried for hours, and kept me up. Better construction/thicker walls would have prevented that. Quite frankly, if I can't get a good night's sleep, the rating of a hotel will go down.

Breakfast, included in my rate (but not all rates) was nice, and service was gracious and speedy. The restaurant, like most of the other spaces in the hotel, was surprisingly small. . .this feels almost like a boutique hotel rather than the grand hotel of the capital.

The hotel found me an English speaking driver who gave me an hour long tour of the city for $10. His service, and the service of the rest of the hotel staff, was quite good.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TravelBeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2008

As any Intercontinental the property was very nice. The staff was uniformly professional and pleasant. Bar is very cosy but they do not include a tip in the bill which is the normal practice in NU.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2008

Loved the hotel. The bed is the MOST COMFORTABLE I have ever slept in! The goose down duvet and sheets were like sleeping on a cloud. The staff are extremely helpful and dedicated to giving great service. It was like an Oasis in the desert. Thank you!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank lbaubau11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Managua hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Princess Managua
Hilton Princess Managua
#2 of 50 in Managua
676 reviews
2.1 mi away
Barcelo Managua
Barcelo Managua
#9 of 50 in Managua
411 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Managua
Hyatt Place Managua
#1 of 50 in Managua
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Globales Camino Real
Globales Camino Real
#4 of 50 in Managua
595 reviews
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Managua
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Managua - Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Real InterContinental Managua at Metrocentro Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real InterContinental Managua at Metrocentro Mall

Address: Costado Sur Centro Comercial | Metrocentro Carretera Masaya, Managua, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Managua
#3 Business Hotel in Managua
#3 Family Hotel in Managua
#7 Romantic Hotel in Managua
Price Range: £108 - £249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Real InterContinental Managua at Metrocentro Mall 4.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an urban oasis at this award-winning, fully renovated, luxury hotel in Managua, Nicaragua. The hotel has upgraded its 157 rooms and suites, Gym, Spa, Lobby and outdoor terrace. Ideally located in the center of the entertainment and business district, adjacent to Metrocentro Mall, the country's largest shopping mall featuring more than 120 venues. At Metrocentro you will find boutiques, restaurants, bars, movie theaters and more. The hotel offers many options for your entertainment; you can indulge yourself at Factory Steak & Lobster or enjoy a trendy ambiance and live music at NAU Sushi Lounge. Recently inaugurated The Market restaurant allows you to build your own meals such as pizzas, hamburgers, sandwiches and a salad bar. Blu bar is the place to be for amazing cocktails by the pool. Our hotel rooms are designed to ensure your best rest with soundproof windows, custom mattresses, high speed internet, and blackout curtains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Real InterContinental Managua at Metrocentro Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Real Metrocentro Managua Hotel Managua
Intercontinental Managua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing