We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just what we needed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Globales Camino Real
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Managua
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just what we needed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2013

We stayed here on our last night before leaving Nicaragua on our 3 week holiday. As soon as we arrived, we had a great impression of the place. Clean, spacious, beautiful gardens and a nice big pool. We only wished we had arrived earlier to enjoy the place. The room was clean, but it was full of mosquitoes. We understand that its inevitable, but there were possibly at least 50 that we killed. The shuttle was great and nice and close to the airport. The food was amazing! we had dinner by the pool and it was really delicious and then we were surprised to the the massive breakfast buffet spread in the morning. There was plenty of food and lots of choices, we were just disappointed that we had to leave to catch our shuttle. The staff could be a bit friendlier, but we would definitely come back.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KaBaMaY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    265
    54
    22
    9
See reviews for
102
186
56
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

Although some sites gave the impression that this hotel is right across from the airport, it isn't. However, it's a short (6$US) taxi ride away. The staff is friendly and helpful, the rooms are comfortable and quiet--just make sure to request a room away from the pool area. Breakfast is included and there is an enormous selection of hot and cold items. There is a large pool and lovely landscaping.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the pool in case there's an event poolside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annette010160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

Stayed here after a late arrival in Managua. Room was large. Great facilities. Awesome pool area and great little gym. Breakfast was awesome and the staff were super friendly. Have decided to stay again on last night of trip but we are now arriving early to enjoy the facilities.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dyseaeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

My wife and I have been through Central America many times but on our first trip to Nicaragua, we stayed our first night in the country at the Camino Real hotel/casino near the Managua airport. We were under the impression that you could simply walk across the street from the airport to the hotel, but it is about a mile west and you need to hire a taxi. (We lined one up just outside the front doors for $6 U.S.) Be sure and settle on a price before you get in.
The hotel itself is very nice with all the rooms laid out on a single floor. Don’t be confused. Our room was 416 but was just farther away from the main area in the “400” section. Being farther away on this night was very good as there were two separate parties in progress. Both with very loud music. Our room was far enough away though, so we weren’t at all bothered by the noise.
The rooms were very nice and modern. The hotel has a beautiful pool that we were able to enjoy the next morning. Breakfast was included in our rate so we had a wonderful buffet at a table overlooking the pool – all outdoors, of course. All the landscaping is quite lovely.
There is also a casino next door where we spent about an hour the evening we checked in. The hotel gave us 100 Cordoba each to spend in the Casino and two free drink tickets upon our arrival. The casino, as most are, was very smoky.
The hotel staff was all very friendly and helpful and even made a call to our rental car company for us when they didn’t arrive quite on time.
All in all, we would certainly stay there again and I’m glad we chose the Camino Real. Just try to request a room in the back, away from the party action on weekends, unless you like a bit of Latin techno to sleep by.
For a first and last night’s stay in Nicaragua, this is a very fine choice.
Car Rental Warning:
One word of caution if you’re renting a car. The Managua police have a scam going where they pull over rental car drivers and tell them they broke some law or other and demand you pay them the fine. They even offer to follow you to a bank to get money. They demanded $100 from us. We negotiated this down to about $12 U.S. The Australian couple that checked their car in just before us had just been pulled over and paid $40 cash. Our cop stuck the money inside his shirt as he walked away.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BruceSpates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wantage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

We arrived here for an overnight stay before moving on into Nicaragua. The shuttle bus service was very welcome at the airport. The hotel seems more of a business hotel than a holiday location, rooms and beds were well equipped and clean with the raraity in Nicaragua of lovely hot water! We got here on a Friday evening so the hotel was mostly empty with more staff than diners in the restaurant making the atmosphere a little strange.

I wouldnt say it was a bargain - but it served a purpose and would stay again if an overnight airport bed was needed.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisox9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013 via mobile

This hotel is so close to the airport with a great free airport shuttle. The pool is lovely and rooms as you would expect for a 3 star. Lovely linens and fab flat screen.

We had a lovely stay and some great cocktails!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen and Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2012

Arrived late at night after long day traveling and was pleased to see shuttle there waiting for us. Complementary shuttle took us to the hotel. Really close, less than 10 minutes away. Our room was ready and very clean. Nothing fancy but more than expected. Breakfast was excellent and included in our room price. Nice pool area and garden. We would not want to spend a week here but for a few nights definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Managua hotels
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Las Mercedes
BEST WESTERN Las Mercedes
#12 of 51 in Managua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hilton Princess Managua
Hilton Princess Managua
#2 of 51 in Managua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
5.6 mi away
InterContinental Real Managua at Metrocentro Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Barcelo Managua
Barcelo Managua
#14 of 51 in Managua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Managua
Hyatt Place Managua
#1 of 51 in Managua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Managua - Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Globales Camino Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globales Camino Real

Property: Globales Camino Real
Address: Km 9.5 Carretera Norte, Managua 11052, Nicaragua (Formerly Globales Camino Real)
Region: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Managua
#3 Luxury Hotel in Managua
#6 Family Hotel in Managua
#8 Romantic Hotel in Managua
#11 Business Hotel in Managua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Globales Camino Real 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Globales Camino Real Hotel is located only 3 minutes from the airport of Managua and very close to the Casino Pharaohs. Surrounded by the beauty of the area it creates a unique ambience that is the perfect blend of ecology and luxury comfort. The hotel has of 121 rooms of the highest standard combined the excellent service from the highly qualified and trained personnel, guaranteeing you the most pleasant stay. The Globales Camino Real Hotel also has 11 well-equipped halls with a 1,500 person maximum occupancy perfect for conferences, events and special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Globales Camino Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing