We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent breakfast buffet...”
Review of Hotel Seminole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Seminole
Ranked #13 of 50 Hotels in Managua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 December 2012

... but thats about all the good things the hotel offer. Rooms are large, but no real work area. The aircondition is the noisiest i have ever heard. Impossible to sleep with AC on. So around 0500 am it gets hot in the room.
No minibar. And the showerhead was distributing water in most directions but not really in a concentrated way.
So .. good food to start the day. Excellent service in restaurant. But rooms could improve

Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
Thank Hans L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

48 - 54 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2012

I stayed at Seminole Hotel three times in the last monts. First two separate weeks on october and november, and then one week on january this year. So, I think I get to know very well this hotel.

The bad: the ice machines don't work. No matter what floor you are. If you want ice, call to reception. Then, the laundry service. One of the times, I received a semi clean jeans. It could be a random problem. But alway double check that your clothes are returned clean.

This hotel is close to everything and the best, you can walk. The biggest mall of the city is just two blocks from the hotel. A "zona viva", where you can find many bars is just across the street. And if you have friends that could afford more expensive hotels, there are two international hotels whithin 100 meters. You can even buy your own food in the supermarket that is two blocks from the hotel, and take pictures at the same time to the Alexis Argüello statue (a boxing champion and ex mayor of Managua).

Rooms are fine. Every room has a safe box, so you can leave your belogings there. The A.C. is per room too. That's good for regulating the temperature to your own taste, but it's noisier.

Some rooms have a door inside the room that is shared with the next room. So don't forget to close that door, or ask for a room that doesn't have it.

The food is great, expecially on fridays when there's a sea food buffet. Every breakfast is a wonderful experience. A lot of food and many kinds of fruits. Try the Pitahaya, a purple fruit that tastes like kiwi or strawberries. Being the restaurant a little small, some people prefer to dinner in their rooms, so it's not uncommon to find a lot of dishes outside the rooms the next morning, so watch your step. I recommend you to have dinner on the terrace, but try to get there early because they only have like 4 or 5 tables there. Once yo get there, you'll have the best view: the Managua lake, the city, etc. and is the only place where you can smoke.

The pool is big enough. The gym is small but useful. I didn't try the sauna.

This is not a five star hotel, but I liked the way the staff tries to take care of everything you need. Small details, like a fresh newspaper for you on the restaurant every morning, make this a good choice for your vacations or business.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side are quieter. East side have a best view though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Malcolm_sv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

I were in the Hotel Seminole in July 2012 for the Debian Debconf12 and we had a very pleasant stay. Free Wireless in the room, the restaurant, the lobby and the pool. The pool ist refreshing and they have a small but useable gym. Beside the gym there is a sauna but I never used it because it was hot enough.
Near the hotel you have bars (Pirate Bar,...) and the Metrocentro Mall http://www.metrocentro.com/inicio-Ni (more see OpenStreetMap)
The breakfast was great and always with fresh fruits.

Room Tip: rooms to the north and east are quieter because they don't face to the mainstreet and to the Pir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noel_DE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012 via mobile

Aside from the five star price, there are no complaibts here. I am always disappointed with hotel food but their restaurant has delicious cuisine. It has a little salad bar with fresh fresh vegetables. Very nice staff and clean rooms.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank honey40921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

My stay at this hotel was not spectacular - I actually ended up moving hotels. I was supposed to stay for two weeks, and they gave me the first room on the ground floor, practically in the lobby. At 5:30 am I heard the noise of a conference registration table setting up practically outside of my door. I asked to change rooms, and eventually was given something on the 4th floor. However, because of the heavy rain, my room flooded nightly with rain that came in around the AC and window. And, since I overlooked the pool area, I had the noise of private parties that hosted every night - that went until 1 am. By this time I was too tired to ask for another room, and ended up leaving the hotel.

Throughout all of this, the internet was completely unstable, and the hotel only had someone to assist with the internet until 5 pm.

The staff did as much as they were able to do to accommodate, the hotel taxi driver was very nice, the restaurant was good food, and the staff there was very pleasant. But this could not make up for the two things that a business person needs from a hotel: a quiet night's sleep and internet.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here, look away from the pool and be on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ValerieGW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2010

Spent 3 nights at the Seminole Plaza.

Decent hotel, few drawbacks, plenty of positives.

Location is good, with lots of resturants within two ro three blocks, a shopping mall 5 minutes walk away, pretty well located to reach most other parts of town.

Room was on the large size, with an excellent bed. Only grouch here is that the round glass table with an easy chair is not great for working.

Quiet at night: hardly a sound entered my room.

Free wireless, pretty fast connection.

Very good breakfast: full range of foods, well prepared. Top class.

Staff efficient and friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ahti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2010

I stayed at the Seminole Plaza Hotel from July 1 to 5th, 2010. It was an absolutely great place to stay. The room was great, the buffet breakfast was superb: from many different kind of fresh fruits, natural fruit juices, eggs, gallo pinto (mix of rice and beans) nacatamales, different types of breads, coffee, tea, different kinds of yogurts and cereals, etc. When I read some of negative reviews posted in this website, I was very nervous, but when I got there, I was very, very happy. The room was very clean, comfortable bed, nice linens, big towels, great tv and a very good working air conditioning. The maid change the bed sheets every day, and did a great cleaning job every single day. Room service was great, and the food was great also. Only complain....coffee should be stronger! As a solo traveler, a felt extremely safe in this hotel!! I had a great stay!

Jeannette Fox
Westby, WI
USA

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeaFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Managua hotels
1.9 mi away
Barcelo Managua
Barcelo Managua
#9 of 50 in Managua
426 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Princess Managua
Hilton Princess Managua
#2 of 50 in Managua
690 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Managua - Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Mozonte
Hotel Mozonte
#17 of 50 in Managua
342 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Los Robles
Hotel Los Robles
#16 of 50 in Managua
150 reviews
6.6 mi away
Best Western Las Mercedes
Best Western Las Mercedes
#14 of 50 in Managua
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seminole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seminole

Address: De Bancentro carretera a Masaya 1c oeste 1c al sur, Managua 00505, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 50 Hotels in Managua
Price Range: £52 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Seminole 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Seminole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seminole Plaza Managua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing