We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall: Excellent...”
Review of Hotel Seminole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Seminole
Ranked #14 of 50 Hotels in Managua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights w large group. nice decorations all around. Very clean and spacious rooms. Slept like a,king. good room service. Large tv with cable . Near supermarket a macdonals and two casinos. Staff was friendly and corteous.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WALTER T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2013

Booked a night at this hotel while on a business-related run to Managua. Being low on availability, price of a bit over $100 seemed fine for the night in order to get a good night's sleep. Room was spacious and clean. Our only mishap was the remote for the TV.. We had to call reception for them to bring one for us, but they did immediately, so no complaints.
Breakfast in the morning was alright. Nothing really special. I wonder if they had pancakes and never saw them, but tried the eggs and different types of bread.
All in all, I would stay here again!

Room Tip: Try getting a room in the upper floors as the street can be a bit noisy due to being in an intersect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlueFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

In fairness to this place, I had just come from Grenada, having stayed at a place there that rocked my socks (Hotel Plaza Colon). So that was what I built my expectations upon.

This place is fine enough. The staff at first lost our reservation but then found it. It took forever to get checked in. The wifi was only so so in the room I was in. The rooms are old, but the AC works nice, it's spacious, and they have new flatscreen tvs. There's a nice enough place to grab a drink on the 4th floor.

The pillows were nothing to write home about, and really that's all there is to this place. It's fine enough, but paying more for it than what we paid in Grenada for what was a far superior experience- it just doesn't add up. I'd check out some other places, but rest assured if this is where you end up, you'll be just fine.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Breakfast is very good, rooms are ok but airco is noisy.
Location is fine but room on street side are noisy.
Doors to room too thin: everything said in hallway can be heard.
Bar/lounge directly at entrance is not very intimate and service mediocre.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
Thank djcbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013 via mobile

Spent a week on a business trip in January 2013, using the facilities at the hotel for meetings, breakfasts, and receptions. Our group took up about half of the 50+- rooms. Everyone was pleased with the accommodations and service. Price was about US$100 per day, including a very ample breakfast buffet, with locally grown fresh fruit.
Location is convenient to mall, restaurants, and main roads. Located in the vicinity of the Intercontinental, and Hilton hotels.
Hotel provides free airport shuttle.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnDugue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2012

... but thats about all the good things the hotel offer. Rooms are large, but no real work area. The aircondition is the noisiest i have ever heard. Impossible to sleep with AC on. So around 0500 am it gets hot in the room.
No minibar. And the showerhead was distributing water in most directions but not really in a concentrated way.
So .. good food to start the day. Excellent service in restaurant. But rooms could improve

Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
Thank Hans L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

I stayed at Seminole Hotel three times in the last monts. First two separate weeks on october and november, and then one week on january this year. So, I think I get to know very well this hotel.

The bad: the ice machines don't work. No matter what floor you are. If you want ice, call to reception. Then, the laundry service. One of the times, I received a semi clean jeans. It could be a random problem. But alway double check that your clothes are returned clean.

This hotel is close to everything and the best, you can walk. The biggest mall of the city is just two blocks from the hotel. A "zona viva", where you can find many bars is just across the street. And if you have friends that could afford more expensive hotels, there are two international hotels whithin 100 meters. You can even buy your own food in the supermarket that is two blocks from the hotel, and take pictures at the same time to the Alexis Argüello statue (a boxing champion and ex mayor of Managua).

Rooms are fine. Every room has a safe box, so you can leave your belogings there. The A.C. is per room too. That's good for regulating the temperature to your own taste, but it's noisier.

Some rooms have a door inside the room that is shared with the next room. So don't forget to close that door, or ask for a room that doesn't have it.

The food is great, expecially on fridays when there's a sea food buffet. Every breakfast is a wonderful experience. A lot of food and many kinds of fruits. Try the Pitahaya, a purple fruit that tastes like kiwi or strawberries. Being the restaurant a little small, some people prefer to dinner in their rooms, so it's not uncommon to find a lot of dishes outside the rooms the next morning, so watch your step. I recommend you to have dinner on the terrace, but try to get there early because they only have like 4 or 5 tables there. Once yo get there, you'll have the best view: the Managua lake, the city, etc. and is the only place where you can smoke.

The pool is big enough. The gym is small but useful. I didn't try the sauna.

This is not a five star hotel, but I liked the way the staff tries to take care of everything you need. Small details, like a fresh newspaper for you on the restaurant every morning, make this a good choice for your vacations or business.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side are quieter. East side have a best view though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Malcolm_sv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Managua hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Princess Managua
Hilton Princess Managua
#2 of 50 in Managua
676 reviews
1.9 mi away
Barcelo Managua
Barcelo Managua
#9 of 50 in Managua
411 reviews
0.3 mi away
Real InterContinental Managua at Metrocentro Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Managua - Convention Center
0.3 mi away
Hotel Los Robles
Hotel Los Robles
#15 of 50 in Managua
147 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Mozonte
Hotel Mozonte
#21 of 50 in Managua
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seminole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seminole

Address: De Bancentro carretera a Masaya 1c oeste 1c al sur, Managua 00505, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 50 Hotels in Managua
Price Range: £57 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Seminole 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Seminole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seminole Plaza Managua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing