We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My family in Nicaragua”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostal La Casa de los Abuelos
West Palm Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“My family in Nicaragua”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I recomened this place to anyone that stays in Managua. Luis the owner has become my very good friend, We enjoyed building cabinets together, played guitar and listened to flute music in the night time singing silly songs, had great laughs. The rooms are very clean and I cooked in the kitchen all the time which was also very clean. It is close to the market place, I usually walk there about 10 minutes.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    15
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
6
19
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We stayed at Hostel La Casa de los Abuelos for 2 nights and it was comfortable, clean and quiet.
Good bed, AC, decent bathrooms and shelter from the hot sun. Fabby helped us enormously with directions, taxis, airport transfers, taxis to bus terminals and she even ordered our dinner 2 nights in a row becuase our spanish is poor. Fabbys father is an absolute gentleman and is picking my girlfriend up from the airport once she returns.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jameso1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

After a 12 hour bus journey from the dreaded San Pedro Sula, this hostel was fantastic. We didn't have a reservation but the young lady and her father welcomed us with open arms. We booked a triple private room which was reasonably priced considering it had a private bathroom with A/C as well a s a selection of clean towels.

The next day the male owner very kindly drove us to the bus station free of charge when we asked them to orders us a taxi. Fantastic place to stay in an otherwise dangerous and uninviting city.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CountryBumpkin08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

After taking an all day bus ride from San Jose Costa Rica, this was a great find in the big city. It is located out in one of the neighborhoods outside the center. The location was quiet, the staff very friendly, and the room a decent place to get a good nights sleep. Although advised by several people not to walk the streets at night, the hostel felt very safe. There is a great place to get some local food just across the street. Enjoy the stay!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pharaoh555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

I found Casa de los Abuelos through ViaNica and I'm so glad I did. The hostel has a very homey feel and the owner, his daughter and all the staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are nice and they have a great veranda, outside area where you can watch what's happening in the neighborhood. The hostel is within walking distance from Huembes Market and a taxi ride away from the terminal to catch an express bus to Leon or Granada.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Teryll H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Managua hotels
1.8 mi away
Hilton Princess Managua
Hilton Princess Managua
#2 of 50 in Managua
663 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Managua
Hyatt Place Managua
#1 of 50 in Managua
431 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel La Pyramide
Hotel La Pyramide
#5 of 50 in Managua
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel San Luis
Hotel San Luis
#23 of 50 in Managua
45 reviews
1.8 mi away
Real InterContinental Managua at Metrocentro Mall
2.0 mi away
La Bicicleta Hostal
La Bicicleta Hostal
#1 of 68 in Managua
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal La Casa de los Abuelos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal La Casa de los Abuelos

Property: Hostal La Casa de los Abuelos
Address: Hospital La Mascota, 1 1/2 cuadra al norte | Reparto Cuadra, casa B-8, Managua 5050, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 68 Speciality Lodging in Managua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hostel grandparents' house is a familiar feature in which we want our guests to feel as grandchildren.Our family atmosphere allows us to provide personalized service in 13 comfortable rooms, recreational and rest areas where you can enjoy reading or just have a coffee.The kitchen of the hostel is available to all guests, it has all the necessary equipment for the conservation, preparation and consumption of foodstuffs who wish to process.We have Wi-Fi free , 2 living rooms, a terrace and a dining room to entire disposition of our visitors.We can also take them to different tourist attractions near Hostel example: Volcan Masaya, Granada, Islets Lake Cocibolca Footprints in order Acahualinca several sites of interest.Hostel The GranParents HouseYour Family Away From Home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal La Casa de los Abuelos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing