We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Las Mercedes
Ranked #13 of 50 Hotels in Managua
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Right across street from airport. Very nice, clean. Good food. Careful of traffic. Spa, pool. Great breakfast, made to order omelette. Nice natural areas. Checking in speed just ok. Security in parking lot.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
Thank RevRev65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (728)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

457 - 463 of 728 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2013

I have been down to Nicaragua 4 times and stayed there the first and last night of each trip since it is so conveniently located to the airport. It is a beautiful property with lovely grounds, 2 pristine pools, and excellent food. Their breakfast buffet has omelets made to order as well as various hot and cold meats, fresh cheese, a selection of bread/rolls/croissants, and fresh fruit. I have had formal dinners their each trip and they are also quite delicious. The food there is safe to eat, even the fresh fruit, salad, and fresh veggies. The water served is bottled water. They provide bottled water in the rooms, and the gift shop sells large 2 liter bottles of cold water for $2 US. The staff is VERY approachable, friendly and accommodating. I have never felt unsafe there. The rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable. The bathrooms are large with amenities in them. The water pressure is not that great, but I can deal with that. You can't go wrong here for a pleasant stay or destination wedding. (They really do a nice job at putting on large celebrations! I have witnessed a few there.)

Room Tip: If you have any issue at all, don't hesitate to call the front desk or go to the front desk. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristineCarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEST WESTERN L, Front Office Manager at Best Western Las Mercedes, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2013

We love that our customers like our services!

We try every day being better in what we do... hope you can come and visit us soon!

Regards,
Dolores Romero

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Been to Nicaragua 9 times and always stay at Las Mercedes on the inbound as it is right across from the airport and if you are travelling light you can walk across. Just don't forget that the road is actually the Pan American Highway and pedestrian's do not have the right of way. At busy times its like playing that old video game "frogger".
The hotel is slowly improving and it has a lot of character. Has a 1930's flavour that I like. A maze of rooms with covered walkways, a couple of pools and lots of gardens. Pleasant staff and the front desk now is speaking english to make your check-in a little easier.
Breakfast is included and is fantastic. Those fresh little pastries are great but save room for the omelettes. Of course the coffee in Nicaragua is always great.
We sometimes stay at the Camino Real up the street for the outbound night and take the shuttle. Its a bit more modern and upscale but this last time we just stuck with Las Mercedes, enjoyed the breakfast and "froggered" our group across to the airport in the morning. Nice stay all around. Love the sound of the doves in the morning.

Room Tip: Most rooms have been renovated. I prefer something closer to the front as it can be a long walk if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vance_Neudorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

This hotel is directly across the street from the airport. You can't get any closer than that.

The hotel is quite large, has two pools, one restaurant, a poolside snack bar and many other amenities. There is a breakfast buffet included in the price of your room, but if you have an early morning flight you likely won't be able to enjoy it.

The rooms are average and generally clean. I have stayed at the hotel a few times and on one occasion was in what (I assume) was the old part of the hotel. Those rooms are not nearly as nice others. They are a little rundown.

However, for the most part the rooms are satisfactory. Large beds, clean, cable tv, air-conditioning and full bathrooms. My one complaint about the bathroom is the water pressure which is non existent. In all of the rooms I've stayed in, it's never been enough pressure to rinse the soap out of my hair.

My other complaint about the hotel is the tile floor in the hallway between rooms. People leaving early morning for flight roll their luggage down the hallway and it makes a very loud clacking sound. It has woken me up each time I stayed there.

I do like the friendly staff and appreciate the convenience, but there are better options near by. This hotel would, unfortunately, be my second choice of where to say near the airport.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ava S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

We stayed in this Hotel twice while in Nicaragua.The meals were fantastic and so nice to cool off in a beautiful Pool.It is in a very good location..directly across from the Airport.The Hotel offers a shuttle service to & from the Airport.This service is much better than trying to cross the road with your luggage.IWe would stay there again.

Room Tip: Make sure you check your Entry dates as some get a 90 day Visa & others a 30 day Visa.That can b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billard_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

This hotel is so close to the airport that we easily walked across the road to catch our morning plane. I don't know why you would take a shuttle, it would definitely take much longer than the 2 minute walk!
The rooms were very nice, much fancier than we saw in the rest of the country. The pools are lovely. We ate at the bar which serves cheaper meals than the restaurant. However, this is clearly not a budget hotel by Central American standards.
I highly recommend this for a comfy rest between/before flights. Nice to unwind by the pool with a fancy drink.
We had a few hours in the afternoon, so we booked a tour at the hotel which consisted of a taxi driver taking us to the main sights in Managua and waiting for us till we were done. for a couple of hours anyway. Between four of us it was quite reasonable. At night we wanted a taxi to a restaurant we wanted to try. The hotel could organise this, but we halved the price by walking across the road to use one of the many taxis going to the airport.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MargaretNicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

As I was flying out of Managua on an early morning flight, I decided to spend the night at Las Mercedes.
If your intention is as mine was or you want a rest on arrival, Las Mercedes is certainly in the best geographical position as it is situated directly opposite the airport. There is a free shuttle service and so it is easy to deal with luggage.
The accomodation is in small cabin type rooms. These are small and can be described as being at best functional. Do not expect the standard of facilities, comfort or space you might reasonably presume from a $100 per night room.
Thus you have to decide whether the price is worth the trade off between a very convenient location or going into town to another hotel.
Tbh I was somewhat taken aback at first. But there is a swimming pool and restaurant on site which is handy.
Worth the money, no. Worth the convenience, yes. If you adjust your expectations accordingly, then it is ok.

Room Tip: Don't get a room too close to the swimming pool as there can be quite a lot of noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terence B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Managua hotels
0.9 mi away
Globales Camino Real
Globales Camino Real
#4 of 50 in Managua
596 reviews
7.1 mi away
Barcelo Managua
Barcelo Managua
#9 of 50 in Managua
411 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hilton Princess Managua
Hilton Princess Managua
#2 of 50 in Managua
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Managua - Convention Center
6.4 mi away
Real InterContinental Managua at Metrocentro Mall
6.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Managua
Hyatt Place Managua
#1 of 50 in Managua
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Las Mercedes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Las Mercedes

Address: Km 11 5 Carretera Norte, Managua 000-046-0, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 50 Hotels in Managua
Price Range: £68 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Las Mercedes 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Las Mercedes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Las Mercedes Hotel Managua
Best Western Hotel Managua
Best Western Managua
Managua Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing