We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Renovated????”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Las Mercedes
Ranked #13 of 50 Hotels in Managua
Reviewed 22 February 2009

Why didn't they install window screens??? Lots of mosquitoes, and hordes of ants. Did not have this problem at the Hilton or Seminole. Staff was kind of surly, I did appreciate the beautiful grounds, 2 swimming pools and proximity to the airport. I guess it is ok for one night, but not a luxury hotel by any means.

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justamommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (727)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

579 - 585 of 727 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2008

My husband and I have been staying at Las Mercedes for three years on our way into and out of Nicaragua. At first we just loved the convenient of being able to walk across the street to the airport. Now with two years of renovations completed, Las Mercedes is still our favorite in Managua. The air conditioners are quiet and the gardens date back to before the earthquake that leveled Managua. The outdoor dining is peaceful and the food delicious. We also enjoy all the events that are scheduled at Las Mercedes - lots of fancy dresses and bands entertaining private groups many evenings.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank VillasdePalermo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2008

Great place to stay. Large full washroom. Good restaurant, a little more expensive.The pizza was nothing special, Fajitas was good and with real corn tortillas. All types of ammenities for the Biz traveller. No in room safe.

We just stayed over night for our trip back to Canada first thing in the Morning. All we had to do was walk across the busy street in the crosswalk and presto in the airport parking lot.

They cater to lots of functions so you may want to book in advance. We paid $85 and tax after being quoted $95 and having asked for a reduction. Very safe, beautiful and unique garden areas. Nice to sit around the pool in the evening. Nice staff.

Hind site being 20/20 we would have not stayed in Managua on the way in,as we did at the Seminole Hotel. We would have just gone to Granada as we were traveling the country. Because it is about a 1 hour to the safer city of Granada,or a $35 cab ride from the airport , we could have just went to the Hotel Terrasol which became our home base for our trip. The rates in Granada are much Lower than in the higher demand airport Area.

But if you have to wait for a plane, this is a great spot.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DanforthDuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2008

We arrived at 9:00 p.m. on 11/13/08. So nice to have a hotel representative come up, took our paperwork, helped us through customs, and loaded our luggage in hotel shuttle van. We did not realize just how close the hotel was since it was nighttime. Took a 2 minute ride to the front door - ha, ha. Had a very nice room #32 the first night. Had a delicious supper late at night at the hotel restaurant. Next morning, had a very large, and wonderful continental breakfast with a "personalized omelette" or eggs made just how you want.

We walked across the street to the airport for our flight to the Corn Islands, but returned to the Best Western for our final two nights in Managua, Nicaragua. Stayed in room #68. This room did have ants, and you could hear the airport at times, but there had been so much rain that insects were worse all over. They do spray at the hotel.

Free internet was wonderful. Nice gift shop. Wonderful staff - restaurant, bar, front desk, doormen, shoe shine men, taxi drivers, groundskeepers, housekeeping, security people... everyone was very friendly and accommodating. The garden areas are beautiful and very well kept.

We took a taxi tour advertised at the front desk and saw the town of Masaya and markets, and the Masaya volcano, Caterina, and on to Granada. A wonderful way to see the countryside and not worry about a rental car.

I would definitely recommend the hotel to anyone flying into Managua airport. It is so convenient, and the restaurant has excellent food. Also, the pools are very nice - we only used the larger one.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BrendaMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2008

The Best Western is right opposite Managua Airport so is a great place for a stop over, Managua isn't really a tourist destination so you're not missing much if you go into town. We found a guy at the airport who did us a better deal than the hotel itself, so we were very happy with the price. The rooms were comfortable, although at the time the electricity wasn't constant, so no air con which was abit steamy, but the pool was lovely and the restaurant was good. The breakfast, which was included was also great. Free internet as well when the power was working!

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TintininOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2008

I totally LOVED it here... Stuck in town on Business, this was a refreshing oasis from my life off of the Hotel grounds. It was the most expensive place I stayed, but still cheap by North American
standards. The Staff was SO friendly & helpful. Pool & Gardens were beautiful, the beer ice cold, and my room cool dark & quiet. Oddly in 4 days there, I never heard the Airport... a 1 minute walk away.

There was a VERY cute purple Gecko by the light fixture in my room, on Mosquito Patrol... this is Nicaragua. If you don't like bugs or lizzards... stay out of the Tropics.

I definitely plan to stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Gram-007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2008

I've stayed at the Best Western 6 times in the past year. The bad reviews here are very surprising to me. Any hotel in Nicaragua is going to be different than the ones in the US or in any more developed country.

I've had rooms with a few bugs but the last two stays have been relatively bug free. It helps to keep the bathroom windows shut and the bathroom door shut as well.

The lobby does tend to be crowded at times with large groups waiting to go to the airport. Just walk past them and go to your room.

The rooms down the main hall tend to be a little louder at night because you can hear the wheels of the luggage coming and going during the night. Just ask for a room down one of the other halls.

The rooms (130-148) have been nice each time I've stayed there. You can even request a roll away bed, which we did once, and they promptly came and set up completely a twin size bed for my daughter.

The breakfast is served 6am-11am most days which works well for an 8 am Delta flight to Atlanta. It is all you can eat and gives you a good selection of typical Nicaraguan food.

This was the first time I have ever left another hotel early out of disappointment in the service but I was so happy to come to this Best Western and finish my stay in Nicaragua.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank springlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Managua hotels
0.9 mi away
Globales Camino Real
Globales Camino Real
#4 of 50 in Managua
595 reviews
7.1 mi away
Barcelo Managua
Barcelo Managua
#9 of 50 in Managua
411 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hilton Princess Managua
Hilton Princess Managua
#2 of 50 in Managua
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Art Hotel Managua
Art Hotel Managua
#29 of 50 in Managua
91 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Managua
Hyatt Place Managua
#1 of 50 in Managua
502 reviews
7.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Managua - Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Las Mercedes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Las Mercedes

Address: Km 11 5 Carretera Norte, Managua 000-046-0, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 50 Hotels in Managua
Price Range: £67 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Las Mercedes 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Las Mercedes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Las Mercedes Hotel Managua
Best Western Hotel Managua
Best Western Managua
Managua Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing