We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice But Uneven”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Managua
Ranked #10 of 50 Hotels in Managua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Nice decent hotel, but can be better if they just improve on some things. Our room had just the right amount of space and actually nice as long as you don't look down on the floor. I like the layout of the room, the décor was good and it had a view of Lake Managua and the immediate vicinity. But don't look down on the floor, oy! very dirty stained carpet, I had slippers on the entire time. The bathroom was small but cute. The water from the faucet ran brown water the first minute, definitely not for drinking.
The hotel ground was good and clean, a little dated (the hotel actually has history) but clean. We only tried the restaurant for the free breakfast. The breakfast was very good, nice selection with made-to-order omelette. The hotel has a decent size but uninviting pool.
There is a mall right across the hotel. Definitely for the locals. I was looking for touristy things to buy (Nica coffee, souvenir shirts, native crafts etc.) but they only have clothes, appliances etc. There was a food court though which we went to twice. The food court offers mostly local dishes and some American chains (Mc D)
The front desk: the check-in was good, the ladies who checked us in were nice and smiling, efficient and no problems. The check-out was a different matter, the gentleman who checked us out was not friendly, seems to just be going through the motion and patronizing. We stayed at four different places in Nicaragua on this trip and this was the only negative experience we encountered.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WashingtonJonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGAHA, Coordinadora de Gerencia at Crowne Plaza Hotel Managua, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2013

Dear Mrs. Jonann:

Receive warm greetings on behalf Hotel Crowne Plaza Managua.

We want to apologize about the problems you had at your bedroom, we already talk with our maintenance and housekeeper department to turn out better to the bullet points that you mentioned.
At the same time, is part of our corporate program to being constantly working on our staff body language.

Hope to choose us again.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (303)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

106 - 112 of 303 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2013

There was no smile at the front desk when I checked in and all the hotel staff were generally unfriendly. Check-in was efficient. The rooms are fairly small but acceptable. The bathroom is small but clean. The bed was very comfortable. The free WiFi worked well throughout the hotel and in my room. Restaurant staff were generally like the front desk staff - cool and unsmiling. Lobby staff largely ignore you. The free breakfast is very good, however. The restaurant food (lunch and dinner) is acceptable but nothing to rave about. While my room was clean, it wasn't made up until 4 PM - unacceptable for a business hotel. The hotel lounge is quite sterile but the bartender is a really nice guy and makes you feel welcome. The Business Centre is good. While the hotel is centrally located in the city, there is little of interest nearby. This hotel wasn't terrible but it wasn't great; I will be trying other hotels on future trips to try and find somewhere I feel at least a little welcome.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Weerobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGAHA, Coordinadora de Gerencia at Crowne Plaza Hotel Managua, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

Dear

Receive warm greetings on behalf Crowne Plaza Managua.

First of all, our sincere apologies on behalf of all the staff. Your comments are very important to us, we are taking the necessary corrective measures to turn out better according to the bullet points that you mentioned; we will be please to count with your visit again and offer you the quality of service that you deserve with an smile on each members of our staff.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

I use this hotel every time I come to Managua. I like its central location and they offer a great transport service including to and from the airport. The breakfast is also very good. My only concern is that some of the rooms may need some updating but it is great value and ideal for business travelers.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGAHA, Coordinadora de Gerencia at Crowne Plaza Hotel Managua, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

Dear Scott

Receive warm greetings on behalf Crowne Plaza Managua

It is our pleasure to receive the feedback from all of our clients that have stayed at a certain time at our hotel with the purpose to become a better team every day in our different areas.

We are grateful for the given time to write your comments and opinions about it, at the same time we would like to let you know that we are taking the necessary corrective measures to turn out better ours guest rooms; we will be please to count with your visit again and offer you the quality of service that you deserve

Best Regards,

Crowne Plaza Managua Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

I booked Crowne Plaza hotel in Managua for a 2 days business trip, Hotel looks nice from outside, I asked for two beds room, the room was small, so small that the two beds can barely fit in the room, I have no space to put my luggage unless I interrupt the walking to the bathroom, there is a closet without drawers, there a couple of small drawers below the TV, it has a minibar but it was off and empty, bed was fine and bathroom is small as well, when we arrived there was a humidity smell that dimished with the AC but not big deal.

For all these commodities and the place where the hotel is I think that 3 digits price for a room like this is pricey.

Room Tip: Try to get your breakfast included, on their web page I couldnt find this option but it is available...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mauricio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Managua, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2013

Dear Mauricio G,

Thank you for taking the time to relay your comments regarding our property during your recent stay. We apologize you were not fully satisfied with your accommodations and with the price you paid during your stay. We just want to assure you that our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of product and services we offer to our guests.

Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Thank you again for your comments and for staying with us.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

We didn't actually stay here, but at another place with a bit more character (and half the price). But we used the services of the Crowne Plaza several times and found them extremely helpful. Their location makes them a landmark in the city. Taxi rank outside is a source of (relatively) honest drivers 24/7. Front desk staff are multilingual and helpful. And the lobby bar is a great place to get a coffee (as well as a beer obviously) any time of day; Managua is oddly lacking in actual coffee shops. It's worth popping in for a drink just because of the history of the place as a former home of Howard Hughes and war corespondents among others. Prices in the bar are reasonable. And in a country where service seems universally slow (or non-existent) their service is excellent.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank viaducttravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGAHA, Coordinadora de Gerencia at Crowne Plaza Hotel Managua, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

Dear Guest

Receive warm greetings on behalf Hotel Crowne Plaza Managua

It is a pleasure for us to receive the feedback from all of our clients that have stayed at a certain time at our hotel with the purpose to become a better team every day in our different areas.

Is great to know that you consider us like an option to stay, you seems to be very satisfied with our prices and services, this is the results of a team work to give the best hotel service around the country.

Best Regards,

Crowne Plaza Managua Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

While checking in we had issues with our quoted price. The "manager" lied to us about being the one on duty then would switch between english to spanish depending on what he was saying.

Mosquitos in the lobby, restaurant and bedroom. Double pane windows keep them inside very well.

The complementary breakfast is not complementary, if the staff expects a tip (goes to even mention it) when serving only coffee. The buffets are recycled and its common to have things missing from your plate when ordering off the menu.

Food wasn't the only thing missing

By the time we checked out 2 cards went missing as well as some cash.

Room Tip: Kmart designs rooms Hear water pipes in walls "lake view" is roof of lobby ants in bedr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dottie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Managua, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2013

Dear Dottie P,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Spent two nights here on recent trip. Picked up at airport by staff member with sign. Short ride to hotel. Check in was quick. Received room on 4th floor with view out the back. Large room with desk/chair, sofa, king bed, nice closet, and modern bathroom. Nice towels, no wash cloths.

Bed was comfortable and linens nice. Coffee maker and coffee provided daily.

Carpeting was a bit soiled-looking, but otherwise room was very nice and quiet.

Pool area very nice and clean. Nice on-site restaurants as well.

Right across the street from the Mall if you're looking for local shops, want to see a movie, or eat cheaply in the food court.

We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Saranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGAHA, Coordinadora de Gerencia at Crowne Plaza Hotel Managua, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

Dear Saranger

Receive warm greetings on behalf Hotel Crowne Plaza Managua

It is a pleasure for us to receive the feedback from all of our clients that have stayed at a certain time at our hotel with the purpose to become a better team every day in our different areas.

It is an excellent comment form you, thank you so much for your preference and it will be always a pleasure to receive you in our hotel.

Best Regards,

Crowne Plaza Managua Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Managua hotels
1.3 mi away
Real InterContinental Managua at Metrocentro Mall
1.5 mi away
Hilton Princess Managua
Hilton Princess Managua
#2 of 50 in Managua
684 reviews
3.3 mi away
Barcelo Managua
Barcelo Managua
#9 of 50 in Managua
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Managua - Convention Center
6.1 mi away
Globales Camino Real
Globales Camino Real
#4 of 50 in Managua
604 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Managua
Hyatt Place Managua
#1 of 50 in Managua
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Managua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Managua

Address: Octava Calle Sur Oeste 101, Managua, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Managua
#5 Luxury Hotel in Managua
#7 Business Hotel in Managua
Price Range: £82 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Managua 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Crowne Plaza Managua is located in a entertainment and economic strategic place, in Nicaragua only 15 minutes away from the International Airport in Managua, the Hotel is very close to the City Life Center, is conveniently located close to the President Office and many embassies, you will be able to enjoy of a spectacular view, of the city, with the best facilities for your comfort, pleasure, business and conventions. The Hotel Architecture reminds us the Ancestral Mayas Pyramids.The Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage was developed to provide our guests with a scientifically-based, holistic approach to better sleep. Hotel Crowne Plaza Managua has a luxury and nice environment. Enjoy of a splendid international food in our restaurants and for our casuals meetings and events, you will enjoy of your delight drink in our nice Bar and Lounge Concorde. The Convention Center of Hotel Crowne Plaza Managua, make an appropriate environment for your meetings congress, conventions success. Our convention center has the largest and moderns meetings lounges in Nicaragua, where you can be able to place groups from 10 to 2000 people, always assisted by our professionals, moderns audio-visuals equipment, video conference, and wireless internet band. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Managua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Managua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing