We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT LOCATION and great food!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Globales Camino Real
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Managua
Certificate of Excellence
denver, colorado
Level Contributor
66 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“GREAT LOCATION and great food!”
Reviewed 23 April 2011

Although the surrounding neighborhood is bleak at best, this hotel's location is the best for your first night and last night in Managua because it is so close to the airport! IN fact, like me, you may end up staying your whole vacation at this place! Most American flights come into Magagua late in the day and this hotel affords a comfortable first night without the hassle of renting a car or a long taxi drive through a crumbling city, still recovering from their 1972 earthquake!

The price is right, the food is terrific and the rooms are very comfy! Also, relax by their well-maintained pool--much better than the Hilton--where they [Camino Real] offer poolside bar and restaurant service so if you don't want to sit by yourself in the dining room, sit outside, look up at the stars and enjoy some excellent Nicaraguan cuizine!

As a sponsor of several "Compassion" boys in Managua, I have found this pool an excellent place to teach each of them how to swim--much better than the Hilton because Camino Real has a deep-end. The ONLY way to ensure that the boys truly know HOW to swim is to have them jump into water OVER their heads, but only after much instruction and careful observation, of course.

This is a terrific place to meet others, eat local foods, relax by the pool, get a haircut and a shoe shine and yes, you can even gamble the night away at the adjacent casino, but I have not done that last part...doesn't interest me. Enjoy your stay!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coloradoclimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    266
    54
    22
    10
See reviews for
103
188
56
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oriental, North Carolina
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2011

We used Camino Real as a staging hotel prior to our flight back to the US and were extremely pleased, to say the least. The free shuttle was there instantly and it was a quick 5 minute ride to the property. From the airport until arrival in our room, we did not have to touch our luggage (and we are not the kind of travelers who expect this kind of treatment) Upon check-in we received free drink coupons which was a nice suprise! We had a nice room pool side and a shower with incredible water pressure. After 8 days of solar drip showers, this was a little bit of heaven. The hotel grounds are very well done, with tennis courts and a very nice pool. There are also some beautiful Macaws in a large cage just outside the entrance. The bar has 2 x1 Happy Hour from 7-9. This on top of their already extremely reasonable drink prices, plus our coupons. Very good food in the restaraunt. There is also a nice casino attached to the hotel where we won $125!! It is just like Vegas in that you receive free drinks while you are gaming. Very fun night! The breakfast buffet the next morning was outstanding, with a variety of ffresh fruit I have never seen. Omelets made to order and a lady hand making fresh tortillas! The staff was were spot on in their service and did not laugh at my college spanish. On our next trip down, we are going to arrive at Camino Real a day early just to enjoy the hotel. They do a great job!

Room Tip: Ask for pool side
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NCSTATEGUY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2011

We chose this hotel because they have a deal with Casa Iguana on Little Corn Island. It was $70 for a double room. The regular airport shuttle is convenient and the pool area is very nice.
We had a pretty good meal at the restaurant and there is also an adjoining casino!
The only downside is that the mattresses are as HARD as a ROCK!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjsmith60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level Contributor
259 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2011

I'm surprised at the negative reviews here -- we're not talking about Manhattan, people - - we're talking Managua. If you want to be near the airport and not worry about your safety traveling downtown, stay here. Yes the hotel is slightly dated and the rooms a bit shabby. But they are clean, there are no bedbugs, rooms are quiet and there's a super friendly staff (tracked us down on their large grounds to return a credit card we left behind; personally helped print boarding passes b/c their copier was all in Spanish and was jammed up and guided my 7 year old by hand to go and see their deer). Food was so-so, but again, the friendly staff goes out of their way to please you. I would definitely stay here on a return trip. The Best Western looked kind of nasty when we drove by and they did not have the grounds Camino Real did.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Codeedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2011

Stayed 6 nights, charged extra for in room Internet service which never worked and no refund offered, no hot water most of the time,had to fight with the Ants crawling over you while sleeping..Sauza band at night playing (less than 20 feet) from my room..rooms need renovating...Extremely overpriced..The only plus I can comment on is 5 minutes from the airport, but poor location otherwise and good breakfast buffet...I won't stay there again, even if it's only 5 min from the airport...You can find better accomodations with a few more clicks on the computer...

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lear555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed 21 February 2011

I stayed at this hotel for a week while in town for a humanitarian trip. The proximity to the airport is great. The food was mostly disappointing, although we all enjoyed the free breakfast buffet every morning. The pool and gardens were nice. There was free wifi in the lobby. The rooms were decent, but the beds were very, very firm and uncomfortable for me. The biggest complaint for us were the mosquitoes in our hotel rooms. I would spray myself and my bed with bug spray before bed, and still woke up with several new mosquito bites. By the end of the week I had at least 2 dozen bites all over. I suspect they are getting into the room when the maids clean the rooms (and leave the doors wide open). If you're planning on staying here, make sure to bring your bug spray!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adventurer0025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2011

I was surprised how nice this hotel was given it's 2 minutes from the airport! The hotel shuttle driver was waiting for us when we got through custom and it was honestly a 2 minute drive to the hotel. The hotel lobby/bar/business center were all clean and lovely. Our room was nice and clean. We stayed the first night we were in town and the last and both rooms where just fine. The bar has great food. Internet speed in the business center is super fast. The pool and grounds were amazing given it was an airport hotel. Would recommend this hotel to anyone who needed to spend a night by the Managua airport. Oh, breakfast is included and fantastic! Our last night we had to leave before breakfast was served (5am via airport shuttle, worked perfectly) but they are nice enough to put out coffee, juice and pastries.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kateandevesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Managua hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Las Mercedes
Best Western Las Mercedes
#13 of 51 in Managua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hilton Princess Managua
Hilton Princess Managua
#2 of 51 in Managua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
5.6 mi away
InterContinental Real Managua at Metrocentro Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Barcelo Managua
Barcelo Managua
#14 of 51 in Managua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Managua
Hyatt Place Managua
#1 of 51 in Managua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Managua - Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Globales Camino Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globales Camino Real

Property: Globales Camino Real
Address: Km 9.5 Carretera Norte, Managua 11052, Nicaragua (Formerly Globales Camino Real)
Region: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Managua
#3 Luxury Hotel in Managua
#6 Family Hotel in Managua
#8 Romantic Hotel in Managua
#11 Business Hotel in Managua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Globales Camino Real 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Globales Camino Real Hotel is located only 3 minutes from the airport of Managua and very close to the Casino Pharaohs. Surrounded by the beauty of the area it creates a unique ambience that is the perfect blend of ecology and luxury comfort. The hotel has of 121 rooms of the highest standard combined the excellent service from the highly qualified and trained personnel, guaranteeing you the most pleasant stay. The Globales Camino Real Hotel also has 11 well-equipped halls with a 1,500 person maximum occupancy perfect for conferences, events and special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Globales Camino Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing