We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable but dated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Globales Camino Real
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in Managua
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“comfortable but dated”
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We stayed at this hotel because we had an early morning flight so thought it would be easier than leaving Granada at 4:00 in the morning.

It is about 5 minutes to the airport and early in the morning the shuttle leaves every 1/2 hour. The shuttle was right on time and check out was very quick.

The hotel is comfortable and quiet with huge grounds. The rooms are in one-story blocks so there is little noise from neighboring rooms.

The rooms a little small but fine and the finishings are dated. Still it is a comfortable place to stay on your way in our out of Nicaragua. Next trip we would stay there our arrival night also rather than traveling to Granada or San Juan del Sur in the dark.

The service is superb.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripAffine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    272
    54
    22
    10
See reviews for
104
189
61
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Close to the airport to catch wary flight back to the states. Nice clean room it appears to have been remodeled the last time I stay. Bedding is new, flat screen TV, lamps etc. Free Wi-fi is a plus

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mfeigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatineau, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

My daughter and I travelled to Managua from January 16 to 23, 2012. We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and boy am I happy we did. It is a large hotel with everything you need. It is clean, beautiful and luxurious. Despite the large number of guests, it was very quiet. The rooms are impeccable. The beds are more than comfortable, room service is quick, all the bathrooms in the hotel were clean at all times. There is a tennis court, a spa and gym. My daughter and I both had massages for $30 U.S. each. The pool is large and always well maintained. There is a kids' pool and a small park with a play structure. There are two pool tables, one outside and one inside. It costs $3.50 U.S. an hour to play. Staff speak English. There is a casino next door - although I didn't go. You can eat inside the hotel restaurant or outside. Drinks and food were served by the pool. There is a large bar with every type of drink available and you can also order from the menu. The grounds are surrounded by lush vegatation.

Our stay there was very pleasant. We met all kinds of people, from a ship comedian, a pilot, a sailor and a millionaire. All of them have been coming to this hotel for 10 years or more and swear it's the best hotel in Managua. It is 5 minutes from the airport, there is a free shuttle service, and staff have been working there for years. Everyone is polite and friendly. The restaurant has a good menu. I enjoyed the Greek salad best. The breakfast buffet is varied and very good. Service is their top priority.

I would highly recommend this hotel for a comfortable and peaceful stay. It is well worth the small extra you would pay compared to a lower class hotel. I did both while in Managua and a weight was immediately lifted from my shoulders when I walked into this hotel. Solo mom with a daughter, I finally felt on holidays.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peace_Freedom_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We stayed here for our last night before departing Nicaragua. Beautiful hotel with nice pool, great lounge, restaurant, fantastic breakfast buffet (included in your stay), comfortable beds, clean rooms, friendly staff, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and shuttle bus to the airport which takes about five minutes! Fantastic treat at the end of our holiday!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvs2travel76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

The hotel is located within minutes drive from the international airport.
The hotel is not new but well kept. It is a series of mostly one storey buildings connected by covered walkways. Its street-front appearance is a bit unassuming. However, its large grounds are lush, tidy and generally well maintained. In front of the hotel there is a large enclosure with many parrots. In the back there is a deer enclosure which was empty during our visit. There is also a casino literarily within a couple of minutes walk.
Our room was very clean, quiet and comfortable. It was not exceptionally large but just big enough for two twin beds and other regular hotel furniture. It was partially renovated, with quality, modern, light color floor tiles; very comfortable beds and efficient A/C unit. It had TV, iron c/w ironing board, hair dryer, and safe. The hotel encourages you to buy Wi-Fi as they claim you will only be able to access it in the lobbies. However, we had a strong signal from the hallway in our room without having to make this extra purchase.
The hotel has gym, tennis court, spa and a very nice and decent size pool with large sitting/lounging area. We found the pool area to be a perfect place to relax and catch the last sun rays before heading for the airport. There is also a nice bar and two restaurants all close to the reception area.
The breakfast included in the room rate was coffee/tea/orange juice with pastry and was available in the reception area. The free shuttle to the airport, the hotel provides for its clients, is a nice bonus.
The staff was always pleasant and attentive. Overall, our stay in this hotel was a positive experience and I can only recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank povetron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We stayed two nights here: one after our late-night flight to Managua and one before our flight home. We found it to be a convenient, comfortable stay that suited our needs.

The hotel runs a free shuttle to the airport, which is just a few kilometres away. There's a fair-sized pool to help you cool down after a long day of travel, and a casino next door.

The staff were particularly helpful on arrival, after the airline lost one of our bags. The shuttle driver waited several minutes for us (thanks!) while we filled a claim ticket.

Both of the rooms we stayed in were spacious, clean and of a good size. There wasn't an over-abundance of character to the facilities - but then we were staying here mostly for the location, which is excellent.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ldh_jcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
America, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2011

Not a bad place to stay and conveniently located about 4 minute shuttle to the airport. Appears to have a nice pool and outdoor gardens (with deer enclosed in a fenced in section). If you arrive MGA late in the evening, this is a good, decent place to rest before leaving early the next day.

Room Tip: "Free" shuttle service to and from airport included in price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tomthetraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Managua hotels
5.7 mi away
Hilton Princess Managua
Hilton Princess Managua
#2 of 50 in Managua
663 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Las Mercedes
Best Western Las Mercedes
#12 of 50 in Managua
710 reviews
6.4 mi away
Barcelo Managua
Barcelo Managua
#13 of 50 in Managua
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Real InterContinental Managua at Metrocentro Mall
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Managua - Convention Center
5.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Managua
Hyatt Place Managua
#1 of 50 in Managua
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Globales Camino Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globales Camino Real

Property: Globales Camino Real
Address: Km 9.5 Carretera Norte, Managua 11052, Nicaragua (Formerly Globales Camino Real)
Region: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Managua
#3 Luxury Hotel in Managua
#6 Family Hotel in Managua
#8 Romantic Hotel in Managua
#11 Business Hotel in Managua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Globales Camino Real 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Globales Camino Real Hotel is located only 3 minutes from the airport of Managua and very close to the Casino Pharaohs. Surrounded by the beauty of the area it creates a unique ambience that is the perfect blend of ecology and luxury comfort. The hotel has of 121 rooms of the highest standard combined the excellent service from the highly qualified and trained personnel, guaranteeing you the most pleasant stay. The Globales Camino Real Hotel also has 11 well-equipped halls with a 1,500 person maximum occupancy perfect for conferences, events and special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Globales Camino Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing