We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good competition for the Best Western for airport access.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Globales Camino Real
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in Managua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We've always stayed at the Best Western before our flight but thought we'd give this spot a try.

On the good side, the rooms are very nice, the bathrooms are clean and the showers have good water pressure (a rarity in Nicaragua) and hot water (also a rarity). The pools is fantastic and they have a separate kids pool. The restaurant food is average and more pricey than the rest of the country, although the prices are comparable to the Best Western. The breakfast buffet is superior, with a lot of choices and great freshness. The Sunday buffet was served pool side which was a nice treat. As far as accommodations go, I'd say this hotel is superior to the Best Western and the price is slightly cheaper. There is a shuttle bus to the airport (takes maybe 5 minutes to get there) that we had no problem with. They were accommodating and scheduled to run every hour although they seemed happy to run us and another gentlemen to the airport off their schedule. The attached casino is a fun way to pass some time.

On the down side, the staff is quite difficult. Particularly, the front desk staff. It almost seemed they were intentionally being aloof and unhelpful. Some how, we wound up in a smoking room. Although having said that, it didn't stink like smoke so we weren't too upset about it. I can only imagine the trouble trying to interact with the front desk to change rooms. The staff in the casino was equally unhelpful and, at times, down right rude. I must say that despite the poor service from other staff, the restaurant staff was fantastic and very attentive.

Over all, I'd recommend this hotel for an airport stop. The staff at the Best Western is far superior, way more helpful and courteous, but the rooms and amenities at the Camino Real are better. Perhaps over time, if we stay there more often we will become more familiar with the staff and it will be better.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nica_tinita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (604)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

382 - 388 of 604 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2012

This is my second review of the Camino Real by the airport.

The staff knows us now and the service is even better than before. It is about my 9th or 10th stay and everyone was great. Breakfast is wonderful full of great fruit and entres. Snacking by the pool try Nicaragua Nachos- now our favorite by the pool snack.

Great location by the airport and since we go to Esteli (to the north) every two days. It is perfect for us. Plus shuttle to airport and car rentals. I suggest you use Dollas in the hotel if you rent a car. The rates are lower than renting at the airport. A lot lower!

Room Tip: All the rooms seem nice but I like the 110-116 area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vxctor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Having stayed at the hotel right across from the airport, we tried the Camino Real, which is less than 5 min. away. What a difference. This place has nicer rooms, much better front desk, better restaurant, etc. Will be staying here for now on.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rsgdmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Janine L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 11 April 2012

It's a classic airport hotel. Comfortable, well connected, good pool, nice restaurant. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canerandagio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Very close to airport Staff is friendly. Not all Speak english. Comfortable, clean, breakfast is good go out for other meals. Casino is nice to pass a little time but not much else close to here.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelrway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Stayed at this hotel during a 4-day trip to Nicaragua. Booked it because the arrival was in the evening and it’s close to the airport. I received a confirmation email from the reservations department promptly after booking the room. I inquired about the
shuttle bus and was told the driver would be there to meet us. As promised, he was there holding a “Hotel Camino Real” sign for readily identification. He was well prepared with a print-out of hotel guests coming in on the flight. The commute to the hotel was short and check-in uneventful. The room was clean and beds were comfortable. The air conditioning also worked well. No problems at all. Breakfast buffet opens early at 6am and was very good. Lots of food choices. Coffee was exceptionally good.

Checked back in to the hotel a few days later as we had an early morning flight the next day. The stay was just as good and the shuttle service started promptly at 5:00am.

Wi-Fi connectivity is free in the hotel lobby and is $5 per day if you want access in the room.

A quick note for those flying in/out on the Spirit Airlines flight that arrives in Managua at 12:19am and leaves at 1:10am, the shuttle bus does not run at that hour. You will have to take a taxi to/from the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CFII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Managua hotels
6.4 mi away
Barcelo Managua
Barcelo Managua
#8 of 50 in Managua
420 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hilton Princess Managua
Hilton Princess Managua
#2 of 50 in Managua
685 reviews
5.6 mi away
Real InterContinental Managua at Metrocentro Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Managua
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Managua - Convention Center
0.9 mi away
Best Western Las Mercedes
Best Western Las Mercedes
#13 of 50 in Managua
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Globales Camino Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globales Camino Real

Address: Km 9.5 Carretera Norte, Managua 11052, Nicaragua (Formerly Globales Camino Real)
Region: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Managua
#3 Luxury Hotel in Managua
#6 Family Hotel in Managua
#8 Romantic Hotel in Managua
#11 Business Hotel in Managua
Price Range: £80 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Globales Camino Real 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Globales Camino Real Hotel is located only 3 minutes from the airport of Managua and very close to the Casino Pharaohs. Surrounded by the beauty of the area it creates a unique ambience that is the perfect blend of ecology and luxury comfort. The hotel has of 121 rooms of the highest standard combined the excellent service from the highly qualified and trained personnel, guaranteeing you the most pleasant stay. The Globales Camino Real Hotel also has 11 well-equipped halls with a 1,500 person maximum occupancy perfect for conferences, events and special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Globales Camino Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing